Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Product Update, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. P. Mabley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
The review states this model of the Sonic Screwdriver only has two sounds, both of which was from the 'newer' Tennant / Smith versions. I bought this yesterday and can confirm that it has half a dozen sounds which are more authentic to the original TV prop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic piece of kit, 22 Aug 2013
By 
M. R. Robinson "bookaholic" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
I have wanted one of these most of my life and at 41 I finally own my own 4th Doctor sonic screwdriver.

The product looks very good and being made out of what seems to be reasonably sturdy plastic should stand up to being played with well. Very rough play may possibly result in the emitter head (the circular top section) breaking off but I think it would last a good while. That doesn't matter to me as I will only really use it with my fancy dress costume.

The price is very good too. I have seen other replicas of this kind priced much higher and that has always put me off buying one before now.

To be honest it would have received the full 5 stars but for one thing. As has been said on this site and other review sites the 2 sound effects it makes are completely wrong. The instruction leaflet says the sounds are "taken directly from the TV series". This is true but they are the sounds applicable to the prop used by David Tennant as the 10th Doctor.

As this toy is obviously endorsed by the BBC (BBC and Doctor Who logos are on the packaging along with a photo of Tom Baker as the 4th Doctor) it seems strange that the sounds are not correct (I understand all the toys in this range make the same sounds) particularly as this has been commented on many times over the past few years. By now I would have thought the problem could have been fixed.

However I knew of this problem before I bought it but as you can't get one with the correct sounds I decided to buy it anyway and I am still very pleased with it. I think any fan of the show will be happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro sonic!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
Delivery was first rate, the item itself, for me, is an iconic piece of Who history. Of all the Sonic's that stood out for me, it was this one. A must have for any Who fan young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Delight, 23 Jun 2014
By 
A. J. Riley (Tyldesley, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
Ah, the Fourth Doctor! And here an authentic looking sonic screwdriver. The kids love it and maybe so do I (don't tell anyone) but it doesn't seem to unlock doors.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
I ordered this quite late and it still arrived in time for the big day! It does just what it says it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4th Doctor screwdriver, 14 Dec 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
Looks very much like the real 4th doctors sonic screwdriver, cannot comment on durability as it is a present for my hubbie so he can play the two doctors with his son (11th doctor) :). Packaged well and arrived promptly, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Would you like a Jelly Baby?", 18 May 2013
By 
TheEnthusiastCollector "Ben" (Llangefni, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
Yes, the iconic Tom Baker Sonic Screwdriver. Sonic Screwdriver: Mark III to be specific. Usually uses it to destroy mines, burn metal doors, unlock doors etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Purchase, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
This iconic screwdriver is a fantastic edition to any Doctor Who fans collection!

The detail is fantastic and the it is clear that Character Options took a lot of time to copy the detail from the original on-screen prop.

The screwdriver features 2 sound effects that have just been copied from David Tennants screwdriver. This is okay, but I would of liked for the screwdriver to of come with the actual sound effects from the show.

Overall, a great screwdriver for an excellent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who Sonic Screwdriver: 4th Doctor (with Sound FX) (Toy)
Sweet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews