Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for travelling in China.
I bought this in August before moving to China for a year in September. It's an absolute must-have! I've previously been a Rough Guide fan but Lonely Planet released this guide in May 2013 so it was the most up to date and I'm now a Lonely Planet convert. Also having read older China travel guides, make sure you only use the newest guides, especially for directions etc,...
Published 15 months ago by Sophie Alex

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would never buy this format of lonely planet again
Too much back and forward with links suggested in text. Then experienced difficulty returning to original page. Much prefer a straight forward book. Maps to small. Good content but difficult to manoeuvre on present kindle presentation. Very frustrating when at wonderful places and unable to glean the extra information that is somewhere on my otherwise wonderful kindle...
Published 20 months ago by j


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for travelling in China., 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this in August before moving to China for a year in September. It's an absolute must-have! I've previously been a Rough Guide fan but Lonely Planet released this guide in May 2013 so it was the most up to date and I'm now a Lonely Planet convert. Also having read older China travel guides, make sure you only use the newest guides, especially for directions etc, the older ones will be out of date and wrong as I've found out!
I read through this when looking for travelling ideas and also to read info on places I'm visiting. I mainly use the sights sections although I've found the directions and getting around advice to be accurate and incredibly helpful! The general info section at the back of the guide (with useful phrases in Mandarin, Cantonese, Tibetan... ) would be really helpful for someone that speaks no Chinese and the info on getting transport etc is also good.
My only criticism is that as a Chongqing (province and city) resident, this section of the book is tiny! Chongqing is one of the fastest growing and biggest cities in China and there is hardly anything about it. The guide completely misses out Wulong County which is a really important (and beautiful!) Unesco World Heritage Site. But overall a fantastic guide on China which includes info on Inner Mongolia, Tibet, Hong Kong and Macau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge and Detailed Baedeker of a Country Beyond Definition, 18 Dec. 2013
This guidebook, published in May, 2013, is huge and all encompassing. Compiled by 11 authors, it is an 1047 page, encyclopedic introduction to the entire country of China. Quite impressive!

Very little is left out, but keep in mind that not all guide books can be all things to all people at all times. This is the book to purchase when you are planning your trip and need to know the basics before you go into anything in great depth. This is not a panoramic picture book for armchair travelers, nor is this a book on art, history, politics, nor linguistics (although these subjects are discussed briefly.) If you don't have the patience to read and research the background of a country prior to visiting, and just like to take it all in when you get there, you won't be happy either. There is far too much information in this book for you.

My first trip to The People's Republic of China was as a tourist in 1981 and I have traveled there for business ever since. The one thing that was never available to a visitor was a map. They didn't exist, or if they did, they were ancient, outmoded and in Chinese. Not only does this guidebook include a pull out map of Beijing roads and public transportation system, but highway and city maps are in abundance for most other localities. Times have really changed!

The book is divided into four main chapters: "Planning Your Trip," "On The Road," "Understanding China," and "Survival Guide." You start with the overview given in "Planning Your Trip," and then proceed to the detailed information in "On The Road." Reading the rest, is up to you.

One of the most helpful features about Lonely Planet guides is the "Top Experiences" section that identifies those sites a visitor should never miss. This guide has 30 such experiences each illustrated with a color photo. There is also lots of information about creating itineraries, best times to travel, how to get places, where to stay, and where and what to eat.

If you are considering a trip to China, I enthusiastically recommend that you start with this guide.

This is a review of the printed version. I have not experienced the digital version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would never buy this format of lonely planet again, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet China (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
Too much back and forward with links suggested in text. Then experienced difficulty returning to original page. Much prefer a straight forward book. Maps to small. Good content but difficult to manoeuvre on present kindle presentation. Very frustrating when at wonderful places and unable to glean the extra information that is somewhere on my otherwise wonderful kindle. This also happened when I purchased the kindle Myanmar lonely planet travel guide. Should have learnt 1st time round. Would now only purchase a lonely planet guide if in simple book form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Index and page numbers, 1 July 2013
By 
C. A. Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet China (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
As a visitor to China for more than 30 years and a purchaser of previous editions of China: Lonely Planet, I was disappointed by the layout. If I didn't already know my way around China I would not have found my way around the ebook version. Someone else also looked at this version and the comment was the same. Wanting to visit a town shouldn't necessitate scouring the Province, if you know which one it's in! Maybe it is easier to read on an ebook as opposed to the Kindle Fire HD which I possess. Instructions how to use the book didn't seem relevant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guidebook, 5 July 2014
By 
T. Lundberg (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is comprehensive, with excellent maps and good travel advice. It is up-to-date, though with China's fast pace of change, it will probably become dated rather soon. Nevertheless, it is easy to read and has a lot of background on China's history and culture, as well as the practical advice you would expect from Lonely Planet. The overview sections at the beginning were very good. I was particularly pleased to see that the book uses the accent marks in Pinyin (the Roman letter equivalents of Chinese characters) - this is crucial for people learning Mandarin because you otherwise will not know which tone to use when trying to pronounce the words/names. Not all guidebooks include these accent marks. The Beijing map was also a nice bonus, though a map of Shanghai would also have been helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best "Before you go" anybody can purchase!, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A highly enjoyable and thoroughly researched travel guide by people who know, understand and obviously love China, the book is a must read. With a density of practical tips, the authors must spend all their lives on the move. Having been to Chinese weddings, not least my own, I was amused at the side comment on Table Manners which reads:
"It is quite common for banquets and dinners in China to finish abruptly, as everyone stands up and walks away in unison with little delay."
Yep, I can vouch for that but add that often it is to catch the last subway or that the following day, those attending are up early for work.
I look forward to the next edition and shall purchase the latest Lonely Planet city guides to Beijing and Shanghai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and easy to use, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Bryan "Bryan" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good level of detail and some really useful practial advice in an easy to use format. Covers China region by region. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars heavy but good, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this in Oct 2013 because it was the most recently published of all the China guidebooks. Published May 2013 but already out of date in parts because China is changing so quickly. Worth reading in advance of the trip and glad I carried it with me during 5 weeks travelling through China and Hong Kong, despite its heavy weight. If you can, get the internet updates, and check while you are travelling. Don't bother buying an older edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the ebook version, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Planet China (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
This book is terrible in ebook format. It is just totally unnavigable. Whilst there is an index in the back links are not clickable. There is no clickable table of content and doing a search on say Beijing reveals countless entries with no easy ability to find the main entry. As a printed book I am sure it is fine, but in the Kindly it is hopeless. It's a shame as I hoped to not have to lug around large books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars as its not easy to find stuff you really want - too big ..., 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Adams "breakshoes" (Bham.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lonely Planet China (Travel Guide) (Kindle Edition)
Its Ok, but ended up getting the book version from public library, as its not easy to find stuff you really want - too big and complicated. We travelled throughout China, and I only used it a couple of times, as it took so long to look up the next place we were visiting that we were already there! Might be good to look stuff up now we're back in Uk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Planet China (Travel Guide)
£14.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews