Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2013 Blu-ray version
The Beatles HELP! was released on Blu-ray with very little fanfare - I only saw one commercial on TV to announce it. This is probably because there is nothing new offered here, just an HD version of the earlier DVD release - no 4K remaster or additional bonus material is to be found here. If you don't have the earlier DVD release then this Blu-ray would now be the best...
Published 12 months ago by James B. Spink

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to Hard Days Night
Basing the film around Ringo wasn't a bad idea, but the hamminess of the supporting cast is only salvaged by the sublime soundtrack.

The Alps sequences are amusing and nostalgic and it's interesting to note who can and can't act: Ringo is actually the best actor in my humble view (even better than John was taking parts in 'real' films)

However, the...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by Brian Levine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the 2013 Blu-ray version, 10 July 2013
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help! [Blu-ray] [1965] (Blu-ray)
The Beatles HELP! was released on Blu-ray with very little fanfare - I only saw one commercial on TV to announce it. This is probably because there is nothing new offered here, just an HD version of the earlier DVD release - no 4K remaster or additional bonus material is to be found here. If you don't have the earlier DVD release then this Blu-ray would now be the best version get - but comparing the DVD upscaled on my Blu-ray player to this new version didn't reveal much difference on my 32" Sony TV, but the audio through my sound-bar may just have favoured the Blu-ray version a little.

The film itself hardly needs much comment from me - intended for a different audience in a different age it is now quite dated and rather non-PC, but it does still have some genuinely funny moments! What you buy HELP! for is the music - treat it like a collection of Beatles videos and you won't be disappointed! Some great, timeless music and the audio restoration is worth hearing.

Unless you are a Beatles completist you probably don't need this Blu-ray version if you already have the 2007 DVD release; if not then get this new version - if you have a Blu-ray player of course! Amazon has currently grouped reviews for different versions of HELP! with this release - any review dated before June 2013 will refer to an earlier release so check the date before assuming the review refers to this Blu-ray version! It's the Beatles- it's HELP! - so how could I give it less than five stars? Even if you only watch the whole film once - play the music often. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN!, 8 Oct 2004
This review is from: HELP! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
That's what's in this package. No serious message, no brutal revelations; just fun, historic fun. From a time when the Beatles (and a whole generation) took themselves less seriously, HELP! provided the soundtrack to many of our lives and times.
Ringo's life is imperiled by an ancient sacrificial ring stuck on his finger. The ring makes him the target of a group of hilariously demented oriental mystics, who chase the boys from London to the Swiss Alps to the Bahamas.
But wait! There's more to this perfectly restored classic than meets the eye - namely an electrifying encoded Hi-Fi soundtrack, adding an unprecedented dimension to the original songs: HELP! "You're Gonna Lose That Girl," "You've Got to Hide Your Love Away," "Ticket to Ride," "I Need You," "Another Girl" and "The Night Before".
The visual execution of these songs is incredibly stylish - so just relax and experience this movie event, and let the memories of a lost era flood your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive Help !, 22 Dec 2007
This review is from: Help! [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this edition of Help as a Christmas present to myself. Being an old Beatles fan. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the packaging and content. The way it is wrapped in Help paper appealed to me. The picture and sound qualty is great and I liked the documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FAB FILM FROM THE FAB FOUR!!!, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Ellie81 (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Help! [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I received this from Amazon on Monday morning and have probably watched it a dozen times since. This is a great film from the greatest group ever and is worth every penny!
The limited edition boxset includes a reproduction of the original script, a hardback book (featuring photographs taken on the sets, an introduction by Richard Lester and an appreciation by Martin Scorsese), a reproduction 1965 theatrical poster and 8 US theatrical lobby cards, as well as 2 DVD's-the first is the film, the second features documentaries, trailers etc.
Onto the film itself - I can't fault either the picture or sound quality, they're both amazing. I've heard some people say that this film is outdated/of its time, and I suppose in a way it is, but that doesn't mean that it's any less enjoyable. 'Help!', like 'A Hard Day's Night', is a great (and fun) film and you can see that The Beatles were having a blast making it.
This is a fantastic boxset all-round - BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cor, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Kees Popinga (Old Town, Swindon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Help! [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
ooooooh it's lovely. A crackin' way to enjoy Help! in all its colourful glory. My god - did the four ever look better?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Box Set...Ever!, 7 Nov 2007
By 
N. P. Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Help! [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I bought this boxset on Monday, and boy was it heavy!
This is more than a DVD, this is pretty much the biggest and best box set I own!
The film has been beutifully restored and you would never believe it was made over 40 years ago. The colouring is gorgeous and consumes the living room. You will not be able to turn away!
HELP! also hasn't dated at all, it's still very funny and is also a great sequel to A HARD DAYS NIGHT. Leo McKern steals the show, and The Beatles themselves, well, great characters, played incredibly well by musicians. You could show this to a non-Beatles fan and they'd enjoy it. The songs, again, haven't aged at all and sound beutiful with a sound system installed into the tv. They'll sound great on a normal tv too, but if you've got all that 5.1 stuff, then you'll hear the differnce.
The bonus features are very good, in particular, the restoration process feature, which shows how they cleaned the film. Great feature.
Now, with this huge boxset you also get a book with some wonderful pictures, and a replica script (Beatles Two) which I thought was the original, until I saw on the back page 2007! It's that much of a replica!
You also get the original poster and postcards, as I said, The best box set I own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blu-ray transfer, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Help! [Blu-ray] [1965] (Blu-ray)
An excellent blu-ray transfer both sound and vision which is more than I can say for Planet of the Apes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help Is On The Way, 27 Oct 2009
I watched this film on VHS two nights ago and it was the perfect escape.Lovely singable Beatles songs(including perhaps my favourite - You've Got To Hide Your Love Away),a silly and hilarious plot,John,Paul,George and Ringo,Eleanor Bron ("I am not what I seem") as Ahme,stylishly dressed high priestess of a nutty Indian religious
cult,and some super photography,make up a jolly romp of a movie,without pc,without violence,without swearing,indeed without any of the vulgarity of the late 20th/21st century.

What more could one ask for in a film?

Watch it ASAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was one of the best movies and musicals I have ever seen., 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This was an amazing movie. It is definately a comedy, a musical and a family movie. Any who loves the beatles or just likes good movies should add this one to their collection. It has the spectactalur Fab Four at their best. Believe it or not, Ringo is the star of this one. You remember him, the one who hardly said anything. The other three have quite a time getting him out of trouble and trying to stay out of trouble themselves. Ringo has a found a wonderful ring. He loves it and wont take it off. Turns out, that ring on Ringo's hand wont come off. So, the wonderful boys from Liverpool have to help their dear friend. But how can they get it off? I was amazed by the interesting ideas people had throughout the movie on how to remove a ring from one's finger. Now that the ring is stuck, they dicover someone is after it. And they dont care that Ringo needs his whole hand to drum or even his life. So the Fab Four take off to the Bahams to try and save their dear friend Ringo's life. Will any one recognize them? Of course, they are the Beatles, you know. So what's a Beatle to do? They just do the best they can. Doing what they do best, making women swoon over their good boy looks, while singing wonderful songs. Well, I'm not going to ruin the end for you, so go get it. Any Beatle fan will love this movie. Even a few non-Beatle fan can enjoy this musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and enjoyable, 24 Jan 2004
The title says it all. I normally don't enjoy musicals but being a large fan of the fab four I thought 'Help' was excellent. I also enjoyed the Beatle's first movie 'A hard days night'. My favourite parts of 'Help' were the scenes with them in the Alps. And when they were at Stone Henge whilst they were performing for their record whilst being surrounded by a circle of tanks due to the fact that a herd of religeous frantics were plotting the death of Ringo Starr as a human sacrifice because he is wearing their personal ring which is worn on the fingers of people selected for sacrifice to their goddess. I thought this movie was hilarious, and enjoyable. I also found the scene where George Harrison has a lawn for a floor in his bedroom and he has a man mow the lawn using two pairs of chattering dentures which I found bizarre yet funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Help! [Blu-ray] [1965]
Help! [Blu-ray] [1965] by Richard Lester (Blu-ray - 2013)
15.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews