Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great screen for PC use
This TV gets five stars for two main reasons:

Price (£180, at time of purchase, is a bargain!)
PC performance when set-up correctly

A few hours in I was really disappointed with the way the screen displayed text (A bit blurry even after using the picture wizard which made it pretty much unreadable). It took me a while to figure out that the...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. C. Pearce

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full HD screen but no Freeview HD tuner!
I bought this model on the back of some good reviews and an excellent price but clearly made a schoolboy error; although it has a full HD screen it does NOT have a Freeview HD tuner, only standard Freeview. Therefore if you are receiving your signal via a conventional aerial you will not be able to access full HD content without a separate Freeview HD box.

I...
Published 16 months ago by Larry N


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great screen for PC use, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This TV gets five stars for two main reasons:

Price (£180, at time of purchase, is a bargain!)
PC performance when set-up correctly

A few hours in I was really disappointed with the way the screen displayed text (A bit blurry even after using the picture wizard which made it pretty much unreadable). It took me a while to figure out that the Input Labels (see below) completely change the settings to suit the description of the label itself.

For anyone setting up this screen as a pc monitor and are struggling getting text to look readable try the below:

Press 'Settings' then choose 'Input'.
Highlight the HDMI input you are using for your pc and press the red button (Input Label).
Use the arrow keys to select 'PC' and press ok and exit out of the menu.
Press Q.Menu then scroll to 'Picture Mode'.
Select 'Cinema'.

You should now have a decent screen set-up AND readable text.

Overall really pleased with the purchase :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 32 inch lg tv, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
great tv and as this is my fourth lg tv and i cant find any fault with any of them i wouldnt buy any other make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LG 32inch TV, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This was a replacement for my mum's tv, it is excellent value for money, superb picture and sound quality highly delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tele, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Wanted a tele for the bedroom. Having spent time reading reviews I decided to go for the LG. Having received it within a couple of days the set up was quick and simple; a couple of button presses and its all done automatically. The picture quality is great with a good sound to it. If it lasts i'll be very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound and picture. Awsome for the money., 30 Oct. 2013
By 
P. D. Rogers "South Shields" (South Shields,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have bought this TV for our 11 year old sons bedroom as we made the mistake of setting up his Xbox on the 'big telly' in the sitting room earlier on this year. We have now almost lost control of the sitting room as it is now become his gaming room! Action needed to be taken.
I wanted a TV with decent sound, as most flat screen TV's nowdays are very pretty, very slim and have a lovely picture but the sound they produce is dire to say the least. After many hours of trawling through the various sites and reading reviews on many brands, this was the only TV that stood out as having decent sound reprodution. Although not the slimmest, this set has two 'large' down facing speakers that produce a great full sound with decent bass with tremendous volume available to. Unlike alot of these ultra thin monitors with tiny tinny speakers behind the screen or at the back of the TV. The picture quality is superb and the contrast looks very good for an LED TV. The remote control seems easy to operate and of good quality, easy to understand controls and sensible onscreen display. Power consumption is quoted as only 41w when on. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insane value but needs calibration!, 19 May 2014
By 
Conor Mc Guinness (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Got this about 3 months ago as a bedroom TV. Great true 1080p picture but does need calibration as it suffers from the same primary colour exaggeration (red/green/blue) that most brands are now implementing as default. VERY annoying! I found they can be switched back to normal by changing the colour gamut setting in Expert-ISF picture mode to BT709. Well worth doing to make the picture less 'cartoon'.

Some reviews say sound quality is poor but that's nonsense. For the price I paid (less than £200) from Amazon Warehouse, the sound quality is superb. VERY loud and VERY clear for all but very low bass. Can even turn off the screen and just use it as a stereo if you want.

Overall, just buy it and stop reading reviews. Definitely can't get better in this price range!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and features for the money, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this TV mainly for watching blu-rays and playing games on my Playstation 3 and it didn't disappoint. The screen is bright and clear with no dead pixels or colour anomalies in the picture. I haven't had cause to try the sound as I use a seperate sound system. The number of connections was about what I'd expect for this price range and to be honest I don't tend to see more in more expensive models. The system does have an option to adjust the picture settings depending on whether you are playing a game or watching a film. This may be just a gimmick but since I use both types of media I do find myself using it anyway. One criticism I would have is the power cable was a bit short. It would be ok for people that have the tv sat right over the power socket but I have to place my extension lead so a number of different devices can reach it and such a short power cable made this unnesesarily difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great price, Sound and Picture are fantastic, easy to assemble the stand, and easy to set up, don't use Free view so can't comment on that.
Had it in my Wishlist for a week, it dropped £17 and that's when i bought it, as soon as i did the price went back up. I like that Amazon cares for it's customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entry level option, 28 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The good points:

+ easy to set up
+ good clear picture, nice colours
+ styling doesn't look dated
+ small remote
+ can sometimes be bought in Amazon for £179
+ the USB port enables you to use a portable hard drive with the tv

Bad ones:

- when viewed from an acute angle, the picture is hard to watch
- the button controls are very difficult to use. Especially in conjunction with the options menus
- the options menus are non-intuitive to use
- only one USB port. Two would have been perfect
- no audio out sockets apart from digital. I wanted to link it up with my stereo. This is my biggest beef.

Overall, I was very pleased when I bought this eight months ago, and I don't regret buying it at the reduced price. I made it 'smarter' by getting myself an ezcast (or chromecast device - there are a lot of good options or there) for under 25 quid.

LG are a big brand who make screens for high end manufacturers - the picture is great, and the sound is good enough, although not as good as what I'm used to.

Edit 04-10-14: I have started using a 1Byone Wireless HDMI WiFi Dongle iShare Videos Images Docs Live Camera Musics from All Smart Devices to TV, Monitor or Projector visa the USB port, which has given the TV 'smart' capabilities at a very small price. Very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent picture, Booming sound - Read the Full Review for more., 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG 32LN5400 32-inch Widescreen 1080p Full HD LED TV with Freeview, Intelligent Sensor and HDMI Connectivity (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Thought to write this review as i have seen few people complaining about sound quality etc.

This the best piece of LED Full HD your money can buy. Trust me when I say it as I regularly handle a lot of TVs at work and we prefer this model because:
1) Light weight
2) Smaller bezel, only half inch around the screen

3) Brilliant picture quality:
For that price, you are basically getting a very high quality screen, beautiful colour tones, backlight adjustments and even Full HD 1080p resolution. You cannot complain anything about it unless your expectations are not real.

4) Smart Picture settings, fully customisable
5) SOUND: More than sufficient for anyone who doesn't want to break the glass window and party hard. For goodness sake, it is a television and not a DJ dock. We can clearly here the TV even when we are outside the office.
Usually volume:15-30 in enough for higher age groups
Volume: 30-60 for rest of the viewers.
Volume: 60-100 > Unless you have serious disability, You are nuts are you gotta be kidding me if you need that high volume.

6) Easy to install freeview antennas.
7) HDMI ports makes life easier
8) USB ports gives you extra freedom
9) Stands are easy to install and quite strong, you can also wall mount if you want
10) Lots of cool surprises in the Q-Menu and Settings. Best TV I ever bought for personal use, 32" is quite big for normal households. Don't know what the fuss is all about the 50" ones !!

Overall: Great Value of money, awesome picture ans sound quality.
Paid only £199 which is a freaking good deal.. so Thanks Amazon UK :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews