Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very happy daughter
great purchase for my 5 year old daughter who loves her books and trying to read independently. I only purchased a couple of the reading books to go with it but they work very well. I think I was unclear to what it actually was though and didn't realise it was just a talking pen! however, saying that much better than carrying around a tablet device and I like the fact...
Published 2 months ago by Kelstar79

versus
17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misguided?
The technology behind this pen-based reading system is quite cool: a barely-visible pattern of varying dots overlaid on each page of the books allows the pen to know which page you are touching and where on the page. This triggers various audio outputs from the pen, depending on what mode you are in (read the page out loud, say a word, sound out a letter, answer a...
Published 7 months ago by Tim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Does everything it says on the box, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
This is working for both my 2 year old grandson and 4 year old granddaughter.
Excellent and would recommend to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Bought as a Christmas present for my Daughter, she loves it and has asked for more books for her birthday. The books are expensive but worth it to see the enjoyment she is getting and how much she is taking in, in such a short space of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
A perfect product for a 6 year old who loves books. It has been in constant use since it has been opened. Would recommend to download the books before wrapping them all up as she wanted to access it all straight away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LeapFrog Leapreader, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Bought this for our 4 year old grandaughter for christmas present. She loves it and wants to learn all the time. Would certainly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great educational but fun toy, 24 July 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
We brought this for our 4 yr old who loves it. Have never had a bad result with Leapfrog products. Only disappointment is no storage case for the pen and books. Having to purchase a bag to put them all in when we are on our travels. Can't wait for the app centre to open. Also there could be more information on the web and with the product about what books it works with as in aware it has backward technology and should work on other leapfrog books?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misguided?, 30 Aug 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The technology behind this pen-based reading system is quite cool: a barely-visible pattern of varying dots overlaid on each page of the books allows the pen to know which page you are touching and where on the page. This triggers various audio outputs from the pen, depending on what mode you are in (read the page out loud, say a word, sound out a letter, answer a comprehension question, etc.).

I think this system may struggle to compete with tablet computers in coming years, as it doesn't really do anything that couldn't be done on a tablet; the main selling points at present seem to be the deals they've struck with well-known publishers (e.g. Disney) for content, and the fact that it uses traditional paper. The latter is not necessarily an advantage, especially as you still need to own a computer to get this system working, and you need to keep the battery recharged.

My main concern, however, relates to the educational value, or otherwise, of this system. If this system were marketed as a fun toy, then fair enough. But no, this system claims to "bring books alive" and to "help your child learn to read".

On the first point, it certainly adds some rather brash, American narration to books, but does it "bring them alive"? There is already a time-tested way of bringing books alive: the power of imagination. My fear is that this system in fact stifles the imagination, rather than fostering it, by imposing one particular set of images and sounds on a storyline, rather than allowing the child to come up with his or her own mental pictures and soundscape. The choice of books does not help here: gaudy Disney cartoons seem to make up the majority of the selection; these are much stronger on visual impact than they are on textual interest.

On the second point, anything that encourages a child to look at words is, at some level, going to support learning to read. But how much better if parents would sit down and read to their children, rather than outsourcing this vital role to an electronic toy.

I work in technology development and am no Luddite. But I can't help feeling this LeapReader system does something of a disservice to the cause of literature and reading. I fear we are breeding a generation of children who need constant multimedia, multi-sensory stimulation in order to be able to focus on anything; this LeapReader system only contributes to this problem.

I should say that my two young children have enjoyed this product (although they seem to tire of it fairly quickly), but a simple set of alphabet fridge magnets plus some parental input has done vastly more to improve their reading than this product has.

Rant over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining and educational for a 4 year old!, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Shaz25 "shaz" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this for my daughter who is 4 years and a few months old, and she loved it!

I plugged the LeapReader into my PC via the supplied cable to charge the pen (it has built in batteries, so no need to buy lots). I used this time to also install the software for the pen and download the free material.

The book supplied with the pen is a nice taster for what it can do; it has pages from across the LeapReader range - but I would have also liked to have seen a full book come with the reader itself at this price.

In terms of what the pen can do - I was amazed! Not only does it read the text within the stories/books, you can place the pen over different characters and the pen actually recognises where you have placed it. Eg, you might be reading the book on the solar system, place the pen on the planet Earth, and it will say "Earth; the planet we live on".

You do need to install the appropriate software for each book onto the pen; I am not sure how many at a time you can store total on the pen, and this does also mean that if you don't have access to a PC/Laptop, then you won't be able to use this pen.

I am still amazed at how the pen can recognise different parts of the page and different pictures and icons. It uses this to great effect in games and making each page multifunctional. I'll give the example of the Solar System book again; each page has different icons which you can "tap" on to change the function of the page. One might activate a game (eg, which planet is Mars?) or educational feature (Eg, you "tap" on a planet, and the pen will read out facts about that planet). It allows children to both learn and also test themselves on what they have learnt using fun games.

It also encourages my daughter to try and read words - one function of the pen allows the child to slowly scan words so they can learn to sound the words out and read them for themselves. My daughter's reading has come on in leaps and bounds now, she can try to sound out words such as "Best", "Skip" and even read the word "Drink" without any help, which she wasn't confident in doing before we got this pen.

I found that any USB charger can be used to charge the pen, simply use the cable supplied. The LeapReader branded AC adapter isn't too expensive if you don't and might be a good idea if you need to charge the pen away from home.

Aside from my issue of not having a full book included in the package, I absolutely love this pen, and more importantly, so does my little princess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost magically clever, and it works well too, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was genuinely sceptical about this system until I tried it, as I'd never tried this kind of reading system. The actual reading pen is a marvel. It's easy enough for a child to hold and use, but it's incredibly accurate at spotting which point on the page is being touched, down to the millimetre, so a child can touch a word and it will say that exact word, every time. Technologically, it's really, really impressive.

The Learning Paper takes it a step further. The Reader doubles as a pencil which will write onto the special paper, and somehow the pen manages to track where it's up to and say the right thing depending on whether you've drawn a letter accurately or done it completely wrong. And, even better, it always says positive encouraging things, and isn't too irritating- which, with kids materials, is always a bonus.

Other full marks include the fact that the LeapFrog software is OK- I've seen a lot worse- and the device will charge via USB so you don't need to worry about batteries. It's also pretty durable, as far as I've been willing to test it, which is quite far- it survives banging on the table.

Our daughter's already quite interested in reading but it still provided her with an extra layer of fun, and I can imagine that for kids who are more interested in playing with games or smartphones than books, this extra 'gadgetising' of books will make reading and writing a bit more appealing.

It's a slight shame that this package doesn't actually come with any proper books. It comes with a sampler book, which contains 2 pages from each of some of the major titles you can buy ("Cars", "Cinderella", "Brave", etc.), but each one is taken from somewhere in the middle of that story and it's not a proper storybook in its own right- you'll need to buy those separately. They're available on Amazon, at prices which are higher than normal books but not ridiculously excessive. I think it would've been nicer if Leapfrog had included at least one proper book bundled with the reader itself (you do get some audiobooks, but you don't get to choose them). I also was a little bit irritated by the packaging, which seemed deliberately designed to make the sampler book look a lot bigger than it actually is. However those minor marketing criticisms aside, I can't mark it less than 5, because not only is this an impressive little gadget, but our daughter genuinely enjoys it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good toy, 17 Oct 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The item is a sort of electronic pen with built in speakers and buttons. You can use it to follow words on the books (you have to buy the proper ones), you can also use it to listen to stories. It needs to be charged via USB before use, but this was simple to do. You also have to install the software onto the computer before you can download anything to the leapreader. In terms of using it, I was about to go and show my daughter (just turned 5) how to use it, when I found her happily listening to a story on it. She had navigated the buttons and found exactly what she wanted, so it must be easy to use! There is no display on the pen, but this is not a problem. Overall my daughter really likes the item and I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LeapFrog Leapreader for preschool and beyond, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Easterchick (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog LeapReader Reading and Writing System (Pink) (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We had one of the old-style LeapFrog Tags for my eldest daughter which was great in her preschool year and until she started on the reading scheme at school. Was delighted to try the new LeapReader and see how LeapFrog had updated it. Firstly, it feels more robust than its predecessor - and has already survived being dropped a few times onto the wooden floors in the living room. We liked the magic paper at the back of the book - although felt more could have been included within this particular pack. Clearly they want you to buy more, but it felt a bit pointless to have just one page.

Otherwise in terms of functionality it is more or less the same as the old Tag; you need to buy a book, download the software onto the pen (although you can store more books on this unit than the old one) but it does pretty much all the same things. Felt it was slightly out of sync with how children learn at school when my daughter was pressing individual letters and it says the letter name and not the letter sound, but other than that was very pleased with it and she certainly seems to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab9e366c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews