Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars59
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2014
It's so interesting to learn about the life of such a remarkable person. It certainly covers loads of bases and I like his style of writing a lot. Totally recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
It is worth noting from the beginning that this "memoir" is the life story of Richard Dawkins only up to the publication of "The Selfish Gene", we will have to wait a bit longer to find out about the rest of his life and times!

From a listening perspective this is actually a very interesting autobiography, as printed text it may become quite monotonus. It is focussed primarily on his idyllic "every boys dream" childhood to his Tinbergen days and the publication of The Selfish Gene. But makes great emphasis on his magical childhood not being the reason for why he is the confirmed Atheist that we all know him as.

Some of the stories that are told within this memoir are very deep and personal and reassuringly there are no direct assaults on God, no scandal or revelation of naughtiness or indescretion. For the most part, through this memoir, Dawkins comes across as your typical "next door neighbour" who would let that cat out if you asked him to.

There were some sections of the autobiography that are explanations of his theories, theses' and principals which are done with such ease and in laymans terms, you hardly realise you have been taught them or even heard them until after the event, which makes it so accessible for everyone of any background.

This book is very detailed and very interesting and to be honest, i am looking forward to the next installment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Terrific. If only more people paid heed to his his truths, the world would be a vastly better and more rational place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I've had the chance to read most of Richard Dawkins' books. This one is among my favourites of those, and with it being a memoir, easier to read than the sometimes more challenging pieces describing the mechanics of biological evolution, of which I started out as just a layman trying to understand more on the subject.

One of my favourite parts is when Richard's musing about the way his character as a person and student has developed over time since his childhood. The way it's often considered that 'the child is the father of the man' - put into a way I've never heard expressed before. I had intended to read it over several days, but once I started reading it was difficult to stop.

Definitely a book I'd recommend - especially so for fans of Richard's work, both on his religious thoughts, and how his interest in evolution by natural selection came to fruition. Also for those just curious about the man himself and how he came to be who he is today - well up to his mid 30s. This book follows him from infancy to the publication of 'The Selfish Gene'. The second part of the memoir is due to come out in 2015, and I look forward to owning a copy.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
An endearing account of childhood and maturity of one of most well-known scientists in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
excellent purchase; it kept me gripped from end to end; I find the subject fascinating; well done Richard for this
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
I have read all of Richard Dawkins's books and have found them a revelation. Each one has been carefully thought through and empirical proof set out in such a way as to allow anyone to check his findings. Many have tried to undermine the facts portrayed, yet this is always an irrational attack ignoring reality and tending to attack the man, who remains and easy yet impregnable target. The facts stand regardless of authoritarian rhetoric and hyperbole.

'An Appetite for Wonder' is a Memoir and will allow small minded religious non-entities to attack his personal upbringing (I have yet to see any sigs of kindness from religeous types) such is the way with these silly people, but it gave me a chance to see how a great mind evolves. And evolve it did. Do not expect prose coloured by artistic licence - Dawkins is a man with a logical mind. Instead expect an echo of Empire in his early days and a very honest explanation of how he felt as a child, a very difficult thing to write openly about, giving a brief glimpse into the maturing of a mind from infancy to adulthood. He gives a child's explanation of his religious beliefs when young (religious belief always remains childlike) and the growing realisation that it made little sense to what is real. Answers were sought to questions which faith ignored.

Yet this is not just a book about the development of the greatest thinking mind of the present century yet. It is interwoven amongst farms, schools, an unabashedly happy childhood and an adolescence which is looked back on with slight embarrasment. This is the thing with Dawkins - his perceived arrogence is not real; his logic may make him seem that way, but there are times when a huge intellect finds it hard to appreciate the rate of perception of slighly slower minds. It struck me through the final chapters of this first volume that he is a gentle man. His own intellect surprises him at times yet he uses it to make, or break, hypothosies regardless of the outcome. The fire in his belly is obvous as these last few chapters are full of science, set out simply enough, but still tough for a chap like me with a more industrial intellect.

Richard Dawkins did not dismiss belief in gods of any type without thought and seeking proof outside of the human brain and wishful thinking. He checked and looked at the evidence. He did not baulk from that. But that was not the driving force - showing the inanity of faith-based belief was not the agenda. Understanding was. 'The Selfish Gene' proved he has a beautiful mind - it is sublime in its explanation of Darwin. Darwin was a genius. Richard Dawkins is close, but must be well on the way as he upsets the same primitive people that the writer of the 'Origin of Species ..' managed so long agao.

This is a very honest book though not one to reveal any scandals ('not that sort of book'). Dawkins has left himself open to his critics, but only they will be horrible about it - it is all they have. For those who read Dawkins, weighed up the facts presented and learned to respect and admire him, this is a book for you. I enjoyed every page and thank him for this glimpse into his development, personal life and thought processes. He will know the guns will be out and be mildly surprised at the vitriol, but will shrug that off. Dawkins by natural selection will become a fixture in the libraries of all who think. Excellent!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Fascinating autobiography, and easier reading for me than his science-based books, as my science knowledge is very limited, although they also are well written and I think they are actually at a level that most can enjoy. It is a pleasure to get an insight into the journey which led Dawkins to his eventual scientific and writing career, and this book contained some surprising facts which were unexpected but made it all the more enjoyable to read. He is a national treasure!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
I bought this as a gift but my friend was delighted with the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Very personal, but that is forgivable for an autobiography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)