Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked album
First seen Miguel on the Ellen Degeneres Show when he performed 'Adorn'. I was hooked straight away and brought his CD immediately. I usually wait until I have heard at least 3 songs before buying the whole CD, so took a leap of faith and was not disappointed!
Published on 3 April 2013 by Yummy Mummy!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adorn
Don't love it, but don't hate it either.
Brought it for track 'Adorn' and hoped would fall in love with other tracks but was disappointed. Other tracks were okay, but didn't blow me away.
Published 19 months ago by glamgal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
Arrived very quickly. Bought as a gift for my daughter - she loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast delivery and perfect item - just as described :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highly disappointing album, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
After hearing Adorn on radio, the lead single from Kaleidoscope Dream, I decided to buy the album, as this song is one of the smoothest R&B songs I have heard in recent years, and it instantly reminded me of Marvin Gaye's Sexual Healing, with a great falsetto vocal. I also heard the slow sensual track "How many drinks", and it seemed that this would be a top quality album. Big mistake, this is one of the most disappointing albums I have bought in recent years, especially considering how good Adorn sounded.

Apart from the 2 tracks mentioned earlier the rest of the CD is a confusing mishmash of pop, rock, alternative and psychedelia, mark my words this is definitely NOT an R&B album!!! Nothing wrong with melding styles like Prince did skilfully on his early albums, but the quality of some of the songs on this CD is quite poor, especially Don't Look Back. Also, there is no cohesion to the album and most tracks are self indulgent, taking too long to get started and quite meandering afterwards with no proper song structure. Having said that, the only other tracks that are just about acceptable to me are the Prince influenced Use Me with a memorable chorus, and title track Kaleidoscope dream which uses the sample Eminem used on My Name Is.

By trying to be too ambitious and artistic, Miguel missed an opportunity to make a great album, as he has quite a good voice. Do not believe the hype of the critics and numerous positive reviews, go and listen to samples of the whole album and you will see what I mean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
Very disappointed over hyped cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great cd, not sure about the hype around him though, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
good cd. nice but need more time to digest it and decide if its a yes or no.

great buy though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
Great artist and CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars words cannot begin to describe what I feel for this album!, 20 Sept. 2013
A good friend introduced me to this album and it turns out she knows me very well! I was hooked instantly and I cant get enough. Not very impressed with his first album but if he continues making his tracks in a similar fashion to Kaleidoscope Dream, I will definitely be buying more of his music :D

It is very different from anything else being produced at the moment and is a very artful mix of sounds. Obviously it's not going to be to everyone's taste, but it's well worth a listen - I certainly wasn't dissapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars miguel, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
daughter loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE 2013 SUMMER SOUNDTRACK, 14 July 2013
By 
THE best r n b album I have heard in a decade . I agree with others that this has all the hallmarks of B White and especially Marvin Gaye, especially Adorn ( remix for sure ) , think the Gaye estate may have a few questions , lol . Very smooth, and excellent flow, superb production, and that doesn't take away from his raw talent, you just need to watch live videos to see this. Very retro feel to it overall, and that is no bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaleidoscope Dream (Audio CD)
Great voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews