Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ready steady write
If you purchase this please be aware that you will also have to own or have use of an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad to use this as you have to download the appropriate app to use it.
When my Great niece tried this toy she was more than happy with it and unlike other reviewers opinions her little hand managed to hold the stylus 'properly' (or at least near enough) though...
Published 7 months ago by Tone1428

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some positive aspects but a major failing in that it teaches poor grip
Bit disappointed with this. We like LeapFrog products usually in this household, but this has a major flaw. When you open the box the first thing you note is the massive amount of packaging! Really silly in this day and age - I guess they want it to stand out on the shelves? Next up - you need an iPad for this product. Not sure why it hasn't been designed to work with...
Published 7 months ago by n7misc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some positive aspects but a major failing in that it teaches poor grip, 17 Sep 2013
By 
n7misc (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bit disappointed with this. We like LeapFrog products usually in this household, but this has a major flaw. When you open the box the first thing you note is the massive amount of packaging! Really silly in this day and age - I guess they want it to stand out on the shelves? Next up - you need an iPad for this product. Not sure why it hasn't been designed to work with Android too? Anyway, let's assume you have an iPad... the app is actually rather good - some fun exercises and plenty to occupy a young mind without it feeling like work. The major fault for me with this product is that the pencil is too fat - I guess they wanted it to look cute - but our little one has the ability to hold a regular pencil and knows how to hold it correctly - this forced her to grip Mr Pencil in her fist - with all of her fingers curled around it - so we pretty quickly 'lost' the toy - don't want her to get into bad habits...

It's a really nice idea and she loves being able to do this sort of thing more or less independently, but unfortunately the design is focused on form over function and fails the basic 'fit for purpose' test... shame but I couldn't recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ready steady write, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Tone1428 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you purchase this please be aware that you will also have to own or have use of an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad to use this as you have to download the appropriate app to use it.
When my Great niece tried this toy she was more than happy with it and unlike other reviewers opinions her little hand managed to hold the stylus 'properly' (or at least near enough) though I have to agree that it is a little on the chunky side.
This little learning app teaches writing, shapes and numbers with the use of animations.
This is a very, very modern teaching toy and a pretty good one too, I haven't given it a 5 star review as in my opinion, as it is only available to I pad owners, though I have an idea that in due course it will an app for other tablets too.
Is it worth the money? yes of course! it is a little bargain at 14.99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Add One iPad, 11 Sep 2013
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are easier ways to go about buying an App for your iPad, but if you insist on making things hard for yourself you can always try the `LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy'. `Mr Pencil' comes all heavily packaged up, but not ready to go. Before embarking on an adventure in number and letter writing, you must first download the App (code included) and access it with Mr Pencil's secret powers. Bearing in mind that this is a toy that people may buy children, you have to be well aware of the multimedia situation in the child's house, has mummy or daddy got an iPad?

If they do have one of Apple's money printing machines, they are in luck as the Mr Pencil App is good fun and has a decent amount going on. Many of the tasks involve tracing around the outline of a letter or number to help a 3-6 year old better learn them. We did find that the pencil itself was a little chunky. For youngsters just getting their heads around the concept of letter it is not a bad thing, but for those children you are trying to get used to handling a real pen or pencil, it does not really help with their grip.

The `Mr Pencil' pencil itself is well made and looks great. Just distracting enough so that a child does not know they are embarking on an educative exercise. The main issue for me is that it is basically a packaged App code. `Mr Pencil' himself may be cheap; his App is free in the purchase, but an iPad will set you back several hundred pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Appealing to children but teaches bad habits, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I received this free through the Amazon Vine reviewer programme.

I'm not at all impressed with this iPad/iPhone/iPod touch add-on set by Leapfrog.

The idea itself is quite nice: an add-on set incorporating a chunky, easy-to-use stylus, with a significant number of activities designed to help children learn to form letters properly. It's exciting for little ones to use, and the character of Mr Pencil ties in to other items in the Leapfrog range.

However, the potential teaching aspects to this are undermined by the chunky design of the stylus itself. Mr Pencil is far too wide to be held by children of the target age range (3-6) in a tripod grip, and instead is only useable in a sort of fist clutch more appropriate to the very earliest stages of mark-making. This works just fine on a tablet, but the net result is the perpetuation of a habit that will need to be unlearned in order for children to gain proper control, speed and strength where pencil marks are concerned.

It's so much better to learn good habits from the word 'go' instead of having to unlearn an unwieldy clutch. The concept is entertaining. But it's NOT good teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Lindsay Ritchie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter knows Mr Pencil from a Leapster game. Mr Pencil Saves Doodleberg. She was very excited about actually having Mr Pencil. I was sceptical about the pencil itself being any use with my iPad. However I have been pleasantly surprised. Possibly a little bulky to hold but not overly. After downloading the app the pencil unlocks activities and the fun begins. Lots of ways to practice writing and grip control. Loads of fun around the town decorating for the party. Very impressed overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent learning toy, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Great learning toy, especially as the app is for the iPad. My Son is only 2 and loves using it. Would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
We bought this for our 2year old as something to get him interested in writing. He likes it. Very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy., 13 Jan 2014
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
I never written a review before but really feel I need to warn people about this product.

My son has played with his iPad mini for over two years and has never mistreated it or damaged it in any way, yet amazingly within 5 minutes of using Mr Pencil the iPad screen is now broken.

Firstly the stylus is not very responsive and you are better off using your own fingers, You can actually download free apps very similar to this & save yourself money & annoyance.

Surprisingly the stylus has not got a soft tip which only I noticed after looking at the product closely, the other end of Mr Pencil is also not soft & you do need to use this end to unlock the full app which took serval attempts at doing.

The app it self is no better than the other free ones you can get. You are required to keep doing the letter, shape or number 3 times in a row if the stylus is being responsive but if it's not you have to keep repeating multiple times even when my son was doing it right. So it's very frustrating and no fun for a child.

At the end of the day my son loves his iPad mini but now because of Mr Pencil he can't use it, I have now got to get it's repaired at a great and unnecessary expense.

When comes to teaching him writing I am going to keep to the old fashion of a paper & pencil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uncertain, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
Bought this for 2 year old grandchild, at mothers recommendation, but, she wasn't very interested in it, despite using many other gadgets constantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Ok, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LeapFrog Learn to Write with Mr. Pencil Learning Toy (Toy)
The reason I say its ok is due to it being unresponsive intermittently. The 5 yr old have to press really hard for it to respond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a4e240)

This product

Only search this product's reviews