Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage or parody, Hot Fuzz is the best of modern British comedy.
Police Constable Nicholas Angel is the pride of the London Service, trouble is is that he is making everybody else look bad, so much so his superiors promote him to Sergeant in the sleepy village of Sandford, Gloucestershire. Yet all is not right with Sandford as the locals start meeting grizzly deaths, thus thrusting Angel into his biggest case so far.

The...
Published 10 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over rated...
I was brought up on films such as The Naked Gun (Police Squad was the tv series) and im only 18, those films were hilarious and i still laugh at them, however, in my opinion, Hot Fuzz is a good film, but it lacks the comedy that i first saw from the trailers, yes there are some funny parts, but i felt the film was slow and i was quite dissapointed with the outcome of it
Published on 23 Nov. 2008 by Mr. I. Powell Morley


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sargeant Angle, 10 May 2015
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Hot Fuzz to the unknown is film that unleashes the devils. A British take off of the American shoot'em up cop films. The British version, however is much funnier with more belly laughs. I was not sure that what I had walked into and wondered if this was serious until the irony hit me.

Almost any British star you may think of appears in this film, and it is indeed fun to pick them out. I knew of Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, and this film brought their hilarity to the fore. Pegg plays Sargeant Angel from London who is such an exceptional cop that he puts everyone else to shame. He has a 400% arrest record, and the powers that be noticed he must be released. Off he is sent to the small town of Sandford.
What a grave disappointment to Angel. He finds the police force is shoddy and slow and their work ethic is below par. If takes awhile but he comes to realize that this town may have something.

The Neighbirhood Watch Association rubs the town, decides what is a crime, who should be dealt with, who will be released, and decides weapon to use. Angel slowly understands the climate, and he waits and listens, and plans. This is a very funny film, once you catch on. And the title of the film,should give you a leg up.

This is a great film for a lazy afternoon.

Recommended. prisrob 05-10-15
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMON PEGG IS THE NEW COP IN TOWN, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great comedy. It has that fun quirky indie feel to it with none of the low budget drippy music let down. Simon Pegg plays Nicholas Angel. Angel is London's greatest policeman. In fact he is too good and makes the rest of the force look bad. They promote him and railroad him out to Sanford, a village which constantly wins "Village of the Year" awards. They have a low crime rate, primarily because the police don't arrest anyone, a British version of Mayberry. This puts Angel at odds with everyone in town, whom remain polite as he seemingly busts everyone in the peaceful village. The comedy is greater good. While on duty and sitting in a pub with fellow policemen, they talk about firearms.

Andie: "Everyone in town and their mum owns a gun."
Angel: "Such as who?"
Andie: "Farmers own guns."
Angel: "And who else?"
Andie: "And their mums."

Nick Frost plays PC Danny Butterman who becomes Angel's sidekick. He loves police movies and admires Angel. Together they become a crime fighting duo in a village that has a secret.

F-bomb, no sex, fake nudity. some blood and gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film ever, but still great, 5 Sept. 2007
By 
li "L.S" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Police officer Nicholas Angel is transferred to a
rural village. On arrival, Angel teams
up with the oaf-like PC Danny Butterman and
together they investigate a series of mysterious
murders, all of which are classed as 'accidents' by the increasingly strange townsfolk.
The film starts extremly dull, why it dosent get a five
but the gore is quailty and the story is great!
Not quite a comedy but woth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be any better?, 6 May 2007
Like many others, I saw this film the day it opened at the cinema and was truly astounded at the storyline and great characters that showcased in it. Simon Pegg stars as a police officer whose precocious talents have provoked the jealously of his London constabulary, and who decide to draft him to a local village where they hope he will fade into obscurity. The rest of the plotline is a tale of deceit and conspiracy as the mysteries of the village are slowly revealed- I wont elaborate any further in case you havent seen the film yet.

One of the great features of the film is its ability to satirise famous sequences from other Hollywood Blockbusters- there are obvious references to the 'Wicker Man', which famously explored the idea of a sinsister occult religion being practised in a rural village. As in 'Shaun of the dead' there is a heavy ammount of violence in the film, but it is always portrayed as burlesque and hyperbolic, ensuring that you cant help but laugh at some of the most gruesome sequences. One of my favourite aspects of this fim is the return of Timothy Dalton (former James Bond) to the big screen, and in his role as the suave, charismatic villain, he provides a superb counterpart to Pegg's austere police image, perhaps inspried by the ice cool front of clint eastwood in the dirty harry movies- indeed there is a very distinct spaghetti western shoot-out at the end of the film.

So this film really has it all, great plotline and tremendous characters- avid film critics will delight in attempting to spot the innumerable film references that are scattered throughout the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you too good at your job?... then beware..., 30 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [DVD] (DVD)
And that's just the problem with Simon Peggs police character. Having caused a dramtic fall in crime, he's tranfered to a sleepy country village. Finding it hard to 'lay back', and being a compulsive workaholic, he's soon poking his nose where it's not wanted. Aided [or hindered] by his relaxed and incompetant colleagues he stumbles from one bizarre incident to the next.
Everything about this film meshed perfectly. Excellent actors delivering top notch performances, a witty script [filled with dry and dark humour] camera work that managed to highlight the eeriness and quirkiness of the storyline and a strong musical score. Over the top it might be, but it really worked for me. This is pure escapism at its best.
It may not suit everyone, but if you like a rollercoaster ride of 'serious' moments mixed with ludicrous comedy, then you'll probably love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - but is it another Shaun of the Dead?, 9 Jun. 2007
I present to you the ridiculously highly anticipated second major feature film from the team (Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg etc.) who brought you the fantastic and hilarious 'Shaun of The Dead' - and equally genius TV-series 'Spaced'- Hot Fuzz.

I was actually 'butterflies-in-the-stomach' excited about this. Did it live up to expectations?

The film is about a Metropolitan Police's super cop, Nicholas Angel (Simon Pegg) who has a superb record in the force, sorry, service. A record so superb in fact that its making the rest of the police service 'look bad' and so his superiors (a string of top name actors) send him to the supposedly sleepy town of Sandiford in the country.

An enraged Angel is forced out to the backwater and spends his first few days getting to know the infuriatingly inefficient police force and getting rather annoyed about it. Then things all start getting a bit odd with a string of, incidents, that Angel is convinced are far more sinister than everybody else thinks. His sleuthing gets him drawn inexorably into the bizarre world of the rural Best Village in Britain.

That's enough of the story I don't want to give anything away.

As far as my opinion goes, its a bit of an odd one this. While I liked the film it was different to 'Shaun of the Dead' in the sense that it was, plot and structure wise, much more of a film. Certainly as far as the story goes its a better film as it twists and turns: there's a real surprise and a couple of 'My God!' moments in there, but comedy wise I'm not as sure. The film is still funnier than most things you'll see and it keeps you chuckling as you go. However there are only a couple of moments of the 'so-funny-you'll-lose-all-your-dignity-because-you're-laughing-like-a-moron' humour that was bursting from the seams of 'Shaun of the Dead'. This is probably mainly due to the fact that Simon Pegg, rather than being the centre of the humour, is forced by his character as the straight-laced uber-cop, into somewhat of a 'straight man' role. The main source of chuckles is now Danny (Nick Frost), Nicholas' loveable but slightly useless assistant copper and the rest of the all-star cast who play the remainder of the police force as well all the villagers. Nick Frost fills the role amply but with only one funny main character it loses something. The film also, quite rightly really given the subject matter and tone, takes itself far more seriously than Shaun of the Dead or Spaced ever did. In actuality this one can be pretty damn scary, I jumped a couple of times and the whole darker theme pervades the viewing experience somewhat.

The film does have a great sense of crescendo to it though as it starts slow, which to some may seem disappointing at first, but gradually gathers pace right up until the last twenty or so minutes which is a veritable orgy of gun toting, fire-ball fuelled, insane action somewhat mirroring the increased pace of the plot.

The film is full of actors they've used before, Bill Nighy, briefly appears along with a whole host of people from both 'Shaun' and 'Spaced'. Coupled with this is a plethora of self-references from these other projects. When Danny is looking in the DVD basket in the supermarket Shaun of the Dead is lying on-top of the heap but it is only filmed for a split second so look carefully. Along side that many in-jokes and beloved quotes such as 'Want anything from the shop?', 'What's up, never taken a short-cut before?' and an abundance of good old Cornettos (fans will know what I'm on about) are present.

I'm probably being quite harsh on 'Hot Fuzz' to be honest because of the great expectations I had for it to live up to 'Shaun of The Dead' and 'Spaced'. It is still a really funny film: awesome action sequences; a gross amount of unnecessary gore; an all-star cast of actors; and a twisty well written plot. It's most definitely worth a watch. I'll appreciate it more second time round. Now that all the hype has faded.

If you get nothing else out of the review then take this from it:

Buy this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious surrealism, 9 Sept. 2007
By 
I really enjoyed this film. It's a wonderfully surreal representation of English village life (very exaggerated) and also has loads of slapstick moments. I still laugh out loud when I remember Nick Frost's 'ice cream headache'. The movie is peppered with little gems like that - an unexpected take on a traditional 'cop movie' moment. The climax of the movie doesn't disappoint - again, the surrealism is brilliant.

It's just as good as Shaun of the Dead, but in a different way. It's also pleasing to see that Simon Pegg has more than one role in him. This time he is quite different to his Spaced or Shaun characters. Nick Frost is absolutely endearing as Danny and has some of the funniest lines and scenes.

Well worth watching. The extras are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedies ive seen., 19 Feb. 2007
I wont bother going into detail about the premise, put simply this is an attempt to merge a sleepy british village, current culture and american cop movies. It works. Its a better film if you spot all the subtle references in there but even if you dont this is kind of vicar of dibley meets heartbeat meets lethal weapon. I havent laughed so consistently through a film in a long time. Its the same team from Shaun of the Dead and Pegg and Frost are probably the best comedy team this country has seen for a long time. I can not recommend this enough. Im off to see it again this week and then as soon as the dvd preorder is up im buying it. The only criticism to be levelled is that its a little too long and there are several leads up to the ending. I dont have a problem with this - it's like complaining that you didnt enjoy your giant size chocolate sundae because there was too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Fuzz, 13 Jan. 2011
This film is sensational! From the stunning lead performance of Simon Pegg, through to the wonderful supporting roles of Edward Woodward, Nick Frost and Timothy Dalton this film is quite frankly flawless. An engrossing and engaging story is slickly directed by Edgar Wright. The film's fast pace and sharp visuals never compromise the character development or the engaging story ark. If you require CGI, high budgets or pointless empty plots this is not the film for you. However if like me you are tired of turning up to over-hyped, under thought-out, weak Hollywood films, this may be for you. It is both essentially English and also probably the best of British. It is dark, funny, insightful, moving and original. If you do not like this film I suggest the next thing you review is a mirror. Five and half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Ever, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
Ms. Pauline Gorman (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter bugged me to watch this for months and I put her off thinking it would be rubbish. Eventually I caved in, watched it and had to admit that it really was very good. Since then I have watched it several times and enjoyed it every time. It is clever and its funny. Ok the plot is as daft as hell but its meant to be, the characters are over the top but again they are meant to be and the whole thing is very well put together.I am knocking on the door of 50 but I can watch this with my kids and we all really enjoy it. I seriously can't understand anyone not liking this film. Take one look at the cast list if you are in any doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray] [2007]
Hot Fuzz [Blu-ray] [2007] by Edgar Wright (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews