Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it-I couldn't put it down!
I loved Gemma's previous books and so I was excited to get my paws on her latest offering..

And....It's so good that I read the entire book in one day. Having told myself I would just read a few pages while I had a quick coffee, I somehow ended up reading the whole thing. If that isn't a testament to how great it is then I don't know what is! While another...
Published 16 months ago by Ellie Phoebe Brown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn Girl - The Apprentice
It's been a long wait for a new Gemma Burgess novel. I loved Dating Detox and A Girl Like You and have read both twice. No English chicklit author writes dating, flirting, partying and twenty-something life like she does or can convey the magic of attraction, that elusive 'click' of connecting with the right person in quite such a wonderful way. So I was delighted to...
Published 16 months ago by Trish23


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it-I couldn't put it down!, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I loved Gemma's previous books and so I was excited to get my paws on her latest offering..

And....It's so good that I read the entire book in one day. Having told myself I would just read a few pages while I had a quick coffee, I somehow ended up reading the whole thing. If that isn't a testament to how great it is then I don't know what is! While another reviewer said they wanted to savour the writing, due to the next instalment release date being so far away, I just couldn't wait to know what was going to happen next to our protagonist Pia. Although she has a tendency to veer towards being a self-destructive liability (haven't we all been crippled by debilitating cases of hangover shame.. No, just me?) you know she wants to succeed and you are willing her to overcome her fears, especially on the man front. I'm looking forward to reading it again in a more leisurely manner now safe in the knowledge of how the story unfolds. I was so impatient to know how it would all work out the first time!

Gemma has the brilliant knack of writing characters that you want to be friends with. They are not the usual one dimensional, cookie cutter characters of "lead" or "best friend", but individual people with their own issues, language and pet names. By the end of the book you wish they were real so you could go for a drink with them. I can certainly relate to the feelings of, 'Oh crap-now I'm meant to be a grown up and I haven't got a frickkin clue where to start' that are associated with the years following university.

Through her writing Gemma makes New York come alive and I defy anyone to not desire a trip to Brooklyn after reading it, or wish that her business SkinnyWheels was real and had food truck near your office (mmm pancakes..).

In essence, a brilliant novel and just the perfect read. Go and get yourself a copy, Kittenpants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn Girls: Friendship. Fun. Food Trucks., 4 July 2013
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
Meet Pia. Pia's life is a whole lot of fun - at least while the party is rocking and the booze is flowing. Of course it's a good idea to hook up with her housemate's brother. Of course it is. Also, topless-dancing-on-tables. So. Much. Fun. Until the next morning when her hook up turns clingy and photos of her `just a bit of fun' topless dancing make their way to Facebook. Cue unemployment and a severe telling off from her overbearing parents, who inform Pia that she'd better shape up, or they'll be shipping her out of New York - and fast.

Welcome to the world of Brooklyn Girls, otherwise known as Pia, Angie, Julia, Coco, and Madeline, the fabulous protagonists of a fantastically fun new series from Gemma Burgess. Think Sex and the City (for the fashion and the friendship) meets Girls (thankfully Hannah Horvath is nowhere to be seen!) set in a fabulous Brooklyn brownstone and you've got Brooklyn Girls. This one is categorised as New Adult, but is very different than anything you've read before in the New Adult genre, which, by the way, is a very good thing, in my opinion. In the days before the `NA' tag, you'd have known and loved this book as straight-up chick-lit.

All the girls - Pia (the dramatic one), Angie (the gorgeous fashionista), Julia (little miss sensible), Madeline (could she be more uptight?) and Coco (sweet little sister) are recent graduates in their early twenties, save for Coco, the baby of the group, who is still at school. Brooklyn Girls explores the trials and tribulations that come with starting out in a new city at a time in life when your friends are your family and there is nothing more important than a killer outfit and a good night out with the girls.

Pia is our narrator here, and as you'll soon find out if you read this book, wherever Pia goes, drama soon follows. There's never a dull moment with this girl around, that's for sure. Determined to prove to her parents (who seem to think Pia incapable of even tying her own shoelaces) that she can fend for herself, Pia, on a whim (and having being subsequently fired from yet another job in a restaurant - short stint - long story), decides to go and buy a beat up pink food truck called Toto, enlisting the help of a loan shark in the process. Ooops! Pia isn't worried about paying back her loan, though. After all, it's New York City. It's food. And people need to eat, right? She'll make the money back in no time. Oh, Pia, Pia, Pia.

As a character, Pia isn't my favourite of the girls (I'm intrigued by Angie and her very messed up self), but I have to say that Pia grew on me over time with her enterprising spirit, her determination, and her caring side. Say what you will about these girls, but they are really there for each other through thick and thin. Pia shines, especially in her dealings with her best friend Angie and Julia's little sister, Coco. There is also romance for Pia, in the form of Aidan, but romance doesn't take center stage here, which was refreshing but also kind of a pity, because I like a little romance and Aidan was definitely hot. But it's a tiny quibble, as is my small gripe with how the girls refer to each other as `ladybitches.' Maybe that's a Brooklyn thing - I wouldn't know.

Overall, I pretty much loved my first foray into the world of Brooklyn Girls and I'm really looking forward to reading Angie's story in Love and Chaos, the next book in the Brooklyn Girls series, which releases in 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn Girl - The Apprentice, 30 July 2013
By 
Trish23 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
It's been a long wait for a new Gemma Burgess novel. I loved Dating Detox and A Girl Like You and have read both twice. No English chicklit author writes dating, flirting, partying and twenty-something life like she does or can convey the magic of attraction, that elusive 'click' of connecting with the right person in quite such a wonderful way. So I was delighted to finally have her new book to read. Was it worth the wait? Well - mostly. Maybe.

Pia, the heroine, shares a house with four other girls, all starting out on their working lives post university. I loved the dynamics of how the girls related to each other - the fun, the support,the friendship, the justified and unjustified resentments, all of it. I felt like I was there, living in the house with them. Vic, their elderly neighbour was a great character too. Pia herself wasn't that easy to like early on. I found her level of idiocy rather irritating. Yes, she's only 22 but surely even a twelve year old who has watched any TV at all would know a loan shark is never a sensible option. She seemed much more grown up and sensible in her dealings with her friends and their problems and it was in these situations that I really came to like her.

Then there was Aidan, the romantic interest in Pia's story. In the manner of all Gemma Burgess's leading men he was rather wonderful. Each of their chance meetings were magical, right from their first Cinderella-esque encounter. And there was that amazing best-date-ever that all her books contain, even if Pia only gets half way through it before she crashes and burns. Sadly there was way too little of Aidan which was a pity because whenever he and Pia were together the book shot up to a whole new level.

And so we come to what there was way too much of. The food truck. The menus for the food truck. Pia's repeated & repetitive word vomits about carb crashes, organic italian & all day breakfast. Towards the end she riffs endlessly about this to a friend while preparing for a presentation and I couldn't believe my eyes when I had to read the same thing over again as she GIVES the presentation. Enough already! Where was the editor's red pen? The thing about work is it's pretty boring - your own job & hearing about someone else's. Here I felt like I was stuck at a party with a girl who couldn't shut up about hers. Someone's job is always the least interesting thing about them & reading this book I resented the amount of time it took from what was really interesting - the girls & their issues, Aidan, even Pia's relationship with her parents.

I wasn't only looking forward to this book but all five Brooklyn Girls novels and now I feel rattled. I'm interested enough in all the girls that I'll definitely buy the next book. I found Angie the least likeable or sympathetic of the group but she's definitely interesting & I'm very keen to discover what made her the hot mess she is. The sneak peak at the first chapters of Angie's story really drew me in. However I'm worried that fifty per cent of the book will be about her chopping up & remodelling dresses. I'm going to be very disappointed if it turns out that, yet again, romance has been sidelined. It just seems like such a waste when it is what Gemma Burgess has always done so well.

So the jury is still out. I'm still hoping for great things from this series & with Angie's story being called 'Love & Chaos' I'm cautiously optimistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT - Brooklyn Girls is like a breath of fresh air....absolutely fantastic! xxx, 16 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I'd been hearing a lot of buzz and excitement around Brooklyn Girls before it was released, so I know it was eagerly anticipated, and although I had never read a book by Gemma Burgess before, I was very excited about starting it!

This is one of those books where you can't just read a few pages and put it down - you just NEED to know what is going to happen next! I was completely hooked from the first page and it was a story that I did not want to be parted from! I finished the entire book in a day because it was just so brilliant, it is easily one of the best stories I have read recently!

The characters were fantastic, I loved each of them for their own little ways. Pia was perfectly written, I warmed to her instantly from reading her first words on the page. When I was reading I felt as though I was right inside her head with all of her thoughts and the way she put things across was excellent - it was like going back a few years to when I had entered my twenties and Pia saying everything that I could never in a million years have put into words! I came away from the novel desperately wanting to be Pia's best friend, and I thoroughly enjoyed the time I had spent with her.

I think what I liked most was how `real' this book is. There are a lot of issues, life problems, friendship and fears explored in this story and it was very realistic and lifelike. Gemma Burgess doesn't hold back - the characters swear, they make mistakes, they say what they think - and I love them for it. There were a lot of feelings and a few scenarios in there that I could relate to, especially scenes such as going to house parties and it being both disastrous and wild. I'm sure other readers will find they can relate to Pia and the other characters in some way too.

Brooklyn Girls is like a breath of fresh air, and a plunge into the lives of Pia and her friends - this story is truly a rollercoaster that you will want to get on! It is hilarious, gutsy, with characters you can really root for and it is a story that you will race through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chick Lit with balls, 8 July 2013
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I loved Gemma's previous books and feel like I've been waiting forever for her latest. This book didn't disappoint!

If, like me, you're a not so new adult don't let the genre put you off. Brooklyn Girls is funny, feisty and occasionally makes you want to cringe as you anticipate another drama unfolding in Pia's life. She's spoilt and naive at times, but surrounded by friends who support, encourage and look out for her. The relationships between the girls are sometimes complicated, and we get a hint of the back stories of the others, setting up the future instalments nicely.

This is the first book I've read in a long time where I really couldn't bear to put it down.

My only criticism? Do I really have to wait until 2014 for Angie's story?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn Girls, 6 July 2013
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I have read both previous Gemma's books and I really liked them, so when I heard she is on to "something" I was desperate to read it, although I guess I am not the best age target, as this book belongs to a series about five 20 - something girlfriends from Brooklyn. It is directed to "New Adult" and I think I can't call myself a new adult, adult okay, but not necessarily new, but nevertheless, I feel young in my soul and so I received an ARC copy of "Brooklyn Girls. Beginners Luck".
Here we get to know Pia, one of the previously mentioned five friends living together. Of course we meet all other girls as well, but Pia is the main character here. I would say she is a typical young girl who is looking for her place in her world. She is full of live and goodwill, she doesn't hide when something goes wrong, she fights. She has her ups and downs of course, but I'd say, it is normal, isn't it? And in my opinion she is a one really intelligent and clever girl. She makes mistakes, but who doesn't make them, but she learn from them as well. She's not some kind of a spoiled young girl although she could be.
Each of the girls has her secrets, they are mentioned only, a kind of invitation for the next books in the series.
The writing itself is dynamic, young and fresh. I could only bang my head on the wall when Pia or some other girls said "um" or "uh", it made me a little desperate. I was scared that the book is going to be kind of a no - brainer story with a lot of drinking, partying etc. Okay, we have our part of drinking and partying here but the book deals with some other important issues and shows that life is not only a nice play. The only thing that bothers me a little is the fact that the book could be a little deeper than it was. Pia is jumping from one situation to another, and boom, that's all. Problem solved.
Nevertheless, it was an easy, funny and light read and I for sure am going to read the next books in the series. The next one, about Angie, is out in winter 2014.

I have received a copy of this book from publisher in exchange for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brooklyn Girls, 4 July 2013
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I wanted to read Brooklyn Girls because I'd previously read Gemma's adult novel, A Girl Like You, which I absolutely loved. Her first foray into New Adult had me excited straight away and I started reading Brooklyn Girls within an hour of getting it. It's one of those books I just had to read in one go and I think it'll appeal to a lot of readers, both of YA and NA, though some of the content is beat read if you're on the older side of young adult.

The best way I can describe Brooklyn Girls is to say that it's like mixing Girls and Gossip Girl, minus Hannah and Serena, AKA the two most annoying characters ever. It's very similar to Girls, although it was written way before the show even aired. I must say I preferred this book to the show so I hope the similarities won't hinder sales!

Brooklyn Girls is about five twenty-something girls living in - you guessed it - Brooklyn, NYC. Pia, Julia, Angie, Maddy and Coco are fresh out of college and in the first year of their working lives, except Coco who's Julia's younger sister. They're learning just how difficult it is to fit in and get ahead, earn enough money to live on, date and have a social life at the same time. It's something everyone has to go through, though doing it in NYC is obviously more expensive than other cities! What follows is a difficult, sometimes amusing bid for Pia to get a good job, earn money and not have to go and live with her parents. With the help of her friends, it's possible... right?

Rather than just be a fluffy read, Brooklyn Girls deals with a fair amount of mature themes and issues. It's an honest depiction of twenty-two-year-old girls and what they get up to behind closed doors, and doesn't censor itself when it comes to such things as one night stands and recreational drug use. These things happen in real life, and Burgess includes them in her story but doesn't necessarily paint them in a positive light. In other words: you won't read this book and then feel inclined to follow in the character's footsteps.

While I enjoyed Brooklyn Girls, some of the hipster vocabulary irritated me and felt overused. I won't write said words here as they don't all include appropriate words, so I'll just say I would have welcomed less of them. But hey, maybe that's how hip NYC youngsters talk these days?! I really wouldn't know as my only dealings with New York come from TV shows I watch religiously.

Anyone even slightly interested in the New Adult genre or any of the TV shows I mentioned earlier will find Brooklyn Girls to be a very satisfying, fun read that I'm sure will parallel a number of reader's lives. It relies less on romance and more on how these girls survive and focus on their futures, though that's not to say there isn't a hot boy or two on the scene. I hope there'll be more from Pia and Co. in the future, as I for one am all for revisiting them and their Brooklyn apartment. Who knows what the future has in store for them?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A non stop girlie read, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, I prefer the authors other books but this was good too. I thought the storyline was interesting, it showed the struggles of relationships and the loyalty of friendships. Pia never seemed to stop talking, her brain is constantly on the go which almost gave me a headache reading it. I liked how it showed the struggles we go through to make ends meet and the daft things you do when you need to make money. Even the mistakes she made with men, drink and drugs just showed what it's like to be 22.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, I enjoy the writing style of Gemma Burgess. She is witty, current and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brooklyn Girls: Pia (Paperback)
The book was very much fun to read. At times I could really relate to the character, and so far Pia was by far my favorite, of course I guess I can't really judge until I read all the books, cannot wait to get my hands on the Angie book!! :) The book was very easy to read, and it's very short so I read it in a day. It's funny and a bit sad at times, and very much a great book!! Would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brooklyn Girls: Pia
Brooklyn Girls: Pia by Gemma Burgess
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews