Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars BigStopper on a budget ?
Great budget alternative to the BigStopper. We've managed to capture some great long exposure shots which would otherwise have been impossible without this product given the light levels. Obviously, as with any screw on filter, unlike slot-in filters with carriers this will only fit the correct size lens bezel so if you use multiple lens sizes you'll either need...
Published 7 months ago by EvolutionMonkey

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Purchase with Caution!
Purchase with extreme caution - the filter produces an awful red/orange colour cast which proves impossible to correct in post, the cast eliminates any green colours which are then irrecoverable. That's fine if you're OK turning all your long-exposure shots into black & white images but that really isn't the point.The performance of this filter really does prove that you...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Huddlestone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Purchase with Caution!, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
Purchase with extreme caution - the filter produces an awful red/orange colour cast which proves impossible to correct in post, the cast eliminates any green colours which are then irrecoverable. That's fine if you're OK turning all your long-exposure shots into black & white images but that really isn't the point.The performance of this filter really does prove that you get what you pay for, I'll be looking at more expensive options now as purchasing this filter has proved to be a false economy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BigStopper on a budget ?, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
Great budget alternative to the BigStopper. We've managed to capture some great long exposure shots which would otherwise have been impossible without this product given the light levels. Obviously, as with any screw on filter, unlike slot-in filters with carriers this will only fit the correct size lens bezel so if you use multiple lens sizes you'll either need multiple filters or adaptor rings (which may or may not effect your results).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Leaves a hue that cant be corrected, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
Firstly, I would say I can only review this product used on a Sony A77 and Fuji X100S (with adapter ring). Other camera sensors may behave differently.

On both camera's it leaves a yellowish hue that cannot be balanced before taking the photo (in RAW) using manual WB and / or a set of grey cards. Post process cant remove the hue either.

Using Lightroom 5 and picking the grey cards within the image to set the WB, it is still not possible to correct. Greens are heavily suppressed into yellowish dull areas and reds are converted to pale orange. In bright light, I have also noticed a rainbow effect across the images.

Searching the internet and various camera blogs, others have found the same sludgy green yellow effect that cant be corrected. Shame they don't identify the camera type though.

I also took care regarding colour shifts due to long exposures and got the same results at shutter speeds of fifteenth or thirtieth of a second. Alas, they still look like I have mustard on the filter. So for me, this filter is nowhere near neutral and is of no use. One positive is both cameras found it to be a true 10 stop reduction.

Update...
Amazon kindly agreed to accept this filter back and I now have a Hoya PROND 1000 ND filter. The difference is amazing compared to the Tiffen. The Hoya has just a slight shift to the warm side, typically from WB 6000k to 5500k which is very easy to correct in Lightroom etc. I can use the cameras on auto WB without issue.

No discernible colour cast, rainbows, crosses that appear from variable ND, and no additional vignette. The camera's light meter judges the Hoya to be 9 stops, not 10.
Very pleased with the Hoya and glad I could return the Tiffen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tiffen 72mm ND3.0 10 stop ND Filter, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
Does what it says on the tin! Not too sure it is exactly 10 stops though. Some trial and error is necessary. However it is well made and easily screwed on to lens. Recommended seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the lot, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
I did a lot of review searching on the web before purchasing this filter and it came out as one of the top...and I wasn't disappointed. Even though it is thin if fits easily on to the lens with no fiddling. I don't get any strange hue or vignetting, pictures are brilliantly clear. Love this filter and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great filter!, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiffen 72mm aXent 72ND30 Long Exposure 10 Stop Filter (Accessory)
Great filter! This Photo was taken at 4 pm in the afternoon. Cloudy - yes, but still a lot of light. Exif: ISO 100, f/8, 13 sec!!! Canon 70D + Canon 15-85mm (Aarhus, Denmark)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews