Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 more Corsair Productions...
Both films have very good picture quality and clear sound. Both were made at Viking film studios in Kensington. These are very entertaining and have many familiar faces for those who enjoy watching British films of the 1950s. We are very fortunate to have these as film productions like this would not be shown on television these days. Sit back with a cuppa and watch these...
Published 16 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the best of British.
All right if you are looking for a little light entertainment, but neither film exactly taxes the imagination beyond that. Some of the scenes can be quite crass, as for example in "Meet Mr. Malcolm" when what we are supposed to accept as an intelligent young woman (Mrs. Knowles), working as assistant to the vanished Mr. Durant, has difficulty putting a name to a musical...
Published 15 months ago by Wilberfalse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 more Corsair Productions..., 14 July 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Both films have very good picture quality and clear sound. Both were made at Viking film studios in Kensington. These are very entertaining and have many familiar faces for those who enjoy watching British films of the 1950s. We are very fortunate to have these as film productions like this would not be shown on television these days. Sit back with a cuppa and watch these 2 films and you will be taken back to the days when a double bill might have included these films. Look out for lovely Greta Gynt playing herself in I'm a Stranger and investigating along with James Hayter...magic on screen.
Pricewise great value...buy both volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the best of British., 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
All right if you are looking for a little light entertainment, but neither film exactly taxes the imagination beyond that. Some of the scenes can be quite crass, as for example in "Meet Mr. Malcolm" when what we are supposed to accept as an intelligent young woman (Mrs. Knowles), working as assistant to the vanished Mr. Durant, has difficulty putting a name to a musical box. The "love" scenes between this lady and her estranged husband are likewise of music hall standard and difficult to take seriously.

In "I'm a Stranger" it is interesting and amusing to see James Hayter in his pre-balding days playing a jovial amateur sleuth.

Not the "best" of British in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Profuse Apologies!!!, 3 Sep 2013
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am doing what I hate to see others do. IE Write about a DVD I haven't seen. However I thought I should just say that ODEON released "I'm A Stranger" on a "BEST OF BRITISH" DVD coupled with "Barbados Quest" with Tom Conway in 2010. Perhaps I should have put this under "discussions"Please ignore the stars and understand why I felt it right to note the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really drab and pointless, 27 Feb 2014
If this is the Best of British B Movies I would hate to see the mediocre ones. There's nothing to recommend here - the acting is especially lifeless. Don't bother. Why were these films revived in the first place?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good movies to watch, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the old British movies then you won't be disappointed. Quality of the films are good and the fashions are always interesting to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Forget B Try For C Films Instead, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Paul Barrett (PENARTH, VALE OF GLAMORGAN, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Packaging, pricing and quality of film and sound all excellent. Shame about the movies. Just too boring with lack of budget and aspiration defeating any possibility of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of British B Movies - The Corsair Collection: Volume 2 [DVD]
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews