Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I do like this watch, however to say the dial is yellow is simply not true
The watch arrived well packed and in good condition.

Setting the time involves removing an almost impossible to remove plastic clip and then setting the date and time.

It is comfortable to wear.

The dial is as shown in the picture, a sandy beige colour, which I like. - It is a perfect match to the colour of the marking s on the...
Published 12 months ago by Doug

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No chance its rrp is £59.99, very cheap product.
Got this in the black Friday sales for about 14 quid.

The rrp says it is usually £60 but there were suspiciously no reviews.
Anyway the watch arrived and on time in good condition, but it looks incredibly cheap.
Pros: Face is a nice size, easy to read, Indiglo works well.
Cons: pretty much all cheap plastic, the dial is awkward to use, Dial is...
Published 12 months ago by Christopher Allen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No chance its rrp is £59.99, very cheap product., 1 Dec 2013
By 
Christopher Allen (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
Got this in the black Friday sales for about 14 quid.

The rrp says it is usually £60 but there were suspiciously no reviews.
Anyway the watch arrived and on time in good condition, but it looks incredibly cheap.
Pros: Face is a nice size, easy to read, Indiglo works well.
Cons: pretty much all cheap plastic, the dial is awkward to use, Dial is not yellow.

Amazon seem to be getting into the habit of stating unrealistic rrp's then offering massive savings (Particularly in the midst of the lucrative black Friday sales).
The price you pay is probably the actual worth, their are a few articles online that explain this in better detail.
So if by some miracle this is around after the sales, please make sure you compare prices elsewhere, if you cant find the item elsewhere then its likely because it has not been around for a good long while.

As it is i didn't pay much for it as i only plan on wearing it to work so ill give it 3 stars in relation to the price i paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I do like this watch, however to say the dial is yellow is simply not true, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
The watch arrived well packed and in good condition.

Setting the time involves removing an almost impossible to remove plastic clip and then setting the date and time.

It is comfortable to wear.

The dial is as shown in the picture, a sandy beige colour, which I like. - It is a perfect match to the colour of the marking s on the bezel.

It is very basic with no alarms, the bezel does not rotate etc. However I was looking for a simple watch.

The dial is clear and it is easy to read the time and date.

1 star was removed for promising a yellow dial, when it is beige.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No! The bezel doesn't move., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
I know the watch is cheap but four points to bear in mind before choosing it.

The dial face is NOT yellow. I would say it is beige. If you use the back light it is blue\green.

The bezel does not move. Why do manufacturers put a useless feature like this on watches? I suppose it makes them look "masculine". I wanted a moving bezel and assumed that was what I was getting. Can it really cost that much more to make it move so that you can see elapsed time? The points in the manual about telling the points of the compass and speed of a vehicle etc are just hooey.

The back plate is held on with four very small screws (not a screw-in backplate) which doesn't aid battery replacement.

The crown (the piece you pull out to adjust the watch) is very fiddly to get to the correct place to adjust the date. It took me many attempts to get it in the right position. I still can't really tell if I have a 2 place or 3 place crown.

Overall a disappointment if you think you are getting a bargain. You are getting what you paid for. A reasonable looking watch if you can get it cheap. I paid £18 from Amazon (not a trader) Nov 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its a good watch for beating around, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
Worlds loudest ticking clock. I got it in a lighting deal, its a good watch for beating around. I work on film set where things get banged and smashed around a lot. This is cheap and durable for that situation. The ticking is so loud you can put it in a box and still hear it from the other-side of the room. At night I bury it in my laundry pile, drives me mad otherwise! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
Product arrived broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
This is a great watch. Perfect for my dad to wear to work. Got it in the lightning deal so delighted with the price i paid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok sports watch, 8 May 2014
By 
Jezza (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
Needed a reliable sports type watch for skiing. Nice comfortable silicone strap and lightweight, not too bulky. Keeps good time - accurate.

But oh my word... That ticking! It's like a James Bond villain's time bomb! Hence why it loses 2 stars. Thank goodness it was a Black Friday deal that had been heavily discounted otherwise I would have been very irritated. Shame... As it is a good timekeeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Broken backlight, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
This a really nice watch unfortunately the backlight on first one stopped working after 2weeks and same thing happened on the replacement after a couple of months. Although Amazon are brilliant at returns and replacements this watch is disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light and sturdy, 18 April 2014
By 
B. Sayers (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
This is a simple watch with a bright backlight.

I bought it to wear when I don't want to risk a more expensive watch getting knocked about when at work

Truth is, I rarely take it off. It keeps good time and is both light on the risk and very sturdy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good watch., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timex Expedition Men's Quartz Watch with Yellow Dial Analogue Display and Black Resin Strap T499424E (Watch)
Got this watch for work, needed a good no nonsense waterproof watch for work that had a night time light. So far so good it seems pretty tough,theres no weight to it mind. Ive had stronger built watches, but for the price of this watch its excellent value, and its a good looking watch.Its not a yellow display its a beige.My one issue is the date window is very small and unless you got your glasses on you aint gonna know the date.Hence the 4 stars and not 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews