Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant box set ( & good price)
One of the most underrated bands ever, some timeless classics hidden gems & not much dross (Maybe the odd F/F). Buy it.
Published 17 months ago by R C TAYLOR

versus
4 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style Council a Forgettable Band & Paul Weller An Over Rated Music Icon
Paul Weller has always been an enigma to me as from the very start of his career with THE JAM he could never decide if he wants to be THE WHO,THE SMALL FACES or THE KINKS which even though succesful with No1 Hits has always relied too much on influence rather than writing from the heart.
With the STYLE COUNCIL it is all very much the same other than now he cannot...
Published 19 months ago by Andrew Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great release, but..., 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
I love STYLE COUNCIL, and in addition to having bought some of their CDs (one also in two editions, standard and deluxe) I also bought the box published several years ago, which also included the songs on the album "never published" at the end of the 80s. In that box there is the original version of "Everybody's on the run," originally the B-side track on "Long hot summer" remix published in 1989. The version included in this package is not in my opinion as beautiful as the other. For the rest nothing to add, except that it have in the house at least a couple of CDs of STYLE COUNCIL is almost a requirement for any person that loves of good music. Having this box is needed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Classic Album Selection
The Style Council - always been a fan, Weller can do little wrong!

Great collection in one set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Probably for TSC Fans, as they will have most on vynil, but for anyone who never went through these periods, or only part of, get out and buy, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace Ace Ace !, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Nigel Nash "Nasher07" (Maidenhead,Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TSC were very underrated, 16 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Great tunes and some excellent song writing. Weller has become lazy with his song writing of late and I'd prefer to listen to some of these albums rather than his recent efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just like.....but?, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
its just like the jam box set but not as good? cd 1 only 7 songs cd 6 is just naff cds 2 to 5 are tops ......wish it had a cd with A/Bs on it and not cd 6, still good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style Council a Forgettable Band & Paul Weller An Over Rated Music Icon, 18 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Paul Weller has always been an enigma to me as from the very start of his career with THE JAM he could never decide if he wants to be THE WHO,THE SMALL FACES or THE KINKS which even though succesful with No1 Hits has always relied too much on influence rather than writing from the heart.
With the STYLE COUNCIL it is all very much the same other than now he cannot decide whether to be TAMLA MOTOWN,BOOKER T and THE MG's or ATLANTIC SOUL.
I have always had Paul Weller down as one of the most over rated music icons we have ever had but i cannot knock him for the success he has had.
Don't get me wrong i like all the tracks THE STYLE COUNCIL made that were hits like Speak Like a Child or Long Hot Summer but everything Paul Weller has ever done has been influenced by Artists that are 20 times better than he would ever be.
If you love THE STYLE COUNCIL and are into them heavily then this will be a good collection to Buy but in Reality you are better off buying The Best of THE STYLE COUNCIL instead which is a fraction of the price of this as THE STYLE COUNCIL are really a forgettable Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Album Selection
Classic Album Selection by Style Council (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews