Customer Reviews


343 Reviews
5 star:
 (253)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and compact 2TB external hard drive
The hard drive is nice and compact for taking it wherever you need to. I'm not going to write about how fast this drive is to the nano second, just know its much faster than USB2, which is good. I only have 1 warning for people who want to use it how I intended to use it, which was to have ALL my media (films, pictures, music, etc) on one drive, then plug it into my LG...
Published 10 months ago by S G

versus
72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall as good as previous WD elements
The drive works well so far (less than a week's use).
However I note previous reviewer mentioned that the transfer rate was below par averaging on 40-45mb/s.

I found the same with mine, this is well below USB3 specs. By chance I decided to swap the USB3 cable from my old 1TB WD element drive and the speed shot up to 80 - 90Mb/s.

Furthermore when...
Published 11 months ago by James Bonn


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall as good as previous WD elements, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The drive works well so far (less than a week's use).
However I note previous reviewer mentioned that the transfer rate was below par averaging on 40-45mb/s.

I found the same with mine, this is well below USB3 specs. By chance I decided to swap the USB3 cable from my old 1TB WD element drive and the speed shot up to 80 - 90Mb/s.

Furthermore when I used the old cable on an older WD element drive (the one I swapped the USB cable with) and plugged it into my new Samsung LED tv, it should just pick up the USB drive, but in this instance, Samsung although detected the drive but no playback was possible.

My conclusion - the cable is sub standard. Amazon should alert customers to this. I'm reluctant to send the drive back as it now has my data on board, I loath to get another cable on ebay which cost between £5 - £10.

So beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and compact 2TB external hard drive, 11 Sep 2013
The hard drive is nice and compact for taking it wherever you need to. I'm not going to write about how fast this drive is to the nano second, just know its much faster than USB2, which is good. I only have 1 warning for people who want to use it how I intended to use it, which was to have ALL my media (films, pictures, music, etc) on one drive, then plug it into my LG smart TV and have everything to hand through my TV. I found that a lot of the films were very jerky and un-watchable therefore to overcome this I had to split the drive into 2 smaller partitions of about 500GB and 1 large partition of about 1TB and all the films went back to being watchable. I assume this isn't the hard drives fault, its probably the TVs USB controller not being suitable for such a large drive, therefore the drive still gets 5 stars. Just to clarify, the jerky film thing was only when it was connected to my TV, when it was connected to the PC I didn't have any problems and didn't need to partition the drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on Samsung TV, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just encase your searching through the reviews like I was as to weather it works in the TV o.k. I can confirm that it works exactly the same as my 500MB Buffalo. Absolutely no hesitation whatsoever on my 50" Samsung 3D TV from 2007. Hope this helps some people decide because there are not many 2TB Hard Drives powered by USB out there as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WD Elements 2TB hard drive, 4 Nov 2013
I've been using WD drives for a long time, so had no reservations about buying this one. It's cheaper than the my passport as it doesn't have any back up software, this doesn't bother me as I never use it.

I bought this to use with my Samsung UE40ES5500 40inch HD TV as a PVR, as HD recordings take up a lot of memory. I wanted a recorder without mains power as my very very old My Book 500GB drive would not power up to record when I was away . I was concerned that a USB 3 device would be too powerful to work with the TV, so I tested my USB 3 My Passport first using the 5V 1A USB socket on the TV (recommended) and it works fine when TV is on or switched off.

The packaging is vey basic, brown cardboard box with drive, USB cable 2ft long, instructions. The LED light is very bright, but does go out when the drive powers down. Build quality is ok (plastic), but I wouldn't want to drop it (or any drive really!); and it has rubber feet on the base to stop it moving. The USB connection is tight to the drive which is good.

No issues, high capacity, cheap and reliable - everything I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, fast, don't sleep with it., 29 Aug 2013
The unit arrived in a nice cardboard packaging which i threw away immediately because there was no use to it, you're just getting a hard disk, nothing else.
Inside was just the hard disk, a cable, and an instruction booklet which you will most probably throw away because all you really have to do with this thing is just plug and play, it's just a hard disk. It has 3 images and some warranty blabber in all the world languages.

When you plug it in, it pops up as a hard disk, and that's it. I did have to reformat for Mac but that was no issue and i was expecting it anyway.
There was absolutely NO BLOATWARE, this really surprised me because i previously owned quite a few WD HDDs, so that is a good thing.
As it is USB3, it can get pretty fast. My 2011 Mac Mini with a USB2 port could do 20MB/s (which is somewhat fast for this type of machine) but my new 2013 Macbook Air could do 100MB/s easily. This is a good thing.
[...] (Benchmarks)

It's small, literally passport dimensions. Maybe like 6 or 7 passports on top of each other - 2cms high.
However the shell doesn't feel that sturdy, we'll see how well will it perform but i'll have to be cautious about it while on the road. Probably a case will come in handy later.

So far i noticed that the LED is always on, this is a bad thing. I am sure i will be able to switch it off but god damn is it annoying if you have it in the same room you sleep in. Also, it hums a little when it's active, but it powers down once your computer goes to sleep. Not the LED though, that thing goes into friggin flashing mode.

Bottom line, it's a USB3 hard disk, that's what it is. Nothing more, nothing less. And it will not let you sleep if you have it in your room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
Just what I needed. Performs excellently. Can recommend to anyone. Would buy again. It is great. No fault with it XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
Since i have been using WD for 4 years now bought this for my friend and he is a first time used ....loved the product.... well done WD well done AMAZON .....will recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as it should, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A hassle free affordable and fast HDD. The case is slightly thicker for 2TB version, but that's the case for all other manufacturers. Average transfer read speed is 90-100 MB/s in Windows. Has intelligent stand-by mode to stop it spinning when unused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars External HD, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
A 1st class piece of kit.....very compact, with single USB cable......does everything I required !!

Well recommended, & great value for money !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with Xbox One, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD Elements 1TB USB 3.0 High Capacity Portable Hard Drive for Windows (Accessory)
I bought this drive to add more storage space to the Xbox One.

In June there will be an update to xbox one to allow USB drives. I have the update now as a beta tester so bought this drive.

So far it works fine and loading times seem slightly faster than they are off the xbox internal drive.

This is a good drive to buy if you own an xbox one and want to expand the storage space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews