Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book
I read Dave Trott's first book, 'Creative Mischief', and thought it was excellent. 'Predatory Thinking' is even better. Can't get enough of his writing and storytelling. Difficult to put this book into a genre. Part human psychology, part business thinking, part creative industries know-how. I think this book would appeal to a broad range of people... Dave's writing kind...
Published 10 months ago by C. Harrison

versus
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read before you buy
This has been well reviewed by others, but I am at a loss to know why. It is no more than a list of pointless anecdotes.

It feels like being collared by an especially boorish retired executive at a bar some night and being browbeaten into listening to his "insights" into all that is wrong with the world

Who am I to say these will help nobody...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read before you buy, 1 July 2013
This review is from: Predatory Thinking (Kindle Edition)
This has been well reviewed by others, but I am at a loss to know why. It is no more than a list of pointless anecdotes.

It feels like being collared by an especially boorish retired executive at a bar some night and being browbeaten into listening to his "insights" into all that is wrong with the world

Who am I to say these will help nobody ? If they work for you then good. But before you buy, do make sure you randomly flick through and read one or two. If you like them they are consistent. If not..... they are consistent.It is an easy choice.

I was livid that I had bought a Kindle book online which I would never have bought in paper format in a bookshop. But fortunately Kindle's "quick return" policy means I was allowed to return it. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 15 July 2013
By 
Ramesh Bala "RBala" (Twickenham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predatory Thinking (Kindle Edition)
The book Predatory Thinking: A Masterclass in Out-Thinking the Competition is good in parts and has some valuable insights to how the advertising industry works, which can be used by the rest of us who dont work in advertising or creative industry in general. However the biggest issue I have with Dave is he makes a few lame remarks which expose his lack of research in some of the topics he dabbles in.

As an example in one part of the book he expresses his genuine admiration of some of the greatest minds - Hawkins, Winston, Dawkins etc. but does his credibility no favour by later in the book going on to say things such as there is no difference between logic and superstition - the very things people like Dawkins are vehemently against. He says things such as 'We've [those who rely on logic] just got different superstitions, thats all. Logic is our superstition'. Dave, if I admire somebody who is superstitious, I wouldn't like to compensate my position by trying to justify their superstitions. Rather I would overlook that aspect of theirs and focus on the other aspects that I genuinely admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Dave Trott's first book, 'Creative Mischief', and thought it was excellent. 'Predatory Thinking' is even better. Can't get enough of his writing and storytelling. Difficult to put this book into a genre. Part human psychology, part business thinking, part creative industries know-how. I think this book would appeal to a broad range of people... Dave's writing kind of wakes you up from the daily sleep-walk in life, business and creativity. And I think we all need a good shake every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, 2 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fabulous little book. Full of great anecdotal inspiration, humour and insight.

Unexpectedly, possibly one of the best business management books - ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book as it makes great points by telling good stories
One of my top 5 business books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Distilled wisdom from an advertising great - lots of useful point but presentation will not be to everyone's taste, 27 Jun 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predatory Thinking (Kindle Edition)
Dave Trott has - like many advertising executives before him - also taken a stab at passing on some of the acquired wisdom from his years in the industry to the wider audience, be it with the primary purpose to educate, or to raise enthusiasm for the field and his ventures in it.

Similar again to some, the focus lies on presenting a multitude of short stories from his life (with some literary references used, too), with which he tries to illustrate the points being made. While many of the points are faultless from a general business perspective (in the sense that the advice is likely to work) the presentation will be very much a matter of personal taste. At times the author comes across as rather brash (which may or may not work with various groups of readers) but more importantly, the whole book reads like a collection of almost bullet-pointed sentences, which in my opinion works much better in advertisements than books.

The second reason why I give it three stars is that this does not - again in my opinion - reach something like Ogilvy's Confessions of an Advertising Man in terms of quality of writing, or the presentation of the arguments (even though it is decades newer, I found few points that really struck me as novel, too - but would not detract stars from the book for that reason alone).

On the other hand, if you are looking for a concise guide on some 'predatory' style business thinking (with a focus on zero sum) and are more interested in war story type examples than a theoretical framework, all presented in a very short, easy to digest language, the book certainly has a lot to offer. And as said, much of the business advice is (as) sound (as it is common sense), so it is not all lost, even if you are not a fan of the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick read with some useful tips, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first I wasn't sure about this, but the more I read of it the more I changed my mind. It's not an in-depth tome. It doesn't delve deeply into the psychology of creativity and marketing. But as a speed-read, dip-in-and-out reference manual full of ideas for lively presentations, seeing things differently and getting the best out of people, it's a useful addition to any marketer's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSIGHTFUL, INTRIGUING AND ENTERTAINING, 23 May 2013
By 
R. Parry (Bahamas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This really is a must-read book.

Enjoy a great writer on top form.
Admire Dave Trott's crisp, terse and haiku like style.
Read stories that illustrate Dave's thesis.
Outthink the competition by being creative.
Learn about Stanley Pollitt's sheep.
Regale your friends with the paradox of The Ship of Theseus
Discover how plumbers and advertising executives build trust
By the end you might think the often overused terms "masterpiece" and "master-class" are appropriate.

This collection of short essays is a joy to read and as they say "really makes you think."

Mr Trott has enjoyed a glittering advertising career and this quality of this book helps explain why.

The anecdotal approach will not be to everyone's taste. And the clipped prose makes the book better for repeated short sessions rather than a sit down holistic read.

But the contents and the style are highly distinctive.

The way it is written makes it particularly well suited to the Kindle format as the short sentences and self-contained tales are easy to navigate.

It uses many different illustrative examples to drive home the message that creative thinking solves problems and creates value. Both the style and substance of the book combine to convince you that Dave Trott is right with his argument.

Once you have read this book you won't forget it. Nor its message.

Only downside it you might start trying to write in Dave's style.
Not easy. He does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, useful and applicable, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predatory Thinking (Kindle Edition)
What makes Trott's writing so good, is just how much it makes sense - it genuinely can be applied to life in spades. A great read in any walk of life, but in advertising, it should be a rite of passage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars creative and thought provoking, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Predatory Thinking (Kindle Edition)
I get the idea of predatory but prefer to think of this as a library of thought provoking anecdotes. I read it in a very enjoyable couple of hours, straight through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Predatory Thinking
Predatory Thinking by Dave Trott
4.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews