Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Let's finish making this delicious meal!"
MANBORG is simply put, a must see movie. Made with tongues firmly in cheeks and hearts on(VHS)sleeves, the Canadian quintet 'ASTRON 6's follow up to TROMA's release of the sublime 'FATHER'S DAY' is an action packed gore soaked parody of 80's straight-to-video sci-fi actioners. Think Monty Python starring in a Charles Band Full Moon picture, and you'd be part way there...
Published 19 months ago by no bulbs 78

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Absolute rubbish, stay well clear of this.
Published 4 months ago by DGNB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Let's finish making this delicious meal!", 21 May 2013
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
MANBORG is simply put, a must see movie. Made with tongues firmly in cheeks and hearts on(VHS)sleeves, the Canadian quintet 'ASTRON 6's follow up to TROMA's release of the sublime 'FATHER'S DAY' is an action packed gore soaked parody of 80's straight-to-video sci-fi actioners. Think Monty Python starring in a Charles Band Full Moon picture, and you'd be part way there. The U.K. dvd is currently the best release of this insanely entertaining flick anywhere in the world. Extras include a nice commentary detailing the blood and toil needed to complete this wildly ambitious project, VFX & behind the scenes footage showing all budding film makers how to shoot on the uber-cheap, some truly bizzaro cast and crew interviews, the short 'FANTASY BEYOND' a complete, stop motion action piece, and after the film itself the truly awesome fake trailer for 'BIO-COP'("WHY AM I ALIVE?!!!") which ironically cost more to make than the main feature itself. All hail 'ASTRON 6'! we truly aren't worthy, and anyone who doesn't think so needs a trash cinema ludivico with a liquid amphetamine enema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s Goodness, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
Think of every 80s and early 90s cyberpunk movie that you loved for all the wrong reasons. Throw all those Konami coin-ops you dropped the dime on, titles like BIOCOMMANDO and KUNG FU MASTER and PIT FIGHTER. Add a tight script, some clever direction and more classic one-liners than COMMANDO and PREDATOR and ALIENS put together...

This, my friend, is MANBORG.

Here it roar.

MAAANBOOORG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute BLAST!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
"Manborg" for those who haven't seen it is a comedic spoof similar to "Slags" but dare I say far more superior. With neon colours, laser blasts, glowing streets and buildings, smashing sound effects, amazing makeup, great villains, clever one-liners, awesomely 80's synth score, instantly likable characters, spot-on humour, great story arc, fun battles etc.. There are definitely a few nods to the genre for fans to catch (Doctor Who, Eliminators, Tron, The Prisoner, Terminator, Robocop, Re-Animator, Mortal Kombat) but the writing and execution are so well done that it very intelligently incorporates those elements AND retains a wonderful individuality. Manborg is an intentionally campy, surprisingly funny, action packed world of it's own.

You probably already know the synopsis and have seen all of the hype but it really is hard to imagine the creativity and heart that this film brings to the table until you kick up your "expensive silver boots" and enjoy the hoverbike ride. Astron-6 are a force and Steven Kostanski & friends destroy any worries you may have about those beloved VHS straight to video Sci-fi/Action movies being gone forever. Get this DVD... you won't be disappointed. The extra features and packaging definitely make this one worth buying. I'm also hoping that the advert at the end for a movie called "Bio-Cop" is not just a tease because it's too good an idea for just a trailer. It's a refreshing watch and I'm excited to see what Astron-6 come up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
This is one of the best films of type. I expected to like this film, I expected to laugh at this film. I never expected to love this film! With such creative story-telling and action that is unbelievable, this is a must-have for any sci-fi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWWH YEAH!!, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
I caught Manborg at a film festival recently and was literally blown away. I'm looking forward to rewatching this modern classic when it arrives on DVD! Highly recommended if you like an intense tongue-in-cheek sci fi flick that takes itself with no seriousness whatsoever! I even took a date to watch this with me, and she's still with me! Awwwhh Yeeeahh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a love child of ATARI and everything that's good about 80's b movies, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
MANBORG! Is one of the best films made on a small budge that references a lot of the best cheesiest bits from the 80's via the computer gaming of the ATARI as well as, the 8-bit sounds and copious amounts of infra red and machine gun fire of The Terminator coupled with the desolate background of escape from new york that you more or less see as what you get in the film as the bullets fly, one liners appear, and the manga style OTT kung fu fighting makes this a film you can watch on repeat as its so entertaining it makes the budget zombie film of colin look like a film with a U rating for children. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing hilarious film, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. B. Fletcher "boy_fett" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
I recently rented this from Amazons Love Film and it is one of the best films I have ever seen. It's s brilliant and hilarious homage to 80s b movies. It had so many joke's and funny moments in it I can't remember them all. It is dubbed badly on purpose, the effects are bad on purpose. Don't take this film seriously, it's a homage to 80s films and very very good. Just stick it on and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I expected, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
Wall to wall bad 80s style graphic/silly violence with fx a little better than some of the great straight to video masterpieces. May personal favourite is Number One Man and his bad dubbing followed by the main henchmans awkward approach to women.

If you love cheesy action movies then look no further.

IT even has a training montage!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good dvd, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
unusual film
but great to see a film not on the same lines as rocop
but i thought it was better than that
a gem of a film
which should have been given more credit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MANBORG!!!!, 15 April 2013
By 
C. Nellis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manborg DVD (DVD)
Whatever you think this movie will be like when you read the synopsis or see the trailer, ignore it and buy it.

MANBORG rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manborg ( Man borg ) (Blu-Ray)
Manborg ( Man borg ) (Blu-Ray) by Steven Kostanski (Blu-ray)
£22.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews