Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Incredible Comedy To Emotional Roller-Coaster
Thriller, Comedy, Sci-fi, Romantic, Slice-of-Life(think this one's mostly used in anime related releases)

There is no way to give any short summary of the series, as it would spoil everything with the slightest mention of a big bunch of things. the short version of this review: Buy it! definitely worth it, i have no doubts about that. Watch it & tell everyone...
Published 21 months ago by Philanthropic Animal

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful quality audio and video, steins;gate fans beware
Let me preface this by saying, that I am a massive fan of the Steins;Gate series. I'm sure most here are already. However this DVD release is, awful simply put. The audio itself is shifted up by half a step for whatever reason (easiest to tell when the main theme plays)which is incredibly jarring, and the video is less than stellar for a DVD release.

Lets hope...
Published 17 months ago by mar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Time Travel with a twist, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Ms. J. Mann (Cheltenham - England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can you travel and change time lines with a moble 'phone and microwave...?
Yes you can....really good anime, good voice acting Good one to buy for the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steins;Gate, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steins Gate: Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wow! Just wow. This anime show is mind blowing in regards of story, characters and picture. I started watching it and just couldn't stop, because you wanted to know how the time machine is operating and what changes it will bring to okarin and his friends!
If you like anime and a compelling story....this is it!
Buy it, friends! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife and I have sat and watched upto the second half of the second series of this and I'm glad I took a chance on it and persuaded her to watch it with me she's more into it than me I think.

The shows got everything, great characters, cliffhangers that leave you wanting more, evil organisations and cuteness. What more could you want from a show? Oh yeah time travel and tongue in cheek references to every geeky show ever.

Just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best animes in recent memory, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steins Gate: Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Steins;Gate is an anime which was released in 2011 and to put it simply everything about this show oozes quality. The animation looks sharp, the music fits every scene to a T and the voice acting both sub and dub is a pleasure to listen to. This is a must have series to own for any anime fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steins;Gate; Odd, but interesting, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steins Gate: Part 1 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's particularly hard in the case of the 1st part of this Steins;Gate blu-ray release to write something about its subject without spoiling anything. The "Future Gadget Laboratory" is led by a guy named Okarin (which itself is a nickname), the so-called mad scientist. That definitely sounds weird, and perhaps even a bit childish. However, weird in a good sense. I was very much surprised when watching the 13 episodes how much storytelling there is and how the characters develop in intersting ways. There is more to them than meets the eye. Sure, in some way there are your typical anime characters, like "tsundere"-character Makise Kurisu. But don't let that be discouraging, because the story and its characters are so much more than a stereotypical, or as you will cliché, anime. This is not an anime about blowing things up, or highly stylized action sequences. It's about how the different characters come entangled with eachother and how they deal with the possibility of time travel and the consequences of that. It's also a story about time travel that does so much right about the subject time travel, probably one of the most difficult subjects to write about, since there are so many paradoxes to consider and other conflicting pitfalls. Slowly by slowly other characters are introduced or have been sighted during one of the episodes only briefly before becoming more important. Some may call this anime therefore rather slow. There is definitely a buildup that's different than most mainstream anime's. The last episode of this release ends with a huge cliffhanger. If I have to point out one single complaint I had it would be this. But only because it made me wish I could watch the other part immediately after episode 13. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steins; Gate Part 1, 9 Sept. 2013
During the first few episodes I believed this show to be rather boring and felt that the creators were trying too hard to amaze us, but I was definitely wrong. It needed to be slow paced in order to help explain later events. This show is amazing. It has good character development/character interaction, great animation, a good soundtrack, fantastic plot and so much more. I have grown attached to these characters and I will most likely cry when this shows ends. You will laugh, cry and be at the edge of your seat through many times in the show. All I have to say is... I NEED PART 2 NOW!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value for money, delivered on time and my granddaughter enjoyed watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing DVD!, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with my purchase - it arrived a week early and is great quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The anime is nice. The quality too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very happy son arrived promptly without any problems and have ordered Part 2 from this person, we will use again in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steins Gate: Part 1 [Blu-ray]
Steins Gate: Part 1 [Blu-ray] by Takuya Satô (Blu-ray - 2013)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews