Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheer up! Could be Worse. We're only Hanging You!
Sergio Corbucci's original 1966 "Django" starring Franco Nero in the eponymous role spawned hundreds of imitators cashing in on its success. Many of these films used Django in the title or as a character in the film. They vary greatly in quality! The only official sequel endorsed by Corbucci himself was "Django Strikes Again"(87) starring a slightly older Franco Nero...
Published 23 months ago by Bob Salter

versus
7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Junk Spaghetti Western worth a look
First you can purchase this movie at Sainsbury's for just £3. If you like junk spaghetti westerns this supposedly cult movie is worth a look. The Fistful of Dollars trilogy are superior examples of the genre.
Published 24 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheer up! Could be Worse. We're only Hanging You!, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Sergio Corbucci's original 1966 "Django" starring Franco Nero in the eponymous role spawned hundreds of imitators cashing in on its success. Many of these films used Django in the title or as a character in the film. They vary greatly in quality! The only official sequel endorsed by Corbucci himself was "Django Strikes Again"(87) starring a slightly older Franco Nero. This one stars the Italian actor Terence Hill, born Mario Girotti in the title role, and is directed by the less well known Ferdinando Baldi. With the same clean good looks Hill is a dead ringer for Franco Nero, which is probably why he was picked for the role. The film has only just been released presumably to cash in on the success of Quentin Tarantino's "Django Unchained". Tarantino's work has been heavily influenced by the manic excesses of the Italian spaghetti westerns, of which he is a devoted fan. This one actually turns out to be better than I expected.

This time Django is after the gang who murdered his wife during the robbery of a stagecoach. As he closes in on the gang an old friend from the past resurfaces. Being a Django film you get the usual surfeit of violence, and Django gets his compulsory violent beating. This only makes our hero mad, and that is not a good move. As in the original film Django gets to wreak some havoc with his trusty gatling gun. Everyone should have one! The film actually has a few funny tongue in cheek lines that made me laugh. On one occasion a man is being led to the gallows and a deputy says to him "cheer up". Not easy under the circumstances! The film is well shot on location in Italy and has nice vibrant colours. The score by Gianfranco Reverberi is a very decent singalong one in the best traditions of the spaghetti western. So far as spaghetti westerns go this is not a bad one. three and a half stars really, but rounded up to a very generous four! Must be in a good mood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The item came really fast, in perfect condition.Everything is as described.Picture quality is great.This movie is classic, really good Italian western from late 60's.The price is cheap so, I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile...you'd better never cry!, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
Mark Hansen "There can be only 1!" (Nyborg, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sooo freakin' good that it made me wanna get my own gattling-gun, so I could go out and kill me some nasty people. Suburb acting and the tension between the different characters are throughout the movie. Really hard to recommend this movie enough, because it's so intensely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars spegette western, 21 Jan. 2015
By 
john (FRESHWATER, Isle Of Wight, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent another s/western first class bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Django Prepare a Coffin [DVD] [1968]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very good, Franco Nero style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for someone else, 18 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
bought for a third party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Italain Western, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
S. Holmes (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Italian Western
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
great item thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray]
Django, Prepare A Coffin [Blu-ray] by Ferdinando Baldi (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews