Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant box set ( & good price)
One of the most underrated bands ever, some timeless classics hidden gems & not much dross (Maybe the odd F/F). Buy it.
Published 11 months ago by R C TAYLOR

versus
4 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style Council a Forgettable Band & Paul Weller An Over Rated Music Icon
Paul Weller has always been an enigma to me as from the very start of his career with THE JAM he could never decide if he wants to be THE WHO,THE SMALL FACES or THE KINKS which even though succesful with No1 Hits has always relied too much on influence rather than writing from the heart.
With the STYLE COUNCIL it is all very much the same other than now he cannot...
Published 13 months ago by Andrew Goodman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant box set ( & good price), 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
One of the most underrated bands ever, some timeless classics hidden gems & not much dross (Maybe the odd F/F). Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best buy, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
This album set covered for me the best years of Paul Weller, with Cafe Bleu as a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever had it all?, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
As someone who gave up on the Style Council around 1987 I was really surprised to find this package was coming out. At the price it is you could now hear Modernism for a fraction of the 70 it was going for a few years ago.
These albums still sound good even if some of the synths sound a bit dated. Our Favourite Shop being the highlight, but, you have to admire the Boys for Confessions as an eclectic piece of work, similar to what Mr Weller came up with from 22 Dreams onwards.
For the money anyone wanting a good overview of the bands output you cannot go wrong. There was more to the Council than albums, the singles were great and the live shows got better, but, this selection shows a a change in the bands path from album to album. Not all of it works, but, when it does it's really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Style Council, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Having been a big Weller fan and early Style Council this collection fills the gaps. I was pleased with the diverse nature of the albums having not heard some of these at all and was pleasantly surprise also. Good value for money. I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best price for almost everything, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
This is a nice box, with the best price for all STC albuns. Its worth any way, even for me that have it all. This is one the best music you can get in this life. Dont listen to some annoying comments here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Must have, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Even if you already own these albums thus is a great buy. Presented well with original artwork - looks great & sounds even better. If you don't own these albums & you haven't heard them before - prepare for an audio treat - great music from one of the most underrated & undervalued bands ever. Possibly Wellers finest few hours on record
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To get a true appreciation of Paul Weller, 25 July 2013
By 
Nick Mirelez - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Such a good price for so much music. The packaging is really nice (as is the same for The Jam Classic Album Selection ), and you get all of The Style Council's albums. To get a true appreciation of Paul Weller's song writing this is an essential collection.

1. Introducing The Style Council
2. Cafe Bleu
3. Our Favourite Shop - a classic IMO
4. The Cost Of Loving
5. Confessions Of A Pop Group
6. Modernism: A New Decade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
This box is essential to every good record collection. The Style Council were one of the COOLEST bands of the 80s and still sound so cool & stylish today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite band, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
Well I am such a massive Paul Weller fan!! And the Style Council are my favourite group, They made such great music. And some of there b sides were just as good as there a sides!! so this is a must for any council fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Ever Changing Moods!!!!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection (Audio CD)
I bought this box set for a friend for her birthday, I've already had all these albums since there release. Apart from the last one A Decade In Modernism as their record label wouldn't release it and it was after this that Weller parted company with them after 12 years. It was great listening too them again although I must admit I skipped a few tracks on the last couple of albums because the direction of their music wasn't for me. But if you're a fan this is a really nice boxset and a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Album Selection
Classic Album Selection by Style Council (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews