Customer Reviews


851 Reviews
5 star:
 (738)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


209 of 216 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A songwriting masterclass
The Disney team have done a fine job of polishing up this 40 year old classic. The picture looks great but the improvement serves to highlight that this is a long way from the highpoints of artwork that was achieved in earlier animation such as "snow white & the seven dwarfs' or 'bambi'. The backgrounds are basic & the characters drawn without much detail. So too the...
Published on 20 Nov. 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disney trailers !!!
Of course this dvd is worth the full 5 stars, nothing compares to it.

But Why do I have to sit through ten minutes of Disney trailers beforehand, a lot of which are innapropriate to the Jungle Book audience.

If I rented then maybe, but not when I've bought it.

SPoils the dvd in my view.
Published on 29 Nov. 2009 by D. Estall


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

209 of 216 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A songwriting masterclass, 20 Nov. 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Disney team have done a fine job of polishing up this 40 year old classic. The picture looks great but the improvement serves to highlight that this is a long way from the highpoints of artwork that was achieved in earlier animation such as "snow white & the seven dwarfs' or 'bambi'. The backgrounds are basic & the characters drawn without much detail. So too the story is extremely basic & ends quite abruptly. So how come this is seen as such a classic? Well for one the characterization is spot on but most of all the songwriting is for my money the best Disney have ever produced & the actors turned each song into a classic. Obviously Phil Harris singing 'Bear neccessities' is memorable but so too are Sterling Holloway,(also the voice of Pooh for Disney), as Kaa the snake slithering his way through 'trust in me', far funnier than you remember & superbly timed. Best of all though are the peerless Louis Prima's impromptu scat on 'King of the swingers' as king Loius which is superb right up to the point when Phil Harris joins in the pair take it to even greater heights with their competing vocals. Quite frankly the DVD is worth the entrance price for this alone.
The sound is an even greater improvement than the picture & the 5.1 mix is vibrant with great use given to the rear surrounds.
The extras are fine, especially the unusually candid commentary & doc.
This deserved a decent release & so this DVD is a pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem Repolished!!!!, 5 May 2007
By 
Mohd Jafar (Hyderabad, AP India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It cant get any better than this. Disney beloved animated classic "The Jungle Book" finally gets the long overdue special edition treatment. This new 40th Anniversary release will include an all-new digital restoration of the film and for the very first time ever, this release will feature the movie in 1.75:1 widescreen aspect ratio (Please be aware that "Jungle Book" was filmed in 1.37:1 aspect ratio and was cropped for its theatrical screenings. The movie loses a little from top and bottom here in this restored version so think twice before selling off your old copies which featured the movie in its original fullscreen ratio). Along with a 5.1 Disney Enhanced Home Theater Mix soundtrack, this edition includes a restored original theatrical soundtrack too. French and Spanish language tracks will also appear on the disc. According to dvdtimes, extras on this platinum edition will include:

Audio Commentary - Combines comments from current animators with audio from the original creative team who made the film

The Lost Character: Rocky The Rhino - For the first time ever, the near-sighted, short-tempered rhinoceros named Rocky is brought to the screen using original storyboards and original voice recordings by Frank Fontaine.

The Bare Necessities: The Making of The Jungle Book - A comprehensive look at the last animated film that Walt Disney produced using existing archival footage in addition to new interviews with Richard Sherman, Brad Bird, Glen Keane, Eric Goldberg, James Baxter, Will Fi'nn, Andreas Deja, Burny Mattinson Ted Thomas, Bruce Reitherman, John Culhane, John Canemaker and Neal Gabler--plus a never-before-seen collection of artwork and treatments from the film

Disney's Kipling: Walt's Magic Touch on A Literary Classic - A discarded film treatment from 1963 includes scenes from Kipling's "Mowgli Stories" and more are used to illustrate Walt's interpretation of the literary masterpiece

The Lure of The Jungle Book - Many of today's biggest names in animation were inspired to pursue their careers after seeing The Jungle Book; this feature examines this phenomenon and features new interviews with Brad Bird, Andreas Deja, Sergio Pablo, Will Finn and Eric Goldberg.

Mowgli's Return to the Jungle - Learn about nature filmmaking and the experience of making The Jungle Book firsthand from Bruce Reitherman, the voice of Mowgli.

Baloo's Virtual Swingin' Jungle Cruise - Join everyone's favourite bear in this set-top and DVD-ROM game on an adventure through the jungle: enjoy fun activities and musical challenges, but keep an eye out because there's no telling what's on the other side of the river bend!

English Learning Feature

Still Frame Art Gallery

This 40th Anniversary edition of Jongle Book will be available for a limited time only. So bring home Mowgli, Baghira, Baloo and Shere khan and all the lovable characters we've all grown up with, before they go back to Disney vault again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just a bare necessity!, 13 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
The feature-length cartoons Disney continues to produce are fine films, but nowhere near as good as classics like The Jungle Book. Unburdened by the modern-day Disney habit of giving every film a heavy family-friendly moral message, the Jungle Book is just 100% pure fun, with a cool hero (Mowgli), entertaining friends (especially the bear Baloo) and some great villainous characters (most memorably Shere Khan the tiger). This movie was made years before Phil Collins or Elton John were drafted in as cartoon soundtrack composers, and the songs are just awesome - "The Bare Necessities", "I Wanna Be Like You" and Kaa the snake's hissed encouragement to "Trust in Me". Get this video before the distributors withdraw it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the book!, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Walt Disney has given us so much over the last hundred years (well, not quite...but getting there!), some of it wonderful and some - particularly of late - distinctly mediocre (though Ratatouille is a triumph).

Everyone has their favourite Disney film - his own was apparently Bambi - but I'm sure a great many of us would pick this one. It was the first film I was ever taken to see at a cinema, so for me there's no contest.

Its influence extends to this day - just the other month I bought a Louis Prima CD set, memories of his towering performance as the voice of Orang-Utang King Louie burned forever into my memory. And as for The Bear Necessities, they play it in clubs nowadays...and it fills the dancefloor!

Indeed, despite Disney often being accused of cheapening or Americanising children's classics (and none of us who live in London will ever quite forgive Dick Van Dyke's accent in Mary Poppins), this film stands up a whole lot better than the book which inspired it, Kipling having been neither even a tad politically correct nor an instinctive children's writer. In some ways, however, the film echoes the sixties in which it was made: the vultures are clearly based on The Beatles and a couple have reasonable Scouse accents. One sounds like Stanley Holloway in My Fair Lady, but there you go - at least it's not Dick Van Dyke!

And now those Vultures will be joined by a new character - a rhino Uncle Walt didn't like at the audition. It may be a gimmick but I'm a little bit intrigued. Aren't you?

A marvellous film for kids and adults alike - and what a Christmas present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Disney's most enjoyable animated feature by far, 20 May 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Disney's very American version of Rudyard Kipling's stories ends pretty much where Zoltan Korda's impressive and undervalued 1942 live-action film began, with Mowgli's return to the Man Village, but is in its own way much more enjoyable.

Due to their huge expense animated features are shorter than modern-day live-action, but as a result they have the virtue of the snappy pacing of Hollywood's Golden Age when the 70-minute running time ruled supreme. It's good clear storytelling filled with memorable characters who make their mark and keep it moving along. There's no real complexity, just great star turns.

Phil Harris' hip John Wayneish bear Baloo pretty much dominates the film and has all the best lines (and songs), but not for want of competition. Sterling Holloway's Kaa is one of Disney's best comical villains creations, so much so that he reappeared (more-or-less) as Sir Hiss in Robin Hood, as did a barely disguised Baloo as Little John. Sebastian Cabot is a perfect mixture of gravity and exasperation as Bagheera while George Sanders' Shere Khan, a perfect portrait of urbane menace, is truly inspired casting. Only the Vultures, modelled very unconvincingly on The Beatles, fail to hit the heights.

The slight limitations of the Xerox animation style are particularly noticeable, particularly after the studio moved back to the classic style in the 90s before moving to computer animation, but was an unfortunate consequence of Disney having massively reduced the size of the animation division in the Sixties. Similarly, the film is overly reliant on the musical numbers (The Bare Necessities notwithstanding, the highlight is definitely the I Wanna Be Like You number), but it remains infectious fun. More of a party than an adventure, it's a ball. Altogether now: Oo-be-do....

The Blu-ray release carries over most, but not all of the extras from the two disc DVD edition (the rejected songs have not been carried over), though these are neither enhanced for hi-definition nor anamorphic, meaning you watch most of them with black bars around all four edges. Pride of place goes to the 46-minute making of documetary that doesn't ignore the sporadically troubled production that saw production dragging on so long that the original Mowgli, David Alan Bailey, had to be replaced after his voice broke and, more seriously, Disney falling out with veteran storyman Bill Peet, who wanted a much darker tone more in line with the book and 1942 film (a rift that would never be resolved), or his dislike of Terry Gilkyson's original songs (so much so that the animators had to plead with him to at least keep The Bare Necessities in the film after he commissioned new songs by the Sherman Brothers). There's much appreciation for the film's remarkable character animation and a touching recounting of the effect Disney's death towards the end of production had on the animators. Also included are a deleted scene, alternate ending and a slew of new featurettes for the Blu-ray release, though not, curiously, any of the film's trailers. Purists might swant to note that only the region-free US release includes the film's original mono soundtrack - all other international releases only include a more recent stereo remix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong..., 10 Feb. 2004
By 
This is one of those films that you simply can't go wrong with.
My one year old son calls for "Jungle" on a daily basis and routinely announces the appearance of all the animals... "jungle" (Bagheera the panther), "bear" (Baloo the bear), "phunt" (Elephants), "tiger" (Shere Khan), "neck" (Kaa The Snake), "monkey" (King Louis the orang utan).
As for me, in my thirty-somethings... I just enjoy the story of friendship, loyalty, and down-right wackyness. And I can't help but love the music from the days when Disney films just made toe-tappingly catchy music instead of going for grand-scale Oscar nomination material.
I defy anyone not to have "Bear Necessities", "I Wanna Be Like You" or "Trust In Me" buzzing round their head 24 hours after watching this classic film.
Disney have produced some remarkable films over the years but this must surely feature in anyone's top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've always loved this!!, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always loved Jungle Book. It's possibly one of my favourites growing up. The music, the characters, the story line....I just love it. It's about a boy who's left in the Jungle and raised by....why am I explaining this? You now the rest.

I've found it difficult to get some children to sit down and watch this as they're into their computer animated movies nowadays and this has a different feel that some children don't particularly like. It's all about the fast action from the get go. Disney has definitely changed. But its a good one to watch with the family and to them dancing along. (I still dance along to Baloo and King Louie's dance moves in that famous scene - albeit 20 years later).

This edition has little extras such as going around Animal Kingdom and looking at the real life animals that are shown in the movie. A great educational extra for little ones (and myself). It's a must-buy in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite disney film, 14 Jan. 2006
I fell in love with it when I was a child and I still love it now I'm an adult. The songs are amazing and so are the voice actors, including the amazing Phil Harris who also did Thomas O'Malley from the Aristocats and Little John from Robin Hood. A brilliant movie for all the family and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Mister G (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our children absolutely love this. It's a classic film with so many great songs.

I was surprised to be able to buy the Blu Ray version so cheaply. Clearly you notice the difference between this and more recent Disney animations - this may make you decide to buy the DVD version instead. But buy it in one format or the other - it's such a good film, not least for all those classic songs.

(P.S. If your children haven't seen Frozen [Blu-ray] [Region Free], buy it for them - it is superb . I digress...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best disney film ever made, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been looking for a copy of this film for a while but they where always 2 expensive and its not released by disney 2 often and there's a lot of copies of it out there so u have 2 be careful but I saw zoverstocks where selling it at a reasonable price ordered as I knew it be ok as I've bought there dvds before and there 1st class for bein 2nd hand and I was right the quality of the film is perfect and I just love watchin it over and over again its pure class I'd recommend it 2 everybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jungle Book [DVD] [1967]
The Jungle Book [DVD] [1967] by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2013)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews