Customer Reviews


484 Reviews
5 star:
 (290)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class.
When you hear 'Daft Punk', the first thing that comes to mind is that classic vocoder, the heavy-hooking melodies, the pounding rhythmic beat of the drums to the modular synths in the background. Random Access Memories is, without a doubt Daft Punk, but it's a sign of how the group is evolving. The signature sound is still there, but don't expect this to be a hard...
Published 14 months ago by Karl Roe

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I've really liked a lot of Daft Punk's music in the past, but this album lacks energy and much of it is dull, generic funk. It sounds tired, possibly as a result of the reportedly long recording process. Daft Punk would also do well to steer clear of intelligible lyrics in the future, as the words on this album are, for the most part, lame and embarrassing. For much of...
Published 10 months ago by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 142 43 4449 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of tea :(, 25 May 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
It's not the daft punk I know most of it would be ok in a lift the best one on here is get lucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An MOR Sell-Out, 23 May 2013
By 
Jack Lawrence (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
This album was clearly constructed - consciously or subconsciously - to entice a more general audience, at which, in this respect at least, they've succeeded if the bulk of excited reviews are anything to go by. But history has shown, time and again, that a band should never capitulate to this. When I listened to it, all I heard was an unholy amalgam of George Benson-meets-Kraftwerk-meets-Yes. There really are keyboard flourishes on here horribly redolent of 1970s' Rick Wakeman-style prog rock, which only succeeded in alienating me further from its already arch slickness. Only tracks 3 and 4 harboured the kind of unexpected warmth I'd hoped might pervade the rest of the recording. The rest I could easily live without. Such a shame. The future of dance? I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
This is a strange and wacky album but none the less great sounding. Get lucky which came out before the album has to be my favourite song because its such a feel good song. If you liked get lucky then buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE NO...Most of you must be kidding!, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Ian Gamble "Mi Amore" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
There are unmistakably, so many other albums worthy of your SERIOUS listening, consideration and enjoyment...than this utter DAFT, CRAP JUNK!

Still, if you really must insist on making your ears bleed, do it on your own; don't subject others to this utter rubbish.

A MUSIC fan!

PS. this only got a star at all, so I could get this printed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
I really liked the last album "Discovery" all those years ago, so I thought I'd give this one a spin.

The single is the best thing on it, and maybe Giorgio by Moroder 2nd, and they're average at best.

The skip button got a pounding on this one.

Plodding, monotonous, boring. Yaaaaawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One good song, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this album. Unfortunately there is only one good track, the rest is very repetitive and extremely uninspiring.Just a long variation on Disco rhythm guitar- sometimes slow, sometimes fast, nothing else happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just like flares have never gone away, 26 May 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
I suppose it had to happen - the time between fashion cycles has now grown to the point that second-rate recycled mediocrity is no longer recognisable and the wide-eyed excited media machine goes into overdrive. This is disco of the worst kind, bland, wrung dry of any kind of musical ambition, predictable, lazy and would probably have been considered second rate even by the standards of the seventies. Oh well, I guess that's what being trendy gets you. All together now: we are family, all my brothers sisters and me etc etc etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe the hype! buy Public Enemy instead, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It‘s probably my own fault I know, but I bought this LP on the strength of the Quality that was the Tron Legacy soundtrack, with it‘s superb electronics...sounds & tunes (oh & the hype around it...doh!). This collection seems a long trip down a rather cheesey 70s disco road, which might have been ok, even great, if it had been a new take on Giorgio Moroder’s ‘I Feel Love’ & ‘The Chase’. Instead you get down tempo string-laden Tina Charles(esk) nostalgia ....and you know what they say about nostalgia.....it ain‘t what it used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bought, download from torrent site., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
Stupid system, i dont want more software on my PC. I shall download it from illegal sources even thought i have paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highly rated but didn't deliver, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
I was expecting more and was very disappointed. I won't be playing it again in a hurry. Too much electronic lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 142 43 4449 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews