Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read
An unusual and disturbing short story. A gifted sculptor creates a truly beautiful woman who is then brought to life by the goddesses. He wants to keep her all for himself to fulfil his wishes and needs but she then discovers she needs to be free of his control. He has her locked up in a hospital where he has convinced the doctors and nurses she is mad. I can't say...
Published 13 months ago by noteworthy

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SHORT STORY
I do not normally write reviews but feel short changed. This was a lesson to review properly before you buy as I did not realise it was a short story. As usual I read the first page thought it was interesting and bought it. It was an extremely short read and not worth 1.49.

The story itself is interesting and quirky but could have been expanded on very...
Published 13 months ago by lynne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 7 July 2013
By 
noteworthy (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
An unusual and disturbing short story. A gifted sculptor creates a truly beautiful woman who is then brought to life by the goddesses. He wants to keep her all for himself to fulfil his wishes and needs but she then discovers she needs to be free of his control. He has her locked up in a hospital where he has convinced the doctors and nurses she is mad. I can't say any more as this is a short story and if I do you will not need to read it for yourself, which I strongly recommend you do. There is a strong analogy here to modern day control and abuse and domination over women around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SHORT STORY, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
I do not normally write reviews but feel short changed. This was a lesson to review properly before you buy as I did not realise it was a short story. As usual I read the first page thought it was interesting and bought it. It was an extremely short read and not worth 1.49.

The story itself is interesting and quirky but could have been expanded on very easily. I felt it was over before I had started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
Miller is a great creator of characters with problematic identities. Like Achilles in her previous story, Galatea is not entirely human but her thoghts and actions are human enough to make her a believable and memorable character. Like the last time, Miller's interpretation of an old myth gives it a new layer of feelings and highlights many issues of today's world. Her skillful intertexutality proves that ancient stories are universal even thousands years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Something and nothing, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
This was disappointing after reading Song of Achilles. It was short but not sweet - like a story you would find in a magazine really. I would not recommend it to anyone who wants a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect Achilles..., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
I'm a fan of Miller, but I suspect her hard core fans may be miffed by this one, which is much more a feminist book than one that relights ancient myths in a pleasurable prose like her first book.

The woman of stone who comes alive resonates in our age where we have a woman who has become a living barbie doll and pop stars who present themselves as perfection of available sexual objects.

But so much of ancient myths do have strong women and roles that challenge our christian morals. A well written short that hopefully will lead readers to her other work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative short story, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
Galatea is the statue brought to life in the story of Pygmalion - as can probably be guessed from Miller's use of that title rather than the better known name, this short story views the myth from the statue's point of view. A lyrical, evocative look at sexual fantasy and obsession, it's slight - I read it in less than 10 minutes, if that - but Miller's gorgeous prose makes it worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
Not as good as her last book didn't keep my attention hope she gives us a better book in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A treat carved from stone., 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
I loved this retelling of the myth of Galatea. Miller has given her a voice and grit to match the material of her origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it but too short, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
I really like the way this author writes and brings humanity to the Greek myths. But I didn't want it to end so suddenly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but not sweet, 6 Dec 2013
By 
J. Benson (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galatea (Kindle Edition)
Intriguing story. I hadn't realised it was a short story when I bought it (kindle) but as a short story it really delivers. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galatea
Galatea by Madeline Miller
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews