Customer Reviews


345 Reviews
5 star:
 (283)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're ridin' it dude. Check it out"
Finding Nemo is, quite simply, brilliant. Computer animation has come on in leaps and bounds since the days of Toy Story (1995) and Finding Nemo stunningly attests to this. From the vibrantly coloured and gently undulating coral on the reef, to the murky depths of Sydney harbour, to the clever use of reflection and refraction off the fish tank, this is a film in which...
Published on 31 Jan 2004 by Jennifer Litchfield

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stitched up again
I don't know what it is, but Disney seem determined to short change customers in the U.K. The American release of The Incredibles on Blu-ray came as a 4-disc behemoth. Here in the U.K. it was released as a paltry one-disc.

And so, with arguably Pixar's most popular film - Finding Nemo - celebrating a 10-year anniversary to boot, you would expect something...
Published 10 months ago by S. Hurford


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You're ridin' it dude. Check it out", 31 Jan 2004
By 
Jennifer Litchfield (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Finding Nemo is, quite simply, brilliant. Computer animation has come on in leaps and bounds since the days of Toy Story (1995) and Finding Nemo stunningly attests to this. From the vibrantly coloured and gently undulating coral on the reef, to the murky depths of Sydney harbour, to the clever use of reflection and refraction off the fish tank, this is a film in which the constantly changing scenery is a large part of its attraction. The original and well-judged score enhances the viewer's sense of wonder and their empathy with the characters.
But computer wizardry alone cannot create a great film. Finding Nemo is also blessed with an action-packed story and lots of laughs (largely courtesy of Dory - a well-meaning blue tang fish with short-term memory loss). Nemo is a young clown fish, eager to test his boundaries, who is caught by a diver and taken to an aquarium in Sydney. Whilst there, he makes friends with a motley collection of aquatic creatures who help him plot his escape. Meanwhile, his over-protective father, Marlin, begins a frantic quest to find his son. Along the way he is helped and hindered by three new-age sharks, some bodacious-dude turtles, a whale, and a monstrous angler fish (amongst others).
And yes, the ending may be a little mushy, but after such an epic adventure, the viewer will find the sentimentality relatively easy to stomach. Indeed, the character development is surprisingly deep for a children's movie, and it's a nice change to have not every character being entirely good or bad. Parents in the audience will certainly identify with Marlin's dilemma of wanting to protect his child, and yet coming to realise that the time comes when one has to let go a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stitched up again, 29 May 2013
By 
S. Hurford "WorkingClassHero" (The Shire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Nemo [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't know what it is, but Disney seem determined to short change customers in the U.K. The American release of The Incredibles on Blu-ray came as a 4-disc behemoth. Here in the U.K. it was released as a paltry one-disc.

And so, with arguably Pixar's most popular film - Finding Nemo - celebrating a 10-year anniversary to boot, you would expect something special from the house of Mouse. The U.S. got a lavish 2-disc edition back before Christmas, with a host of special features. The U.K. edition creeps out 6 months later with little or no fanfare and is missing a few special features.

Gone are the days when Disney ported everything over from previous DVD releases - now we're just getting the semi-skimmed version of releases and it's just not on. Shame on you Disney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of this movie, and in 3d is so different.
Even my husband has took the time to sit down and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb animation, 6 Jan 2005
Unbelievably good. Cutting edge animation (under water effects are incredible) without loosing site of the need for sympathetic characters and a coherent (if highly zany) story line. Great for kids and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 Jun 2004
This film is a must for all ages. Its mindblowing animation is impressive enough . But the story of "Finding Nemo" is also impressive. The veiwer is treated to a colourful spectacle as we enter Nemos under water world on the adventure of a life time. I as a more mature viewer still found the inner child in me and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this masterpiece. I recommend it for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film i,ve seen in 2004 so far., 20 May 2004
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
A"Finding Nemo" may be at first glance a colourful ode of a fathers slightly overprotective love for his son but look ,ahem..deeper and it's a road movie mixed with a prison drama with a touch of mild horror thrown in. After all things are constantly trying to eat half the cast and Nemo is in ultimate danger of being shaken to death by a dentally challenged brat.
The film also extols the value of teamwork ("All swim down together") of letting your children discover and learn things for themselves and learning from them in order to take a few chances yourself. Ultimately it says more about relationships than any other film I've seen this year so far.
The characters are terrific, from the sharks trying to abstain from eating fish-"Fish are friends too"- ,to the hippyish turtles to the seagulls who's only dialogue is a constant cry of "Mine, mine". It's not as witty as "Shreck" and lacks a real villain in the class of "Hopper" from "A Bugs Life" but it is amusing more often than not and at times its genuinely tense and exciting. The animation is breathtaking as we've come to expect from Pixar.
As with many films ostensibly aimed at kids its actually more rewarding viewing for adults (Both my kids were bored after half an hour) Great fun and the happy ending that I would balk at in an adult film is just right. If it can cure the cynic in me then it can do it for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story about love, friendship and parenthood, 27 Mar 2004
Finding Nemo is a great story about a little clown fish and his father, who desperately tries to protect his son from the world outside. It's a message to all parents that at some point in their lives they just have to trust their children and let them go, because they won't be able to protect them forever. It's also about love between a father and a son and about friendship (between Merlin - the father and Dory - a fish he met). My favourite character was Dory, because she is funny (and not aware of it), she's a good friend and takes her life the way it is. She helps Merlin to become a different "fish", she helps him to see the world through different glasses. To hear her speak whale (language) is enough to make you laugh for at least 10 minutes. You definitely have to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odeon inside information...ha! Now I have you hooked!, 8 Jan 2004
I work in a cinema four nights a week and I had the duty of watching 'Finding Nemo' five times in a row...I jest not! Twice is usually enough to kill a film and make all the clever little jokes seem cheesy. This film however, had me in stitches the whole way through and unlike most films there's no flat points or times when you get fidgety and want the film to move on.
Dory has a fantastic characterisation with the vocals and expressions seemingly one and the same - amazingly interesting and funny character - her short-term memory lasting less than ten seconds, frustrating in a ditzy way. If I wasn't 19 I'd say Dory's a real actress, but that'd be daft. Marlin balances out the film excellently with his touching parental love and overprotectiveness for Nemo, the clownfish with the gippy fin. The Sharks Annoymous meetings where the sharks' battle not to fall off the carnivorous wagon is a witty take on addict groups. The sufer-dude turtles just make you want to giggle instead of cringing at what could have been a pathetic parody of surf-culture. Also Gill, the POW of the aquarium stages his escape plans with a blend of humour and a war veteran's hundred-yard-stare.
In short Disney Pixar does it again, in that they create a brilliant film for kids (a little octopus inking itself when scared :)) and amusing jokes for the adults that lets the film bridge childish innocence and student cult status!
Oh yeah....the graphics completely rock my world - such pretty, pretty colours....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fishy fun for all!!!, 13 Jan 2004
By A Customer
The premise of Finding Nemo is, like many good stories, quite simple: an over-protective, worrying father searching for his prodigal son. In this case, the father happens to be a fish, a clown fish to be precise. As voiced by Albert Brooks, Marlin the clown fish is both a sad and sympathetic figure.
When his son, Nemo, is snatched by a scuba diver, Marlin ventures off into the great unknown to rescue him. Along the way he is joined by a blue tang named Dory. While trying to be helpful, Dory is seriously impeded by her lack of short term memory (we’re talking Memento for the under 10s here).
Together, this unlikely duo brave the perils of the open sea, including sharks, whales and jellyfish. On the verge of despair, Marlin and Dory are picked up by some sea turtles led by Crush, the quintessential surf dude, who points them in the right direction. Through these adventures, Marlin learns a parent’s hardest lesson: how to let go of your kids and let them grow up.
Finding Nemo has a great deal of heart and is told with much humour. Thankfully, the filmmakers show some respect for their audience, both kids and adults, treating us with a measure of intelligence rarely found in Hollywood ‘family’ fare. All of which makes for a very satisfying movie. This is one you’ll watch again and again. Years from now, you’ll put it on for the grandkids and still realize how good it is; a timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fish Story, 1 Nov 2005
What a delightful film, something for the adults and the children. The colours and humour are great, well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Finding Nemo [DVD]
Finding Nemo [DVD] by Lee Unkrich (DVD - 2013)
8.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews