Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gripping read
Another really good book by Chris Ewan. A little different to Safe House and the Good Thief series in that this story is told as a more conventional narration rather than in the first person like Chris's other books, but nevertheless a good structured novel.

So why 4 stars and not 5? Well for me, I found it a little difficult to find a connection with Trent,...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, well-researched but...
A good twisty plot, but despite the obvious softer feelings of Daniel Trent for the loss of his fiancée, in the end I was disappointed in his characterisation. I just found it difficult to empathise with him, and for me that does matter. A shame because as others have said, there is a good story here.
Published 15 months ago by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great gripping read, 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Another really good book by Chris Ewan. A little different to Safe House and the Good Thief series in that this story is told as a more conventional narration rather than in the first person like Chris's other books, but nevertheless a good structured novel.

So why 4 stars and not 5? Well for me, I found it a little difficult to find a connection with Trent, the main character in this novel, attempting to negotiate a hostage situation with the aim of finding his fiancee. Is he a moral hero, a good guy gone bad or action hero - I was never quite sure and found myself caring a little less for the character as the story progressed. The one character that did grow on me actually being dispensed with halfway through the story (no names!).

As always with these novels, the location is also key to the story and the author has evidently researched the South of France with some wonderful descriptions of local life and places.

A good read and a really good book, would recommend to anyone to download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and Addictive., 1 Aug 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Having loved "Safe House" I was very much looking forward to this novel from Mr Ewan and I was very excited to receive a copy from Netgalley - thank you kindly.

Daniel Trent works in the dangerous field of hostage negotiation...along with his fiancee Aimee. When Aimee goes missing herself, Trent has a good idea of who is responsible...but then his chief suspect is kidnapped and so begins a desperate search for answers. Can Trent save the kidnap victim and find Aimee?

Well what can I say...fast paced and amazingly addictive this novel rushes you headlong into Daniel Trent's world and what a world it is. Cleverly strung out, my desire to find out what happened to Aimee soon matched Trents own...and I breathlessy followed him through all the twists and turns of the story to the final resolution - and that resolution my reading friends was clever, unexpected and brilliant.

I adored Trent as a character. Single minded, hell bent on the destruction of anyone who gets in his way no matter the consequences made me add him to my list of "literary characters I'd certainly marry"...in fact perhaps a future blog piece can talk about all those guys - he'll be somewhere near the top. The rest of the characters played their part admirably - trust no-one would be my advice and even then you'll be surprised at what happens. My favourite character by far was...ok I'm not going to tell you. You tell me when you get a chance to read it and we'll compare notes! No spoilers here.

I adore a good page turner and this novel certainly falls into that category. There are rare restful moments - make the most of them because shortly you'll be on that rollercoaster again. Don't fall off! Enjoy. Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, well-researched but..., 28 Sep 2013
By 
Peter (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Hardcover)
A good twisty plot, but despite the obvious softer feelings of Daniel Trent for the loss of his fiancée, in the end I was disappointed in his characterisation. I just found it difficult to empathise with him, and for me that does matter. A shame because as others have said, there is a good story here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked this a lot!, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
This was a really good read. Better even than the previous Safe House. For anyone who knows the corner of France this is set in they will be transported back to the area. If they don't know they will quickly feel as if they do. Easily became involved and engrossed with the characters. Happy to recommend this book to other readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Quite different from the 'Good Thief's Guide' books . Fast moving thriller with good characters . Yes I would recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HaroldtheReader, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Oh my! Almost speechless, this is the second book by Chris Ewan that I've read and I'm hooked. I hope he has more of this genre ready for me to read soon. The plot is fast and so well detailed you could be sitting in the room watching the action. Trent is a gutsy character you will to succeed, the author brings him to life in your imagination and you care about him from the start. Read this book- you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead line, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Good book throughout a few turning points kept you wanting to keep reading on thought a bit surprised about the ending the way it ended thought it could have been a bit better but all in all its another great book from chris ewan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kept you thinking!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
This book kept you thinking and it wasn't until the last chapter that the twist come it was quite unexpected.Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's Aimée? K & R in Marseilles, 10 Nov 2013
This review is from: Dead Line (Hardcover)
A tense, slow-burning thriller from master storyteller Chris Ewan, a novel that glides around Marseilles and environs, gradually unfolding with menace and foreboding.

Fluent French speaker, Daniel Trent, strategically happens to be at the scene of a staged traffic accident in which wealthy tycoon Jérôme Moreau is kidnapped. He is a K & R (Kidnap and Ransom) specialist, a hostage negotiator who, in the chaos of steaming bonnets and battered metal announces to the two remaining passengers in Moreau's car (his wife and his bodyguard), that he is 'The guy you need now'; they buy into this and Trent inveigles himself into their daily routine, as he investigates the disappearance and kidnap. He guides them through the negotiation process, but his motives are not solely about bringing Moreau back to his family.... Can Trent stay true to himself, how far is he willing to go?

Running parallel to his quest to secure Moreau's release is his search for Aimée, his business partner and lover, who is carrying their child. One day, not so long ago, she suddenly disappeared without trace. How do the two unfolding storylines fit together? To find out, you must buy the book.

As we have come to expect of the author, he truly immerses the reader in the location, he can transport you to the sweltering countryside of southern France in just a few sentences. He escorts you around Marseilles like someone who is very familiar with the city, over to the Calanques, and from Notre-Dame de la Garde, past Cathédrale de la Major and on into the fragrant hills above the teaming city...'the high-rise office buildings and hotels to the west of the city...to the dark waters and industrial docks of Joliette, the eastern sky had splintered into pale pinks and misty yellows and warm copper tones..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Line (Kindle Edition)
Was directed to Dead Line after thoroughly enjoying Safe House. I would again highly recommend this book.
Engaging storyline and great twist at the end!
Personally I found the plot for Safe House more intricate and exciting, but this was still a fantastic read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Line
Dead Line by Chris Ewan
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews