Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this
I am surprised that this book has only got one review so far, so here's mine to make two.
I loved this book. It is charming and funny. The humour is very British and the author pokes fun at all the characters equally. It's charm lies in the innocence of the main character who is thrown into a world he is not prepared for, but to his own surprise, he survives and...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So...so...
I bought this book on Kindle as a cheap holiday read, and that is exactly what it turned out to be. Others are clearly very amused by its quirky humour. I fear I did not really appreciate that humour. I was mildly amused, but that's all.

But I can see why others have liked it. Give it a try and see if it's your thing.
Published 12 months ago by John Brain


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
I am surprised that this book has only got one review so far, so here's mine to make two.
I loved this book. It is charming and funny. The humour is very British and the author pokes fun at all the characters equally. It's charm lies in the innocence of the main character who is thrown into a world he is not prepared for, but to his own surprise, he survives and indeed succeeds beyond his own (and his bewildered parents') imagination. Kenya itself is described in a compelling and unromantic way and the depiction of it's twentieth century natives is hilarious. I deduce that this is set in the eighties but it has a timeless colonial period feel which could be much earlier. This is a well rounded story with a satisfying ending in the old-fashioned style. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, sharp, funny writing, 8 July 2013
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
I read this book nearly ten years ago and I'm delighted it's come out in ebook format! It's a witty review of life in Kenya with hilarious caricatures and evocative detail. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !, 7 July 2013
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
Anyone who has lived in a bush station in Africa will relate to this story. I thoroughly enjoyed this gentle read as it brought back memories of my time with Voluntary Service Overseas in Botswana in 1967. Many thanks to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So...so..., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on Kindle as a cheap holiday read, and that is exactly what it turned out to be. Others are clearly very amused by its quirky humour. I fear I did not really appreciate that humour. I was mildly amused, but that's all.

But I can see why others have liked it. Give it a try and see if it's your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waugh revisited, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
A rollicking read that makes you yearn to visit the colonial Africa with its eccentricities and savagery.
Out of Africa meets decline and fall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
This book ambles along good naturedly and is a really enjoyable read.
It isn't necessarily a book I will remember forever but is a light hearted holiday read.
It does leave you with a good feeling and a really good example of how experiences can change and influence your future. Everything happens for a reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable good read., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
Funny at times. Mainly a good amusing read. A different world. Perhaps a little but predictable/heard it before kind of story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, found it very amusing. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 April 2014
By 
C. Jordan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Paperback)
Well written and amusing in a quintessentially British sense! A window into another world! Have recommended to friends and family who have all enjoyed it as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very amusing., 12 April 2014
By 
Crystal clear "Billy" (Far side of nowhere, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tennis and the Masai (Kindle Edition)
Nice tale about life in a boarding school in Africa, good characters with very human strengths and weaknesses. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tennis and the Masai
Tennis and the Masai by Nicholas Best
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews