Customer Reviews


464 Reviews
5 star:
 (274)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class.
When you hear 'Daft Punk', the first thing that comes to mind is that classic vocoder, the heavy-hooking melodies, the pounding rhythmic beat of the drums to the modular synths in the background. Random Access Memories is, without a doubt Daft Punk, but it's a sign of how the group is evolving. The signature sound is still there, but don't expect this to be a hard...
Published 11 months ago by Karl Roe

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, we loved "Get Lucky"...
...and a couple of the other tracks are OK. But ultimately I found myself disappointed with this as an album. I'm a big fan of both Daft Punk and Nile Rodgers, but this collaboration in part felt like the two cancelled each other out. It's listenable, but stick with the singles and remember the Good Times of Da Funk.
Published 7 months ago by Mr R Miells


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
When you hear 'Daft Punk', the first thing that comes to mind is that classic vocoder, the heavy-hooking melodies, the pounding rhythmic beat of the drums to the modular synths in the background. Random Access Memories is, without a doubt Daft Punk, but it's a sign of how the group is evolving. The signature sound is still there, but don't expect this to be a hard electro, hard pumping album.

Random Access Memories knows what it is, and Daft Punk knew what they were making when they were making it. This album brings feeling back into music. It brings back that human, natural emotive sensation you get when you listen to a song that's been constructed with all the finest details considered. 'Get Lucky', a song that we're now all too familiar with, took 18 months alone to create.

A lot of people say that this album is 'Too much collaboration, not enough Daft Punk'. But if you think this, you're missing the point. Daft Punk have hidden their identities. They want to be about the music. They want to create something real and different and they're well capable of creating tracks like 'One More Time' again. But this album has a touch of class, it's so refreshing. I has the modern feel with the subtle tang of those delicious 80's guitar licks, the soulful vocals and smooth basslines and drum beats. It has that incredibly cool Daft Punk vibe about it, but it's something different and it's something I love. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling, simply dazzling., 30 July 2013
By 
Simon Lindsay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I don't know what makes music "important", but if it ever truly is, then this is one very important album.......least to me, it is. Every listening brings a new joy along with it. I'm old enough to remember the 70s vividly (and not just disco). This album contains so many colours and hues of stuff I've always held to be brilliant.....for example, I can't listen to RAM without picking up little flavours and textures of the wonderful Steely Dan....and not in a pastiche way, I mean it comes across a wonderful fresh piece of Steely Dan overlayed with something else....it just excites the hell out of me.
I won't labour the point or try to analyse this too much. Suffice to say that for this aging music fan, this is quite possibly my favourite album of the last five years. Glorious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album, 11 July 2013
By 
G. Slevin (Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
It's very different to every one of their other albums - but that is Daft Punk. Each album is nothing if not unique.

Random Access Memories has a lot of funk, a lot of disco, is very retro and very cool. It also has shades of Air, the band behind the marvelous Moon Safari (and are also French).

Personally, highlights are Giorgio by Moroder, Lose Yourself to Dance and Give Life Back to Music. But the real highlight, for me at least, is Contact. It builds and builds and builds to an amazing crescendo! If you like Aerodynamic, you will love that one.

Daft Punk have done it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
This has to be the album of Summer 2013 and its not just the big hit tracks that make this album so good. If you enjoy electro pop music such as Air, then you'll more than likely love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my ears, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
Don't normally write reviews, but feel I should put my thoughts down.

I have followed Daft Punk since the early days, nobody can argue that they have always produced a stimulating experience with their recordings.

With RAM they have produced an album of pure quality. The recordings sound alive and luxurious. To my ears, it seems like the natural progression from the previous three albums, from guys of around my age.

There is a detail and balance in the recordings, which I have not experienced from a new release for some time. At the same time it is audacious, schizophrenic and bonkers but still hangs together.

The art of correct track running order is back with a vengeance.

This album bucks the trend (which I have also found myself joining in with) of music fans getting instant gratification from quick downloads of single tracks. This is a complete album, it needs to be given respect and listened to as a whole. It builds and drops, ebbs and flows, and in the end leaves you feeling satisfied, like you've have a good musical meal.

This album is not only an anthology of dance/funk/disco, it is an anthology of all music and if you like, understand and appreciate music and the concepts behind it, then you should love it.

After streaming it free on iTunes last week and enjoying the "live" sound, I even decided to buy this one on vinyl, which I haven't done for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sounding Album, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
Brilliant sound, fun to listen too, not had to skip a track anywhere, Amazon MP3 is a good sounding file. booklet failed to download though, but ill get over it.
worth the money easy, better than most stuff out right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy listening on the ears, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I have a real soft spot for Daft punk, I love their music videos they are so ingenious. This latest album is very easy listening on the ears, and is great electronic music that is delivered in cool laid back fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all I expected !, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's perfect ,great awesome !!
worth for waiting for a long long time.
especially instant crush.
but for get lucky is too hype for me haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the good old days, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (MP3 Download)
Homework, let's be honest, has never been matched, not even by the duo themselves. Discovery, though fun, was too cheesy pop. Human After all, though driving, was too dark. The Tron Legacy soundtrack was epic, though still not quite Daft Punk. RAM offers us a return to the balance that brought us to the dynamic French duo in the first place. Stick the album on and it just becomes the soundtrack to a good day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Radio 6 music lead to this CD, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I first heard the Get Lucky track on LL's show on Radio 6 music and consequently decided I wanted to hear all the tracks and see what all the fuss was about. Generally, I would say 75% of the tracks are really good especially the one that tells you how the synthesizer music was brought to life in Germany. Once you hear Georgio talk about how he thought about the music of the future and then think about all the bands that use a synthesizer you'll be going "Ahhh, so it's all down to him".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacbcce88)

This product

Only search this product's reviews