Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd
Loved it
Published 1 month ago by william

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The famous Tosca on Blu-ray
Since it was televised Live in the early '90 I have recorded this wonderful production from the TV several times. Being a great opera lover and a great Puccini fan I have also bought the original VHS and the original DVD. Lately i have decided to buy this newly issued version on Blu-ray BUT I must admit that I was disappointed on several aspects.
1. Picture quality...
Published 14 months ago by Puccini1511


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The famous Tosca on Blu-ray, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since it was televised Live in the early '90 I have recorded this wonderful production from the TV several times. Being a great opera lover and a great Puccini fan I have also bought the original VHS and the original DVD. Lately i have decided to buy this newly issued version on Blu-ray BUT I must admit that I was disappointed on several aspects.
1. Picture quality is the same as the DVD. Nothing better.
2. The presentation is nothing to be compared with the version on DVD which is much more beautifully presented with a hard-bound booklet and a nice box.
3. The audio in this Blu-ray version is only PCM Stereo whereas the one on DVD includes 5.1 dts and 5.1 Dolby Digital.
4. The aspect ratio of the picture in the blu-ray version is 4:3 whereas in the DVD version it is 16:9 Anamorphic Wideescreen.
5. The DVD version includes interesting interviews wheras thisblu-ray version includes only the opera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being filmed 'live' -no other quite like it !, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Puccini: Tosca - In The Settings And At The Times Of Tosca [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Its a shame about the 1 and 2 star reviews, due to faulty DVDs, because this is a 5 star production ! It was filmed 'live' in the actual settings in Rome, stipulated by Puccini, over 24 hours and could have gone horribly wrong ! As it was, Domingo stumbled and fell at one point but got up and carried on singing - it was definitely ' live' . This was edited from the released DVD ( I saw it on a TV recording ). Domingo was arguably a bit old for the role but he is so comfortable in it and so believable, it doesn't matter. He is also in glorious voice and has wonderful chemistry with Malfitano who makes a very good Tosca, singing and acting superbly . To complete this wonderful trio of singers is Raimondi, who makes a very virile Scarpia, his lust for Tosca being palpable when he hovers round her, as she prays. This production combines the realistic location settings of film with the 'live' singing of the opera house, so you get the visceral excitement of being in the opera house -almost. No other production of 'Tosca' has done this, so this is one of the many reasons I treasure this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality video, 11 Jun 2014
By 
G. Wade (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Tosca - In The Settings And At The Times Of Tosca [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this a while ago and watched it last night. The visual definition is generally poor - awful in places, like a home video - although some scenes are sharp. Worse, the sound quality is patchy. The principal singers come across fine but some minor characters (eg Spoletta) sound as if they have been recorded in a different, more distant, room. I also found the extreme close ups unhelpful and intrusive, with the focus on the singers lips and teeth distracting. If this version has subtitles, I couldn't find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect in every way, 3 Jun 2014
By 
John A. Hunter "John Hunter" (AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Tosca - In The Settings And At The Times Of Tosca [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've been after this on dvd for a long time.
My favourite opera. I kept my vcr tape in case!
Visiting Rome I was able to go to each of these places with the opera in mind.
Singing is superb, acting wonderful.
More emotional feeling than a stage version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPECIAL PRODUCTION, 27 Mar 2014
By 
M. W. (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puccini: Tosca - In The Settings And At The Times Of Tosca [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Saw this original production on TV & been waiting ever since for a DVD. Well worth the wait. Delighted with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great production, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Damien Dill "Damien Surrey" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew this production well having it on VHS - recorded it when it was on
Glad to now have on Bluray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opera, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This arrived when stated and was well packaged. This will take pride of place in our Operatic selection together with Carmen and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was the last DVD and it was faulty so I dint get to watch it . I had to return it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puccini: Tosca - In The Settings And At The Times Of Tosca [DVD] [2013]
9.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews