Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The knitted teddy bear
Fantastic book, some really easy to follow patterns with some beautiful results. I found changing the different coloured and textured wool makes a further difference. Rowan Alpaca Cotton using 4.5mm makes a lovely bear.
Published on 10 Jan 2011 by Matthew

versus
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice bears
All the bears are various sizes, so the clothes only fit that one bear and there is only one item of clothing per bear. A lot of the bears have hinged joints, but an intermediate knitter could perhaps adapt the pattern to avoid this. One pattern for an inexperienced knitter, and the rest seem to be for intermediate or above.
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by N.Dowden


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The knitted teddy bear, 10 Jan 2011
Fantastic book, some really easy to follow patterns with some beautiful results. I found changing the different coloured and textured wool makes a further difference. Rowan Alpaca Cotton using 4.5mm makes a lovely bear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Knitted Teddy Bear, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely Brilliant book. A must for any toy knitter. Easy to use and simple instructions.
Even great for first time knitters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for all knitters!, 11 July 2011
By 
Mrs. M. L. Clark "margie clark" (northampton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These bears make up really well,and it doesn't take an experianced knitter to attempt them.You could make one up in 2 evenings,and are great prezzis for any age group.A must on theknitting section of you bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UnBearably Wonderful Patterns!, 5 Feb 2011
By 
E. Bones (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read through, and decided on at least 5 of the patterns that I want to make a start on. As a fairly inexperienced knitter (I learned less than 2 years ago!) I can see several beginners bears, and many more difficult bears, but none that would seem to be outside my capabilities. The different techniques and jointings used are useful, and as I propose to start on Catherine (the largest bear, with real jointing), I hope to learn a lot. Several of the bears are more modern in shape(Ralph looks like a real modern take on a traditional bear!) and I think Sleepy Sam would look lovely guarding the bed while I am out of it!

I can see that knitters of all ages and levels of experience will get something from this book, and their friends and families will get bears for Birthday, Christmas and any other time that a bear would be welcome.

This is a book for arctophiles as well as knitters - it would be worth learning to knit in order to make some new members of your bearish family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying knits, great gifts, 23 Feb 2012
I have had this book for a while and have tried most of the patterns now. Some are bigger and more complex but most of them can be knitted and made up in a few evenings. They make much appreciated gifts. The patterns have clear instructions and knit up beautifully - you will need some basic skills (knit, pearl, increase, decrease etc) but they are not very difficult. You can make endless variations by trying out different yarns and many need only small amounts of wool, so the book is a great stash buster too. The shaping on the patterns makes them look like proper teddy bears and gives them great character. Just don't let anyone look through the book or you will have a long list of requests!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KNITTED TEDDY BEAR, 9 Nov 2010
This book is absolutely fantastic!The instructions and small diagrams are easy to understand. I have knitted Rosie bear and Oliver and they are adorable. I am using left over wool,embroidery thread for features and paws and black beads for the eyes.They would make lovely gifts for special friends.A very affordable book and I didn't even have to pay postage! bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Knitted Teddy Bear, 21 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book ,patterns given in good detail. nice variety of various size bears using different thickness yarns .I would also use my own discretion if I wanted a larger bear.

i t wou;ld have been handy to know what ply wool was used but an experienced knitter would manage ok anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every teddy you could imagine!, 17 April 2012
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an absolutely adorable book and a must for anyone wanting to knit a teddy. There are 18 different patterns, in varying sizes, from the basic with sew on limbs and embroidered features, to the more complex with joints and button eyes.
I loved the sleepy bear, the black 'mourning bear' (these were given to survivors of the Titanic disaster), old bears (with a look of Steiff teddies) and bears in the style of 1940s (with long bodies and short limbs). With various outfits, this book provides so much inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice bears, 20 Oct 2010
All the bears are various sizes, so the clothes only fit that one bear and there is only one item of clothing per bear. A lot of the bears have hinged joints, but an intermediate knitter could perhaps adapt the pattern to avoid this. One pattern for an inexperienced knitter, and the rest seem to be for intermediate or above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal how to book, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only been knitting for a couple of years, but I've wanted to knit a bear from the start. This book has been great! From small to large, with or without clothes, it's your choice and this books takes you step by step easily. I've made six to date and have ideas for three more. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews