Customer Reviews


565 Reviews
5 star:
 (420)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and compact 2TB external hard drive
The hard drive is nice and compact for taking it wherever you need to. I'm not going to write about how fast this drive is to the nano second, just know its much faster than USB2, which is good. I only have 1 warning for people who want to use it how I intended to use it, which was to have ALL my media (films, pictures, music, etc) on one drive, then plug it into my LG...
Published 15 months ago by S G

versus
92 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall as good as previous WD elements
The drive works well so far (less than a week's use).
However I note previous reviewer mentioned that the transfer rate was below par averaging on 40-45mb/s.

I found the same with mine, this is well below USB3 specs. By chance I decided to swap the USB3 cable from my old 1TB WD element drive and the speed shot up to 80 - 90Mb/s.

Furthermore when...
Published 16 months ago by James Bonn


‹ Previous | 1 2 357 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
Just what I needed. Performs excellently. Can recommend to anyone. Would buy again. It is great. No fault with it XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Samsung TV, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just encase your searching through the reviews like I was as to weather it works in the TV o.k. I can confirm that it works exactly the same as my 500MB Buffalo. Absolutely no hesitation whatsoever on my 50" Samsung 3D TV from 2007. Hope this helps some people decide because there are not many 2TB Hard Drives powered by USB out there as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out if you want it for ps3., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a heads up. Got this new version having previously had the older 500g version before. Very happy with my old wd portable drive. when I got this new version I was initially impressed by its compact size. However after spending an age copying all my media attached it to my ps3 and the drive did not show up. Then tried it with my humax digibox and again did not show up. Had initially formatted to fat 32 so reformatted again as thought may have been corrupted. Put media on again and same thing happened. Drive did not show when connected to ps3 (old 80g ps3) or the humax.

After googling tried connecting with a mains powered usb hub and low and behold drive shows up. Drive works fine but sort of takes away from the portable aspect of the drive. The silly thing is the older version of this drive powers perfectly though the normal USB port on my ps3 and humax. This newer version maybe requires extra power (who knows) but quite annoyed with this aspect of it.

As I said just a heads up. If your are looking it to connect to a laptop or pc then it's fine. Otherwise I would beware as this drive may not work unless connected via a powered usb hub to your ps3 etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart looking and good value, 22 Aug 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a neat and well proportioned hard drive package that attaches to a windows based computer without problems. No software to manually load for my Windows 7 machine, simply plug and play. I purchased this as a backup drive for video files thus saving my computer from running out of memory. It took approximately 3 minutes to transfer a 4gb file using a USB 2 port, so not too bad in the speed stakes. Being capable of USB 3 also means that it is somewhat future proofed as well.
For a 500gb drive from a known manufacturer, this WD Elements drive seems pretty good value for money but please note that if you find the supplied cable too short, you cannot connect a standard USB 2 cable to it, you need a version 3 cable which are about £4.00.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast + smart + quite, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Bjorn Kohnen (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
I am always happy with Western Digitals HDD quality but this one surprised me. No additional power supply made this USB 3.0 device extreme small and super portable. Smaller (though slightly thicker) than my iPhone 5s. I am using it currently for my MacBook Air via USB 2.0 and I'm impressed with the speed already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfect on the Xbox One :), 5 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. N. D. Brett "Nelly" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks to yesterday's Xbox One update we can now use external hard drives to expand the storage space for games and apps. Originally I was looking at a 4TB Seagate but it worked out a bit too expensive and it uses an external power supply rather than getting power through the USB. Although this is only 2TB's I decided I can always buy a second one at a later date if I need to, also two of these drives work out £60 cheaper than the 4TB Seagate.

As for using this drive with the Xbox One it was so simple, plugged the cable into the Hard drive and the other end into one of the USB ports on the back of the Xbox One, go into the console settings and click on manage storage devices.

You'll see two drives show-up the one on the right is the external drive, as it's already formatted to NTFS the console will ask you to reformat it just click okay and the console will do the rest.

Next there'll be an option to rename it and an option to set it as your primary install device. As far as I know anything installed on the internal hard drive will be treated as seperate from the external drive so any DLC or updates will be stored on the same drive as the app or game.

Performance wise this drive is brilliant, runs really quite and there's even a slight improvement on loading times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too quick, but good value for money, 10 Sep 2014
Western Digital Elements 2.5'' is an external PC/Mac hard disk that comes in four different sizes ranging from 500 GB to 4TB of portable free space – I reviewed one of 1 TB capacity.

The drive provides USB 3.0 interface therefore offering speed and flexibility due to the fact there is no need for external power supply to work.

Speaking about its performance, the WD Elements drives are a bit slower compared to their competition in standard benchmarks, performing average read speed around 40 MB/S, while the highest transfer rate was around 80 MB/s when transferring larger files.

The only drawback is short warranty period of only 1 year which is usually period after which this kind of disks start having problems.

Unfortunately, compared to US where you get double capacity (0,5 vs. 1TB) for $9 difference and 1TB of space for $60, in UK I would not particularly recommend this size because difference is bigger.

Still, it presents good value for money and a purchase worth recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can reformat for MacOSX. Don't lose the cable., 31 Oct 2013
By 
A Cactus "Andy Cactus" (NW UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
1TB: Supplied NTFS formatted with a couple of auto run files for Windows (which I think is trial backup bloatware) but of course the drive easily reformatted for MacOS X which took about 12 seconds with Disk Utility (MacOSX extended journaled giving a usable space of 999.51 GB). Using as a TimeMachine disk for a 250GB SSD system drive so should hold a few years of history and space enough for some installers.

The drive is all hard black plastic with a matt finish apart from a glossy narrow top seam. Lacks high-friction feet to stop sliding about instead just four hard dimples moulded in to the lower case.

The cable is 45cm long (including connectors) and the connector for the drive end is the newer Micro B USB 3.0, a long flat shape with a notch to one side which. More common USB 2.0 cables will not fit so make sure you don't lose this one. I have a number of portable drives some of which travel with me and I always unplug the cable from the drive to prevent strain and breakage on the case socket in transit however this means the cable can easily be left behind which is a pain because of the micro B 3.0 socket means finding a substitute at your destination is less likely. You can buy them online.

In use visual: The white led next to the usb port is continuously on when idle and flashes during activity and also flashes when main system is sleeping. I always think this activity light would be better placed at the opposite end to where the cable connects or make it visible on the top surface but WD for years have always put it next to the socket, cheaper that way.

In use noise: In a quiet room sitting at desk distances the disc platter can be heard rotating as a constant soft white-noise, a bit like air flowing in a conduit, with the plastic case seeming to amplify it a bit, not a big issue but not as quiet and a different sound when compared to my collection of older WD versions. Thankfully I hear no noticeable clicking whilst read/writing at these distances but if you lift it and put it right next to your ear you can, sometimes a bit like a tiny geiger counter.

Blackmagic v2.2 benchmark App left on defaults measured symmetric read & write speeds of about 105 Mbytes/s and this was connected direct to USB3 on 2013 MacBook Air running Mavericks on battery power (see screenshot for all the numbers).

Weight without cable just over 150g

Reliability is the name of the game and only time will tell. So brand loyalty is what you end up going with. Personally I never had an issue with WD drives of all types but there is an element of luck and statistics. There will always be drives that fail either in the first few hours or after tens of thousands of hours (look up bathtub curve failure) and when it happens to you just at the wrong moment when you have no back up to your back up it is sickening enough to put you off a brand for life.
(updated for factual errors)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for TV recording, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Connected to my Panasonic W65 Smart TV, enables recording of current and future programmes. Plenty of capacity. and discrete.
So small for such a large capacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Budget Drive that won't break the bank, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this PC version drive for my Mac. The Mac version of the same drive is more expensive. A quick format using Mac disk utility software was all it took and I am up and running. The drive was formatted FAT (Ms-Dos) so can be read by my Sony Blu-Ray player.

The drive access / read time is noticably slower compare to my old smaller capacity WD drive of 350Gb to show up on the Sony BR player. Understandably due to the large capacity.

Small complain is the cheap and annoyingly bright white LED light when the drive is on. A quick masking tape solve the issue.

Price is good for a 2TB drive. Build quality is on par with drive of this price rage. I do like the plain black casing over the chequered finish of the other WD range of drive.

Unable to comment on its durability and reliability yet as only had it for 2 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 357 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews