Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album
I haven't a lot to add to Gannon's excellent review here. This is a very good album by The National. Don't look for great surprises or radical shifts of direction - they carry on doing what they were already doing on High Violet and they do it very well - mournful, haunting and to me very beautiful songs, excellently sung and played in their distinctive style...
Published 21 months ago by Sid Nuncius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Trouble
Some good tracks, but not as good as High Violet, Boxer or Alligator. Still worth a listen with some good standout tracks.
Published 11 months ago by James Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album, 20 May 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
I haven't a lot to add to Gannon's excellent review here. This is a very good album by The National. Don't look for great surprises or radical shifts of direction - they carry on doing what they were already doing on High Violet and they do it very well - mournful, haunting and to me very beautiful songs, excellently sung and played in their distinctive style.

I'll spare you a lot of superfluous verbiage. It seems to me that the long and short of it is this: if you like The National's work so far then you'll love this. If you don't you won't. I most certainly do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better with every listen, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Marsh (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of The National and after their excellent last album, High Violet, I was very excited that they were releasing yet another album. I had been listening to 'Demons' on BBC R6 for several weeks before its release and had pre-ordered this cd (which I rarely do these days). It's a fantastic album, takes a while to grow on you but when it has bedded into your brain its quite addictive and you will want more.... Loving it so far and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who has enjoyed their previous albums or fancies something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixing Pretty, 20 May 2013
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
With each release by The National comes a certain weight of expectation that, with patience, what initially seems simple will give way to complex currents capable of engulfing you entirely. Now on their sixth LP of intelligent indie-rock, Trouble Will Find Me is no different in this regard, offering glorious reward in proportion to time invested once more.

Hats off to the Ohio-born, Brooklyn-based five-piece for not going stadium-sized too when it must occasionally be financially tempting to morph into U2 mode. Indeed, in places, the retiring Trouble Will Find Me is perhaps the opposite of what one might expect at this stage of their wonderful fourteen-year career. The stark power of teary stripped-back cuts such as "Slipped", for example, are just as striking as trademark moments of heavy-hearted rapture like "Graceless", during which Matt Berninger`s baritone stands firm against swooping torrents that race past with almost elemental inevitability.

The National are a precious band, one that already mean the world to some and with the lump-in-throat "I Need My Girl" they're only cementing this position. Its plucked strings fire off like welding sparks as, amidst a drizzle of ghostly harmonica, Berninger dictates the melody with tempo changes. And though this bittersweet anthem for the lovelorn has a straightforward message it delivers as massive and immovable a statement as erecting a granite monolith in driving rain.

That there's no seismic shift in direction is comforting, especially when one considers the large supporting cast which includes backing by the likes of St. Vincent, Sharon Van Etten and Nona Marie Invie of Dark Dark Dark. Sufjan Stevens also contributes drum machine to a number of tracks, notably to the confessional first single "Demons" - part of a flawless opening five tracks during which the subtle epic "I Should Live In Salt" comes alive with the introduction of a low-end swell and the effortless beauty of "Fireproof" is allowed to shine via its diverse arrangement.

Second single "Don't Swallow The Cap" is a real standout too, its searching guitar line pitting its wits against dynamic drums, urgent string stabs and a take-home chorus that reads like a diary entry. Closing this impeccable quintet is "Sea Of Love" from which the album title comes as well as the LP's biggest blowout.

In such company and with a running order that lasts nearly an hour there are inevitably a few lesser peaks though they're sequenced wisely, the open spaces and clean guitar chimes of "Humiliation", for example, breaking up an oppressive tail-end. And despite, arguably, Trouble Will Find Me lacking an arms-wide avalanche to rival, say, "Bloodbuzz Ohio", it instead makes its case with timeless signatures of dignity and stealth that gather and swirl together as an unstoppable storm of emotion. Don't be surprised if you lose yourself to it completely.

Advised downloads: "I Need My Girl", "Graceless" and "Don't Swallow The Cap"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars National Winners, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
When your last album hit the Top 10 in 11 different countries, you have a difficult act to follow. That's is the challenge facing The National with "Trouble Will Find Me", after their last album, 2010's "High Violet" achieved exactly that and as if further proof were needed that The National had gone mainstream, they were also asked to provide songs for television series "Game of Thrones" and "Boardwalk Empire", as well as video game "Portal 2". But The National are no flash-in-the-pan group that have suddenly have success thrust upon them, instead they have built up a following over many years and "Trouble Will Find Me" is their sixth full album, with a couple of EPs thrown in for good measure. The National have had time to enhance their skills and it certainly shows.

This is a tough album to type, as The National are placed generally in the indie-rock category, but there isn't a lot of the rock side of things here. They fit nicely into a sort of subdivision with Nick Cave and Joy Division with the mostly deep vocals and a quite dark feel, yet somehow the dark nature of some of the music and lyrics allow this to be an album that proves to be surprisingly relaxing. Indie-rock isn't generally a preferred genre of mine and I'm far more of a fan of upbeat and up tempo music, but despite my personal preferences, I found "Trouble Will Find Me" to be a consistently high quality album and it's certainly one that I will listen to over again when I need to set a relaxing mood. At 13 tracks and 55 minutes long, it's great value.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
The Old Dead Pig (northwest england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
Another of my five perfect albums of 2013. Longtime fan, since Alligator, but wasn't so keen on Boxer which I found a bit bland. This on the other hand is dark, mournful perfection. Don't know who Jenny is, but the singer is pretty upset about her and has been inspired to write much of this album about loss and death. Which is right up my alley! Pink Rabbits was my favourite tune of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy to be fed up, 24 May 2013
By 
M. A. Lidis "theboylidis" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
Alligator was the first record I heard by The National. A blinding album it is too. It hit me in a way no album had since my teens (then 27 now 33).

Whomever said "There should be no artists only their work" alive or dead would be a National fan.

This is music to be absorbed on good headphones, alone.

Intelligent, maladjusted people are let down by pop. The Smiths recorded angst and melancholy, The Wedding Present recorded a broken heart and, in my experience, The National are the only band to accurately represent depression. And I love them for it.

Amazing record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Aldron (swansea, south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
i,ve been a fan since ALLIGATOR, and have all the other albums. I only found out that this was issued through Amazon,s site, as i purposefully don,t buy any music magazines, i,m 65 and have too many c.d,s most of which i don,t listen to!!!..I,m glad i did buy this little gem, as it,s easily their best work so far. I usually play a new c.d. once and then it goes into the pile to re- surface later on. This has had many plays already, and i consider it to be outstanding. There is a lot of additional orchestration, which enhances the songs, so reproducing the album live could be a problem, but it,s magnificent . As usual Matt Berninger,s mournful, world weary voice is the distinctive heart of the band, coupled with the usual off the wall lyrics...recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Significant, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
Talented is an over used understatement for such a talented band. Living in the land of blank and not knowing their most recent album was even released after my over played High Violet mp3 first impressions are that Trouble Will Find Me more than equals and if not surpasses their previous offering which is no mean measure.

Another era, and less digi-ridden times and The National would consistently sell out large stadiums and become our signature box collections, but as it stands their unprepossessing frontage is scattered thinly and widely into the long tail of chart downloads. 4AD are the keepers of the keys to thy life blood, and let's bloody well enjoy their gift while we can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Crap........, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Trouble Will Find Me (Audio CD)
...is what my girlfriend and everyone else I know says when I play this album. If you want to buy an album on the strength of the number of 5 star reviews chances are you will not like this on the first listen or even the tenth. But, if you just give it time I absolutly guarantee the subtle melodies, the glorious drum fills or the wonderful vocals wil get you and once they do, you're hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it grow, 13 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Albums by The National create dense and introspective atmospheres with just occasional glimpses of light and air. (Strangely, as a live band they inject energy and anger and release as well - catch a video of Squalour Victoria to see this.) Their previous outing High Violet had more light and air than some of their earlier records but TWFM is initially rather sombre.

They clearly want you to work at this album - the opening track has a strange mixed time signature that I can't quite work out yet and second track Demons is in 7/4 time, so Don't Swallow the Cap, whatever it means, comes as a welcome relief. Bryan Devendorf adds to the claustrophobia with his spiraling drum rhythms and very spare use of cymbals - they get used 'properly' for the first time on track 6 by which time I was wondering if my tweeters were broken.

On first listen Side B of the vinyl stood out as glorious (tracks 5-7 if you're on the new fangled media) with the soaring Sea of Love an early favourite, but after a few days the whole thing has moved in and taken over. It's still introspective but it's great to be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews