Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flies high, 30 Mar 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aeroplane Flies High (Audio CD)
The Smashing Pumpkins created a sprawling, rich rock masterpiece with "Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness." They also created a lot of songs that didn't make it to the final cut, but ended up being attached to the singles as a series of EPs. "The Aeroplane Flies High" collects those five EPs together, and creates a B-side/single collection that is well worth having.

The first song on each disc is a song from the "Mellon Collie" double album, but the five or six songs that come after each single are unique to the EPs, originally from various recording sessions. These songs are often as good as -- sometimes even better -- than what did make it onto the albums.

Each EP has its own mood, and its own self-contained flow, keeping the B-sides from feeling tacked on. One is hard and angry, one is bitter, one is soft and sweet, one is feel good, and so on. As a result, the full range of what the Pumpkins were able to do -- rock, pop, metal, ballads and experimental -- got put on full display, in all their glory.

For example, in the "1979" disc, the Pumpkins get to explore their alt-pop side, while the "Zero" disc explores bitterness and loneliness, sticking to their hard-rock sound. Not to mention the orchestral/acoustic flavor of the "Tonight Tonight" EP, with its subtle strings and laments, and a lo-fi reprise of the title song.

But there is no lag in quality, just because the B-sides didn't make it to the final cut of "Mellon Collie." Songs like "The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)" prove that Pumpkins B-sides are still exceptional, including covers of bands like Blondie and the Cars (yes, that IS Blondie's "Dreaming" you hear Corgan singing, strange as it is).

The heart of the Smashing Pumpkins was Billy Corgan, and Corgan's talents shine in most of the songs here. He delves into orchestras, distortion, lo-fi acoustics and jazz, all in the name of experimentation. Corgan's complex songwriting resembles poetry set to music, and his high, slightly offbeat vocals seem well-suited to the songs he sings. James Iha also wrote and sang a bit on these collections, including a pretty duet with Nina Gordon of Veruca Salt.

If fans have the EPs already, then they will already have the content of "The Aeroplane Flies High." But if they don't, this exceptional collection is definitely worth getting and keeping. A wonderfully overblown collection of B-sides and singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amongst all the wreckage, there's a first rate Smashing Pumpkins sequel to Mellon Collie, October 31, 2007, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: Aeroplane Flies High (Audio CD)
Unlike Nirvana and Pearl Jam, The Smashing Pumpkins never had all the angst about success that the aforementioned bands had. Sure, they had angst. It was the mid 1990s and it was grunge. Most bands had angst. But Billy was smart enough to market it. For Billy, he wanted to be a rock star, and that's what he got to be.

And not only that, he was the most prolific songwriter of the whole grunge movement. I have assembled my own Pumpkins' B-Side/Rarities CD-R collection, which is a full five 80 minute cds, comprised entirely of material that was released officially but never released on their six studio albums. This box set is a testament to his prolific writing. What's also a testament to Corgan is just how GOOD all these B-sides are. He's kinda like Dylan in that Corgan's outtakes, at least in this period, is just phenomenal.

For their third album, MELLON COLLIE AND THE INFINITE SADNESS, the band turned in one of the most ambitious (and some say indulgent) albums rock ever saw. It was a double album with a two hour running time (long even for a double album), and Corgan and Company did everything from folk, dreamy pop, jazz, heavy medal, hard rock, and new wave. Listening to Corgan was somewhat akin to listening to an amalgamation of David Bowie, Husker Du, and a good number of 1970s rock bands. For my money, MELLON COLLIE is a flat-out masterpiece, easily the best album the band ever did, and on par with Soundgarden's BADMOTERFINGER, Alice in Chains' DIRT, Pearl Jam's TEN, Mudhoney's, and even the critical darling Nirvana's NEVERMIND. In my view, MELLON COLLIE really is my generation's version of Pink Floyd's THE WALL. It's that good.

But here's the amazing thing. After the band released the double album in 1995, they released this box set just a little over a year from MELLON COLLIE. As good as MELLON COLLIE is, and even given its rather abnormal length, listening to this sounds like the band actually cut quite a bit of incredibly entertaining material here. In fact, they could have followed MELLON COLLIE up with a new album in 1996 or 1997, and it would have been just as big a hit as their magnum opus.

But the band didn't do that. You see, Corgan, kinda like Ryan Adams (though that comparison may be a bit unfair to Corgan), is very much about the rock star image, and AEROPLANE FLIES HIGH is designed just as much for the retro throwback to 1960s and 1970s record releases and that era's rock culture as it is to release new material.

Rather than assembling a second album (or, as I like to think of this box set, a third disc to MELLON COLLIE), Billy supplemented each of the five singles drawn from MC with 4 to 6 new songs, gave each disc its own kind of mini-album continuity, and released it in a rather cumbersome box set. All told, there's about one hundred and forty minutes of music here, longer than the original album, which is already something of a monstrosity when it comes to length.

Each disc follows its own flow.

Disc 1, the "Bullet with Butterfly" single, has the lead track, a great mellow acoustic number sung by James Iha and D'arcy and then several covers.

Disc 2, the 1979 single, is the rock/pop EP, and has some of the best songs on the entire set.

Disc 3, the "Zero" single, is the more hard rock and metal EP. The single has the only really bad song here, the twenty three minute "Pasticho Medley". Esentially, the song (if you can call it that) is a bunch of roughly edited snippits of all these unfinished songs and recordings the band made during the album sessions. In fact, the medley is rather jarring to listen too, as it feels like Corgan was going to make an epic instrumental of all his unreleased songs, but rather than write interconnecting instrumental parts and transitions, all this music just butts up against each other. I've listened to AEROPLANE for a long time, and I only made it thru "Medley" once. Trust me, life's to short to listen to it any more than that, and even once is questionable.

Disc 4, the "Tonight, Tonight" single, focuses more on the ballad, dreamy pop sound, and has one of their all-time definitive songs ("Rotten Apples").

Disc 5, the "Thirty Three" single, is the most wide ranging in sound, featuring winding guitar epics to rather experimental cover choices.

Now, lets look at THE AEROPLANE FLIES HIGH had the band chose to release this as a regular album. First off, dispense with the already released songs. That knocks out about twenty minutes. Then knock off the utterly disposable "Pasticho Medley". That's roughly forty five minutes gone. Then delete all the covers. After this musical exorcism, you're left with roughly seventy five to eighty minutes of original music. And it's some of the best music of the Pumpkin's career.

You don't get better music in the grunge genre than "Set the Rays to Jerry", "Ugly", "Pennies", "Believe", "God", "Medallia of the Grey Skies", and the rest. I fully believe had they released the music in a more user-friendly format, the resulting album would be as highly regarded as SIAMESE DREAM and MELLON COLLIE, and as it is, of all their B-sides AEROPLANE sounds most like MELLON COLLIE, enough to be a third disc of that album. While I've never been a fan of the title cut (gets a little monotous for my taste, and strangely enough they cut almost a minute off it on ROTTEN APPLES), "The Aeroplane Flies High" certainly does have an epic guitar feel to it, and would have fit in well with MELLON COLLIE.

And of course, we have one of the Pumpkin's best songs, the aforementioned "Rotten Apples". The song's so good they even named their greatest hits package. It's one of my top five favorite songs of not only the Smashing Pumpkins catalogue but the whole grunge scene indeed. What the hell Corgan was thinking (for you know he is the band, as evidenced by ZIETGIST) when he cut the song from MELLON COLLIE I'll never know.

As evidenced by how popular the band was in 1996, when Virgin Records released the set it sold tremendously well. A limited edition release, the box reached #42 on the Billboard charts, and sold 300,000 units (1.5 million discs in all), generating a platinum disc for the band. Originally intended to be limited to 200,000 copies, Virgin Records produced more after the original run sold out due to overwhelming and unexpected demand

Overall, the set has some of the Pumpkin's best songs here, and this is the closest thing we have to the great lost Pumpkins album. Well, this, and the Reel Time demos they cut before GISH.

EDITION NOTIES: This set is now unfortunately out of print, and has been since 1996. You'll have to buy it used or ebay it.

*For the smart consumer, you should know this box set curiously omits one officially released recording from the MELLON COLLIE era. This is the instrumental "Infinite Sadness", available now on their Rarities/B-Sides digital downloads. The song was originally released on the vastly reconfigured MELLON COLLIE vinyl album, which also included the "Tonight, Tonight" reprise found here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing tunes. Amazing price!!!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a hauge pumpkins fan so its more or less a given that i would have loved this but the extra's on here are very good indeed.
I have bought many bootlegs over the years with lots of rare tracks that are on here but there are so many more i had never heard before.
This period of time in the pumpkins history was unbeleivably rich with great songs and when you think of the size of the melon colie album itsself with all the b sides on the singles and all the extra never released tracks it is mind bending to think that four people came up with so many great riffs and songs over a few years.

This is a must buy for any fan but i at the price is worth mining for the casual pumpkins listener as well.

The price is reasonalble to say the least! almost £50 cheaper than iTunes.

Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extensive Masterpeice, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Aeroplane Flies High - Deluxe (Audio CD)
This set is easily the best of the reissue sets released so far. All of the b-sides and demos included add up to a huge collection of classic 90s era Pumpkins, illustrating the quality and variety of the non-album tracks and live material.
Essential for any Smashing Pumpkins fans and a good introduction for all new-comers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music to fit all moods, 7 Mar 2001
This is really for people (like me) who own all the pumpkins albums. Every song would be worth having as a single for most bands - there are some great cover versions too like 'clones' by Alice Cooper. If you liked Mellon Collie you will definately like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 26 Jun 2013
By 
J. Byrne (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aeroplane Flies High (Audio CD)
Brilliant in every way, a must for all true pumpkins fans. I found this title in the pumpkins own web-site and have nearly all albums, leaving out the remastered ones etc. and had to have it. once again, brilliant, you need to listen and judge for yourselves but you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its all to late, 4 Feb 2001
By A Customer
I feel so sorry for all the SP fans out there. The APFH is no longer avalible, i bought mine only a month ago, i ust have been the last person in the UK to buy it because the day after i ordered it, it was gone. This 33 song masterpiece is haevy, dynamic, sad, beutiful, full of rage, the list goes on. I saw them live and they played Tribute to Johnny, heaven. The box itself with its handle and this box belongs to sticker makes this compalation so appealing. It is mystery why the other 28 songs are b-sides, they are that good. They live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection of B-Sides - A Must for the Pumkins Fan!, 2 May 2000
By A Customer
I have had my copy of the Aeroplane flies high for just over a week now and the 5 disks haven't left my stereo. The collection is an excellent companion to the Mellon Collie album, and indeed any sized Smashing Pumpkins collection.
The collection gives you the chance to listen to previously unreleased pumkins tracks and saves you having to buy all of the singles and EP's seperatly.
All round a great album which I recomend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aeroplane Flies High - Deluxe
Aeroplane Flies High - Deluxe by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews