Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2013
another great book from the master bread maker there are lots of easy to understand recipes.I have tried several with great success,I would definitely recommend this book for a good selection of breads to make and enjoy I do not use wheat but spelt flour instead and the recipes are just as tasty.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Delighted with this book. I bought it after borrowing an earlier print of the same from the library. Pleased to see the updated version has amended some recipes, less yeast, salt etc, but still makes fantastic bread. My family are very impressed with the results!
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
As a keen amateur bread maker who can turn out a good hand crafted loaf this allows entry to the more complex world of specialists breads. I have to date only made some ,all successful and look forward to producing many more. Its a useful practical and concise paperback that s worth having to guide the more adventurous into greater things. That though should not intimidate the tyro. What does however is the authors suggestion you start with the most difficult. I can only agree with his comment that if you can do that then you can don the rest.That said I do not agree with that approach ,unless you are nearly a professional baker and and it could prevent the uninitiated progressing to some fine breads or even them frighten off. This is a small point on what is a good book for the home baker learning the craft.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Great book with recipes for simple loaves as well as a variety of cakes and pastries etc. Perfect for someone with little bread making experience or experts who just want new recipes to try out. A few reviews complain that not all recipes are "bread" but as a regualr baker I like the variety included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
The edition I have is from 2013, but it was first published in 2004.

I have tried the Ciabatta and the White Bread recipes.

Ciabatta: The ingredients include olive oil. The recipe omits it from the instructions. The amount of water stated produced a dough that turned into unworkable slop (and I didn't even use the full amount).

White Bread. The texture turned out well. Unfortunately the finished product was far too salty (and I religiously weighed out the ingredients).

What other errors does the book contain? I'm not going to find out. This book is going into the dustbin where it belongs.

There are far better books on bread making than this.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Very good lots of different breads to try, simply written instructions for a novice! have bought strong flour and yeast! ready to go!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Bought this as a present. Although she already has some of the recent Paul Hollywood bread books she says there are many new recipes in this book. Well worth the money although it is an old book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Easy book to follow and simple to understand.
Makes you feel like you are Mother earth and everyone loves the bread.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Some good recipes but because of the age of the book the yeast amounts can be confusing.He does not used dried yeast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Given as a Christmas present to someone who already bakes a lot. They very pleased with mix of recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)