Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn that brown upside down!
Like a previous reviewer, I also ordered this keyboard expecting a long wait (1-3 months). Less than two weeks later, and it had arrived - a fantastic start!

The main features of this keyboard are:

1) Brown Cherry MX switches under each key
These are kind of the middle ground between the very clicky blue switches and the quiet and squidgy red...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. J. E. Philp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KEYBOARD Looks nice, feels nice and nice materiel
KEYBOARD
Looks nice, feels nice and nice materiel.
However I would not have bought it based on the following. It is impossible to use without the back-light (only wanted for the dark). The light is brighter between the keys rather than under them.. taking emphasis away from individual keys. For fast typing, you will have to rely on muscular memory...
Published 2 months ago by TheSwift


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn that brown upside down!, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a previous reviewer, I also ordered this keyboard expecting a long wait (1-3 months). Less than two weeks later, and it had arrived - a fantastic start!

The main features of this keyboard are:

1) Brown Cherry MX switches under each key
These are kind of the middle ground between the very clicky blue switches and the quiet and squidgy red ones. You get some feedback as to when the key is actually pressed, but not a loud click. All this means is that you can type without hammering the keys right down to the bottom of their movement (as found in any non-mechanical keyboard out there). This both speeds up and also lightens the whole typing experience. The switches are also rated for more presses that you will likely do in a lifetime.

2) Reduced form factor
Cooler Master have integrated the arrow keys (with home/end etc.) and number keys (10-keys) into one block. This is a really smart design; the keyboard is smaller and neater, but can also perform both functions. Switching between them is a simple press of the NUMLK key (although Mac users should note that this function does not work, and you are stuck with the arrows/home pgup/pgdown etc. keys).

3) Backlit keyboard
Each key is individually lit with a white LED. There are various modes to vary the brightness or turn the lights off. My only gripe with the product comes in this area - when in 'arrow key' mode the arrow key lights stay on even when the rest of the lights turn off. In Windows, you can substitute this light for the Num Lock LED indicator, but OSX there is no way to get rid of the light under the arrows. Although not very bright, if this is the kind of thing that would disturb you when leaving your machine on overnight, it should be taken into consideration. Why Cooler Master didn't simply include a genuine 'all off' mode is beyond me.
As the keys are back-lit, there is no printing on the key-caps themselves (the light shines through the laser-etched keycaps). This means that nothing can get rubbed off over time, again enhancing product durability and lifespan.

Although this product is marketed towards gamers, this is only really apparent in the chunky font of the keycaps. Branding is kept to a minimum; there is one logo on the whole thing (not counting the sticker on the back). It is just next to the lock indicator lights and is dull grey on the black background of the keyboard. The white back-lighting seems more functional that anything else. To me, this all combines to look pretty darn classy.

A very sturdy build (there is a metal plate embedded in the body) and risers at the back (rubber tipped) add to all the other features to make this a great keyboard for just about any application, apart from numeric data entry under OSX, due to the problems I outlined above.

There is also some media key functionality; the rest of the F keys control the backlight and other keyboard features (such as N-key rollover in Windows).

Overall, I am very happy with this product. It has a great, solid, quality feel and has, for me, the perfect combination of technical features. That I got it from Amazon for around £50 where other retailers were charging £70-£90, absolutely sweetens the deal. Go buy now!

Note 1: As commented by another user, there is a querk with this keyboard in that some keys (the vowels for example) have the accented versions underneath the regular letter. This is a bit odd (and I have contacted Cooler Master Around this), but rest assured that this IS the UK version - with our big "Enter" key, and the £ symbol right on key 3 (not as show on Amazon's default picture).

Note 2: To Mac users - at first, my keyboard was in N-key rollover mode. This made it unusable under OSX. To solve this you'll need to change to 6-key mode. To do this first make sure the light is on under the "FN" key (hold down that key until it is). Then hold down the "6" key and press the "Esc" key. Release both keys and the lights should go on and off. The keyboard should then 'boot' into 6-key mode, making the keyboard much more usable under OSX (albeit with the limitations I mention above).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent keyboard, with a few quirks, 23 Mar 2014
The choice of Brown switches is for me the best out of both worlds. It has the speed of reds for gaming and a tactile feeling associated with Blues, but without the clicking noise. It's by no means a quiet keyboard, at least when undampened.

What it excels at compared to other top dogs, is it just feels right both typing on it and playing games. It has to do with the shape and size of the keys. I liked it right out of the box, which is somewhat rare as they all differ significantly to each others.

Where this keyboard is a bit challenging is the software. The user experience needs to be improved - I am an IT guy so not too bad with this stuff, but nevertheless found that I had to do some serious investigation to find how to activate my custom created macros profiles. Otherwise the software is good.

Pluses:
- strong typing experience both due to the Brown keys as well as how they are integrated
- very fast for gaming
- the rest pad is just brilliant. Rubberized and smooth feeling. It is a bit big, but it has a very nice slope and feel to it. Very sturdy. All pads should be this quality.
- understated design. No gamer gaudiness is a good thing imo.
- just gets the job done and easy to get on with
- once dampened with aftermarket o-rings it is very quiet.

Not so great at:
- Not the most stiff/solid body. A bit of twist if you really try at it. Not an issue but worth mentioning competition is better at this.
- No dedicated multimedia keys. I personally don't need them, but worth mentioning
- Over the mechanical average in noise. But it's a damp key noise, so not too bad.
- The Num/Caps Lock Leds are way too bright

An excellent keyboard that I prefer over most of them out there, but not without flaws. On the other hand I've yet to find one that's great at everything, it seems to be a trade of compromises game still. The software needs improvement in usability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good back-lit mechanical keyboard but with some issues., 8 April 2013
By 
I didn't buy on Amazon but wanted to do a review regardless. The description on Amazon lacks sufficient information for people to make an informed purchase so I intend to fix that with this review. Don't forget to look at the size of the enter key and shift, as keyboards are often a little bit different between regions.

The most important part of a mechanical keyboard is the type of switches. This particular keyboard has three different types of switches available, RED, BLUE and BROWN (I'm not sure what kind Amazon has as the picture indicates brown switches but a review indicates red so contact them to make absolute sure). The plate below the keys indicates what switches there are used, a blue plate for blue switches, a red for red switches and either white or brown for brown switches.

My keyboard has reds. They offer light linear resistance that don't have a tactile ''click'' like some other switches do. This makes the keyboard excellent at gaming, especially for games where you spam keys repeatedly (such as Starcraft). The switches are also quite silent for mechanical switches but are not dead silent like some laptop keyboards are. While RED switches are good for gaming it doesn't mean they are bad for typing. Because of their low resistance typing on it comes off as easy and the keys bottom out unlike traditional rubber membrane keyboards do. For hardcore typists, I'd recommend Blue switches instead that have an audible tactile click. The downside to them is that they don't push much back making them worse for certain games such as first person shooters (there were many times I didn't notice I was holding down for example control but I did get used to that eventually). Brown switches seem to be a sort of a hybrid between the two, being a little quieter than the loud blues and offering a tactile bump that you need to get past to register a keystroke. You may even want to ignore my recommendation on switches as many people simply prefer one type of switches over another regardless of whether they are ''optimized'' for this or that. Try to see if you can find a keyboard to test in person.

The Coolermaster Quickfire TK is not ''that'' heavy for a mechanical keyboard, probably because it's not a full sized one. I didn't have any issues with it sliding on my table so the weight is not an issue and it seems sturdy enough to last for many many years (it doesn't bend if you try to twist it from both ends).

The cord for the keyboard is removable, it is long and it is braided so I give it full score. You can choose where it pops out from under the keyboard, straight up, left or right.

The LEDS are bright and have a color corresponding to the type of switches on the keyboard (except for brown switches where the LED color is white). The arrow keys don't illuminate unless you turn them on with the numlock keys (displaying them as ''offline'' which makes sense) but the right enter key stays illuminated regardless whether it's on or not. That brings me to the main issue that I have with this keyboard.

The right enter key doesn't function when the arrow keys are activated which doesn't make much sense to me. When I play video games where using the arrow keys would be useful you cannot type a quick message by pressing the right enter key. There is also the problem with using the delete button as I like to keep it on keypad mode by default which makes the delete button register as 4. Switching back and forth can be tiring especially if you've gotten used to using delete and arrow keys for fixing spelling errors. This is not an issue when trying to enter BIOS as the keyboard will be automatically set on arrow key mode on startup that has delete active (for motherboards that use that key to enter BIOS).

This keyboard has allows you to press up to 6 keys at once with 6KRO mode which will be more than enough for most people. If you want to take it one step further you can switch it into full NKRO mode that allows you to press as many keys at once as you like which truly is the future. The downside to the latter mode is that some motherboards don't like that. I cannot use full NKRO in bios but switching between the modes is very easy and only takes around 1-2 seconds (google the instructions).

The keyboard doesn't come with any kind of software and there is nothing available from Coolermaster from their website.

I give it 4 out of 5 because of the right enter key issue. I knew about the issues of switching back and forth between keypad and arrow keys but I never imagined the enter key would be affected (since it has only one function). This may or may not bother people. I've seen surprisingly few people mention this.

Pros and cons:

+ Cheap for a fully backlit mechanical keyboard and it looks stylish.
+ build quality seems to be good so far and the switches are solid.
+ N-key rollover: It supports as many key presses at a time as you'd want.
+ It has a small form factor (although some might look at this in a negative way).
+ It doesn't collect fingerprints because of the matte finish.
+ Good USB cord included as well as a tool for making removal of keys easier.
+ You can toggle the FN key on/off by holding it in for a few seconds, making the function keys easier to use.
+ It has a gaming mode available that disables the windows key (thank the lord!).

- It's not full sized and it might take time getting used to switching between the uncommon hybrid of arrow keys/numpad.
- the right enter key is disabled with arrow key mode on.
- no included software to customize key setup or macros.

I would recommend this keyboard despite the issues, but I can understand some of them can be a potential deal breaker. I think I'm not forgetting anything important :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what you want it to, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me get this out of the way at the start: The only major problem with the keyboard was with the Fn key. When it is turned on, you cannot press it to access to the F1 - F12 keys. The only way to access those keys is to press the Fn key for 3 seconds to turn it off (and then you'll want to press it again for 3 seconds to turn it back on). On top of this, if you accidentally hold the Fn key for too long it will annoyingly activate itself!

Putting that aside, this compact keyboard is excellent and does everything that you expect it to. However there are a few other minor issues. Firstly, it is much louder than non-mechanical keyboards but that doesn't bother me since there is no one else around me. Secondly, you have to get used to the new arrow-keys and number-pad layout (and going back to a normal keyboard also requires adjustment!)

Some particularly good notes are that the keyboard has some very useful features such as the media keys and back-lighting. (However, the windows key lock button and NKRO <-> 6KRO are less useful - I suppose some people find it handy.) Finally, the keyboard is quite compact which is a big plus. The keys being laser etched mean that the text won't fade away which is very good for longevity.

It says it is a mechanical keyboard but it doesn't feel that much different from my Microsoft Media keyboard (except it is much louder). It came with a key-puller.

I should point out that despite the picture this was a UK keyboard layout (with accented characters on the vowel keys).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best KB i've ever used., 20 Dec 2012
I got mine today :) didnt buy on amazon, but thought do a quick review for anyone researching.

I have the version with the red keys and red black-lighting,
- Excellent lighting! The back panel is red so, not just the keys are red, but the lighting behind the keys is class.
- Red switches are excellent, i hear that blues are good for typing, but honestly, the reds are pretty good too, really nice and light!
- It's small enough to fit on a small desk tray with your mouse.
- the build is really really nice, its got that nice smooth cm storm black feel!
- it has media keys, if you really use them, ya have to press "FN" and the corresponding key, I don't really see this as a negative though, its a smaller KB, without making it physically bigger you aint going to get dedicated media keys in.
- no macros, I never bother with them anyway, so its only a bad thing if you specially want them.
- the number pad works quite well with the other keys mixed in, just press "numlk" to hit the numbers, hit if off to use the other functions.

If you have any questions, just ask. :)

Just an FYI, you can get it with blue mx cherry keys and blue backlighting, or brown mx cherry keys with a white backlighting.

Tom,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great keyboard, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Package arrived two days before estimate which was a nice surprise!

The keyboard is solidly built, and heavier than it looks. The frame appears to be strengthened ABS, and the keys have a slight grip finish which is very comfortable to type on. Overall it feels very sturdy.

The Cherry MX Blue switches are delightful to type on; but extremely annoying for coworkers, as the clicking, although very comfortable for me, is loud! I will be using this at home as a result.

The backlight is strong, covering all keys, and its brightness is configurable (handy for dark rooms). There are also multiple backlight modes, including a WASD-only mode, a nice touch when gaming. For gaming, the windows key can also be disabled.

Apparently in Windows the keyboard is NKRO, although I haven't had a chance to test that yet.

At this price, you are getting a versatile and solid keyboard which should last you years. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a first-timer, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this keyboard as a first ever mechanical keyboard, and I decided to treat myself with a backlit one. So far, the brown switches have been just right for me, but this obviously depends on the end user. The backlighting is bright and clear and can be adjusted to a couple modes. (On, off; Brightness; All keys lit, WASD and arrow keys lit, all keys lit while pulsating) It was also nice to have a more comacp keyboard combining the numberpad and the funcion keypad, a very useful feature. As for the design, it looks sleek and very nice by it's curves & lines. It is also very rigid.

The order (As by a couple reviewers before) came much earlier than the original 1-2 month "usual". I got it in about two weeks.

I have found no real flaws, the stands are rubberized, backplate is clean, prints look nice. But those are just enhancements. Overall, this keyboard is a good choice for those who want a compact backlit MX Brown, without any compromizes.

Also, one handy thing I noticed, is that the spacebar (and other large keys) don't have the metal braces in them, just some additional crosses, that allows the key to slide down. This might be especially useful for those who want to replace the keycaps. (A remover tool is included!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uk layout, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like it was already said by another user the images are wrong the keyboard has the uk layout as it should.
Very good mechanical keyboard and it size helps alot in terms of ergonomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars KEYBOARD Looks nice, feels nice and nice materiel, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Cooler Master CM Storm Devastator - Full-Size Gaming Keyboard and Mouse Combo Bundle, Blue LED Backlit (Accessory)
KEYBOARD
Looks nice, feels nice and nice materiel.
However I would not have bought it based on the following. It is impossible to use without the back-light (only wanted for the dark). The light is brighter between the keys rather than under them.. taking emphasis away from individual keys. For fast typing, you will have to rely on muscular memory.

MOUSE
Complete let down.. It looks great, feels great but the tertiary function (scroll wheel) does not run smoothly. It varies but whatever you're scrolling on will occasionally flick back slightly (every 1-6 bumps on the scroll wheel). Impossible to use for games with quick-switch or a raging nightmare for scrolling web pages.

If I were the manufacturer I'd be ashamed with myself... that's a lost potential future customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant set for the price, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooler Master CM Storm Devastator - Full-Size Gaming Keyboard and Mouse Combo Bundle, Blue LED Backlit (Accessory)
Bought this to replace my dying Microsoft wireless set, decided that I would get higher quality at the same price if I'm not paying for wireless, and I'm not disappointed, the keyboard and mouse both feel well made, the light on the keyboard is brilliant, especially in the dark when I wouldn't normally be able to see what I'm, typing, and there's a certain satisfaction when I press a key the keys feel clunky, but in a good way if that makes sense. The only thing I was mildly annoyed about was there are a couple of keys that aren't where they say they are, they seem to be labelled slightly wrong, but seen as I know roughly where they would be anyway, it's not been much of a problem for me, just others that don't know the keyboard as well have struggled a bit, this is however probably my fault for not researching properly before buying, given the chance, I'd still buy this again, brilliant set for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews