Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big step forward
Volbeat have exchanged their fast and furious Porsche 911 for a smoother but no less powerful Bentley Continental on this album, producing to my ears at least their most melodic, diverse album yet. Singer Michael Poulsen is in fine voice and there are enough riffs in here to satisfy anyone who likes their guitars turned up to 11. From the acoustic opener to the Sabbath...
Published 15 months ago by Big Jim

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rockstar
The start of this album I found funny. So yeah , you can pluck strings. Get on with it. They did and it very nearly made it out the car window. Mix a bit of Green day meets metalica meets shania twain ( track 11) with the singer sounding like Mid ure . Like the sound of that ? Buy it !!!!
Published 10 months ago by D. Lang


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big step forward, 8 April 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Volbeat have exchanged their fast and furious Porsche 911 for a smoother but no less powerful Bentley Continental on this album, producing to my ears at least their most melodic, diverse album yet. Singer Michael Poulsen is in fine voice and there are enough riffs in here to satisfy anyone who likes their guitars turned up to 11. From the acoustic opener to the Sabbath sounding Room 24, from the Big Countryish Pearl Hart to the Iron Maideney The Hangman's Body Count, many boxes get ticked. That is not to say this album is in any way derivative. Volbeat sound like no one else and on this Spaghetti Western themed album they have produced their best work yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another big hitter!, 17 April 2013
By 
M. McMenamin (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every Volbeat album is fantastic! There are no excepetion to this. The band is fantastic live, and I was luck enough to see them at Sonisphere where they came on and did a longer set because so many people were waiting for them to come out early Sunday morning!

This has the typical Volbeat mix of sounds (if there is such a thing). A few favourites are The Nameless One, Lola Montez (this is going to be huge live!), The Lonesome Rider... One thing I don't understand is why Ecotone isn't on the standard version, as it's easily one of the best songs on the album!

So I would say go for this version, and if you haven't heard them before, what are you doing with your life!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing band, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third CD I have by this band. I have played their previous CD, "Beyond Hell/Above Heaven" to death. I saw them live last year and they were brilliant. A band who really love their fans and give it their all. This new CD is different in that there is a country feel to it. At first listening I wasn't too sure what to think, but then songs started growing on me and now I can't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album!!, 29 Jun 2013
My first delve into Volbeat's world and wow!! Loved every second of every track, would strongly recommend it. Not the heaviest of metal albums but very foot tapping and head nodding. Listen to this first 2 weeks before seeing them live at Download festival, they are incredible live too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rock album with actual songs!, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love rock and metal, but often the song is sacrificed on the sword of intensity. We have driving riffs and a virtuoso display of vocals, but could you sing it in the shower? I say to you no!

Here, though, we have unapologetic rock music with actual anthemic songs that would sound just as good 'unplugged'. Which is refreshing.

Heartily recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Denmarks Finest, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing album, why have I left it so long before hearing of them. Thanks to Planet Rock for making me aware, just a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Volbeat, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, as you'd expect from Volbeat. Great riffs, awesome vocals, thumping drums. They just get better & better. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought for my brother as a birthday present.
Came on time and he is very impressed with it. Came as was discribed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best work yet!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies (Deluxe Version) [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Been a big fan of Volbeat since seeing them live at Download a few years back,- this album is not only their best so far,-but easily one of the best rock albums of the last 5 years.
This is Volbeat at the absolute height of their powers. Instantly likeable rock tunes, interspersed with full on metal,- each performed with Volbeats' signature skill and quality.
This is one of the few bands who can deliver both ends of the rock/metal spectrum and nail it every step of the way. Each track is a masterful example of Volbeats' diversity and talent, and this version includes 2 live tracks which also showcases their live energy and ability to effortlessly entertain a capacity crowd.
Buy this album, -LOVE this album - then go and see them live,- Volbeat are THE most refreshing act to surface on the rock/metal/live scene in years- treat yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic- just love it., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have had this album some time now and the more I listen to it the more I love it. Having bought the album based on having only heard the track Lola Montez it was a little risky but there are plenty of other great tracks on this too. Volbeat definitely have a unique sound which maybe isn't for everyone but right now I can't get enough of them! Just need to purchase some of their previous stuff now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews