Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Karin "amberdarcy" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
It is so nice to see a series that does not rely on the ubiquitous car chase and foul language.

Just shows a story can be told without being profane.

I enjoyed it very much and will buy any future series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eventually found my new favorite series, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Really good acting even from the unknown actors during this series. Very seldom do you see an actor that is so fit for the character - Martin Shaw is just George Gently. It's like only David Suchet is Hurcule Poirot. I hope we going to see more. Every episode can count as a full length movie. In most series episodes you can select some episodes as better or worse than others - not with this series. All episodes are of equal high standard, research of the 1960's issues were well portrayed. Well done to all involved in this series. There are a lot of murder mysteries out there - I would rank this one first, then the Agatha Christie's (more latest Poirot's) then the Endeavour series 1 - George Gently is in a class of his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
one of my favourite shows ,gritty,well acted ,can recommend to anyone who likes a good british detective mystery,superb box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series, 5 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
This series drew me in as I grew up in the sixties and was in Europe in '67-69. This series is very authentic. I purchased an all region dvd player so I could order this and other British series directly from Amazon UK. I get impatient waiting for a US release. Martin Shaw is at his best. I just hope he doesn't retire anytime soon (as in Midsomer's John Nettles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant drama., 6 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I think Martin Shaw is always going to ensure that anthing he appears in is well worth watching and buying. I had only started watching the series when series 6 was showing, so it was great to sit and watch a good drama every night for a few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Detective Series., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen the first series from a friend and just had to see the rest as I enjoyed it as both a comedy and drama. So cute great acting as always from Martin Shaw I am a real fan. Now also his sidekick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True to life., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good series. True to life, gritty in parts, but enjoyable to watch. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent series. Bought as a gift. Arrived when predicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 28 Jun 2014
By 
V. E. Karo-Davidson (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Inspector George Gently takes me back in time.
Very good .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] (DVD)
Caught season 6 on the tv. I hadn`t seen it before. I was so impressed I bought seasons 1-5. I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD]
Inspector George Gently: Series 1-5 [DVD] by Martin Shaw (DVD - 2013)
60.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews