Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars22
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 September 2014
I was in 2 minds about buying this. I really wanted to watch the old / classic Mickey, but at the same time was worried the quality might be pretty poor on the cartoons due to the age.

But could not of been more wrong. The quality is outstanding to say they were made in the 1920 & 1930's. Very very happy that I gave it a chance. As for the short cartoons, the stories are funny, the DVD has full subtitles & I could not ask for anything more.

Here is a full list of what you get on Vintage Mickey
Steamboat Willie – 1928, 7mins & 25 seconds
Plane Crazy – 1928, 5mins & 59 seconds
The Karnival Kid – 1929, 7mins & 23 seconds
The Birthday Party – 1931, 7mins & 28 seconds
The Castaway – 1931, 7mins & 9 seconds
Mickey's Orphans – 1931, 7mins & 7 seconds
Mickey's Revue – 1932, 6mins & 50 seconds
Building a Building – 1933, 7mins & 11 seconds
Mickey's Steam Roller – 1934, 6mins & 40 seconds
44 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
My 3yr old granddaughter has watch this every Sunday morning when I am looking after her. It doesn't bother her that it is less sophisticated than her modern day Mickey dvds
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Nine animated shorts featuring Mickey Mouse. They take us from 1928 to 1934, in black and white. The cartoons are of historical interest and a must for collectors. Children will also enjoy the cartoons as there is never a dull moment, every second of these shorts contains action and interest. They evolve from a comic book style, indeed that is how the early ones are billed, to something approaching the fuller and more developed Disney animation of the mid 30s. 'Mickey's Nephews' contains many of the features that appear in the short 'Santa's Workshop'. Mickey also develops throughout, from a slightly cruel character at times, to a more recognisable and familiar Mickey. These shorts should be required viewing for any would be animator. The art and animation of Ub Iwerks, plus later animators involved in these shorts, is stunning in its inventiveness, fun, and is firmly based and rooted in a knowledge of art, anatomy, and movement. The animation of the steam roller as it turns in a circle is enormously difficult to draw, but it is done in masterful fashion. The cartoons are of excellent quality for viewing. The menu for the disc could be more user friendly, but it works. A highly recommended product, especially for the price. I have not compared the cartoons here to those on the two volumes of Mickey in black and white on the 'Treasury' series. They are hard to get now, so this dvd is recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
Great for any Disney fan or anybody into animation and the history of it.
I can't remember exactly but it has about 8ish different cartoons on it and they are all the originals with no changes what so ever.
Very lovely to watch :)
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
I just love these old cartoons,they are somply magical.Steamboat willie is my all time favourite,the tune always makes you smile.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
These cartoons may have been made in the early 1900's. But they have lost none of their original magic. Awesome.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Leaving aside its historical perspective, this DVD is a bit too dated for a young, modern audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Great to see the early output of the Disney studios. Just as sound was becoming available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
When i was in the USA i went to the Virgin Megastore and bought this wonderful dvd! This DVD has all the classics that you'll never see on TV or anywhere else like the famous Steamboat Willie which made Mickey famous it was a very good film and Plane Crazy Mickey's very first cartoon which was ok but not good and The Birthday Party and more. I recommend everyone with a Multi Region DVD Player should get this! and if this was released in the UK which it probably never will, i bet they'll cut stuff out like the Chicken Little trailer cause that's not in the cinemas anymore and many more but if you are a true Mickey Mouse fan and hate the current Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and have a Multi Region DVD Player i think you should get this hilarous DVD! also the shorts have stuff that kids would'nt understand but anyway it's for all ages. Watch the classics not the current ones.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Great cartoons. My 5year old daughter loves them
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.