Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fact Based French tale of the Kanak rebellion
The latest film from Mathieu Kassovitz `The Fifth Element', `La Haine' and `The Lookout' to name but a few. He acts, directs, produces and stars in this production and usually with so much control a film suffers but not so in this case. He takes as his subject real events that took place on the French colonial island of New Caledonia back in April of 1998. Kanak...
Published 22 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok.
A rather long ok movie, with an inevitable ending.

What interested me most about this movie, and which was not mentioned at all on the box, is that it is based on a true story and that the movie focuses on the background politics as much as the violence.

It never ceases to surprise me, the inaccuracy in the marketing of so many videos.
Published 11 months ago by Lamu Hermit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fact Based French tale of the Kanak rebellion, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
The latest film from Mathieu Kassovitz `The Fifth Element', `La Haine' and `The Lookout' to name but a few. He acts, directs, produces and stars in this production and usually with so much control a film suffers but not so in this case. He takes as his subject real events that took place on the French colonial island of New Caledonia back in April of 1998. Kanak separatists wanted to break from mother France and so staged an attack on a gendarme barracks capturing the garrison- some sixty officers. Unfortunately some gendarmes were killed in the assault. The rest were divided into two groups and taken into captivity.

Meanwhile back in France the CIGN have been ordered in to rescue the hostages. They are led by Capitaine du GIGN Philippe Legorjus played by; well yes you guessed it Mathieu Kassovitz. However, once they get there they find that the army have also arrived along with a ton of equipment and the place looks like a preparation for war as opposed to a hostage negotiation. The army are also in command and the CIGN are under their control. Meanwhile back in France the election is on and the two antagonists were Mitterand and Jaques Chirac. There is no appetite for French policeman to be held hostage as this is seen as a vote loser, so the army are under strict orders to end the crisis with all haste and especially before polling day.

The Kanaks are portrayed as having been pushed into a corner by the French and have seen their island ravaged for nickel extraction, they just want independence and do not want violence. What ensues is a story that is hardly well known; I found it hard to find anything about it and very little on the Kanak people themselves. It is though a very good piece of cinema. It has a big budget feel to it and enough action, intrigue and emotion to keep you hooked through-out. Whist I can not attest to the veracity of the film as presented it does make for a very interesting watch indeed. Originally released as "L'ordre et la morale", this is in French with good English sub titles and a run time of 136 minutes. If you like your European cinema to have a bit of action, politics and some historical content with a dollop of moralising, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok., 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
A rather long ok movie, with an inevitable ending.

What interested me most about this movie, and which was not mentioned at all on the box, is that it is based on a true story and that the movie focuses on the background politics as much as the violence.

It never ceases to surprise me, the inaccuracy in the marketing of so many videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Order & morality, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
I love French film but I would have to admit that there have been few films of late from this country which have matched the flood of excellent offerings made throughout the 2000's. This film is an exception and compares favourably with something like "Intimate Enemies", especially insofar that the story is laden with a degree of political awareness that is all too frequently missing from American films on the same subject. Whilst the action is largely limited to the last 20 or so minutes, the film's strength lies on the fact that the morality of the French presence in New Caledonia is seriously questioned and, if this film is accurate, then the actions verge on a war crime perpetrated by the French political classes. For me Kassovitz had an agenda and knew that he had a good story so obviating the need for the spectacular. So, instead of a shoot 'em up type effort, this film gently unfolds to explain how a botched coup attempt misfired and led to the French politicians Mitterand and Chirac not wishing to lose face in the middle of an election campaign. As a consequence, the incumbent Mitterand's response was something entirely contrary to the ethos of liberty, fraternity and equality. It is this aspect of the event that the film concentrates on as well as the muddled leadership of the French military who sometimes seemed to have lost control of their troops. This film does not reflect well on France and as a judgemental work of film making it is at once informative and beautiful to look at. The cinematography is superb.

I would agree that the pace of the film is sometimes slow. However, this is necessary to explain the situation on the islands and just how matters got out of control both for the rebels and the French soldier sent in to resolve the crisis which eventually centred around a number of the latter being held hostage. As a piece of cinema, the film looks terrific and clearly benefits from a good budget. I have not seen a film where helicopters have such menace since "Apocalypse Now" and the tropical scenario does invite comparisons. The film had me hooked and, if the genuine excitement is largely limited to the realistic shoot out in the end, the process of how both parties ended up killing each other despite a dialogue having been concluded to agree a settlement to the independence claim is fascinating.

This is as much a political film as a military one and I felt it was a good piece of cinema. However, I think that "Indigenes" shared a similar theme in dealing with the combination of the military and injustice and was probably the better film. That said, this is still the best French film that I have seen for a long time. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok film just. Bit biased as to what really ..., 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
Ok film just. Bit biased as to what really happen and sits in a PC world as not an accurate depiction on what some of the real life characters thought when you search it on the internet. Making a hero out of someone that wasn't really a hero it seems. Wouldn't get too excited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. I just wish I spoke French and ..., 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't heard of the incident this was based on. This movie gives you just enough to want to find out more. Loved it. I just wish I spoke French and could just watch since I feel you miss a bit having to read subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting account of political folly, 3 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
I know very little about New Caledonia but it seems the French own it and didn't take kindly to some locals demanding independence back in 1988. When a local group of insurgents seize some French gendarmes a negotiator is sent from Paris to try and obtain their release. The negotiations seems to be going well until political shenanigans in Paris gets in the way and things start to unravel.

It is an interesting historical film. Not exactly gripping, but beautifully filmed and the acting is good. However this film is more about gung-ho militarism and politics than anything else, which is perhaps not to everybody's taste.

As a sort of fly on the wall docu-drama it does have a few tense scenes but it has a slow narrative and you really have to have an interest in the subject matter to get anything out of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
a very good, if unusual film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first class, 25 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
f
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Rated, 8 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
A real life crisis in a distant French colony. A spotlight raising questions on the way a hostage situation was resolved.
Scored 6.9 on IMDB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebellion [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed. It was in a foreign language. Not clear on advert. Wasted my money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebellion [DVD]
Rebellion [DVD] by Mathieu Kassovitz (DVD - 2013)
£5.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews