Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bow Wow Club - not ruff at all.
I've been waiting for this book for what seems like a very long time. Completely different from what I usually read, Nicola's books so far have been well written, twisty and ultimately very satisfying. The Bow Wow Club also mentions home made pies which gets it an extra star from me.

Although the book is a continuation of Working It Out, you don't need to...
Published 15 months ago by Mister Parsley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a lot of editing
I read this book till the end but found it a real struggle. It was nothing like the first book which I found quite entertaining.
Published 13 months ago by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bow Wow Club - not ruff at all., 15 May 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Paperback)
I've been waiting for this book for what seems like a very long time. Completely different from what I usually read, Nicola's books so far have been well written, twisty and ultimately very satisfying. The Bow Wow Club also mentions home made pies which gets it an extra star from me.

Although the book is a continuation of Working It Out, you don't need to have read that to enjoy this (although you should). I won't divulge any plot spoilers, but from a heartbreaking beginning the story constantly surprises in its complexity, leading up to the ending you were hoping for in the first place. It's also delightfully filthy and should have been subtitled 50 Shades of May!

I genuinely hope that Nicola May becomes one of those huge self publishing success stories you hear about. Talent will out, as they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book", 14 May 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
I don't think I've ever had a book make me cry within the first 10 pages, and especially not make me laugh and cry at the same time. But this did. The book is a sequel to Working it Out; we are back a couple of years later to catch up with Ruby, but her life hasn't been going too well and she's in a bad place. But throughout the course of the book, with the help of a great set of friends including her lovely neighbour Margaret and her nutty friend Fi (who is not exactly trouble-free in this book either), she gets herself back on track.

I found myself getting caught out in the book by predicting what was going to happen and then being proved wrong again and again by twist after twist which kept the book exciting. I found the Bow Wow Club itself a lovely place (although not what I first thought it was going to be), and each person in there had a sad tale to tell, but all ultimately helped Ruby in her journey to self re-discovery.

There wasn't really anything I didn't like about the book, it kept me scrolling and scrolling to get to the end, and as I had connected so much to Ruby in Working it Out, I had an instant connection with her as soon as I started reading. It took me a while to warm to Michael, at first I was suspicious of him, but it turns out that he was the only guy who didn't really deserve suspicion.

To sum up: if you love chick-lit and you like a book that takes you through a whole range of emotions but ultimately makes you smile, then this book is perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, unpredictable and will have you laughing out loud xxx, 27 May 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Paperback)
In The Bow Wow Club, we again meet up with Ruby, who has experienced a shocking bereavement and is struggling to come to terms with what has happened, as well as questioning whether she will be happy again. As Ruby struggles with adjusting to life, she meets the handsome Michael Bell, who shakes her life up even more. Ruby volunteers at The Bow Wow Club (Boyfriends of Widows, Wives of Widowers) in the hope that it might help her and give her a bit of support.

I really thoroughly enjoyed The Bow Wow Club. I read the book in two sittings and it was the type of book that was very difficult to be parted from once I had picked it up.

This book really took me on a rollercoaster of emotions, Nicola May has done very well in writing scenes in this novel as she brought out a whole range of emotions from me. There are some very emotional and moving scenes, and though I won't go into it in detail as I don't want to spoil it for you, there were a few times where I was reaching for the tissues.

But don't worry, it's not all sad. In fact, most of the book is HILARIOUS! I spent a lot of time tittering and giggling away on the sofa, emerging red-faced from the pages where I was laughing so much.

Ruby is such a fantastic character, you can't help but warm to her, and I really enjoyed continuing a journey with her and being with reunited with her character in this book. I LOVED the time I spent with Ruby and I'd go as far to say that I would really love another book with Ruby in...there is just something about Ruby and her friends that is so addictive and fun and I just wanted to spend all my time reading about them!

The Bow Wow Club is an excellent book that is full of so much fun and laughter! There are some truly brilliant twists and turns that I didn't see coming...wow! And as well as the funny moments, there are a few heartfelt scenes that will touch you. This book is unique, it is unpredictable and I would very much recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that a chick lit fan wants, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love the way Nicola May writes, the chapters are short and snappy but full of drama that keeps you interested and `in-the-loop' with what everyone's getting up to. I received my copy on my kindle so never got to read the blurb, so I was therefore bowled over with the death that occurs within the first few chapters - I had tears streaming down my face! After her loss, Ruby falls into a pit of hurt and grief and you feel so sad for her, it really is heart breaking. Enter Fi, Ruby's crazy, no nonsense best friend, she manages to drag Ruby back to life and then the fun and drama really starts!

After meeting Michael, a struggling author, Ruby try's to get her life back on track, but that's easier said than done. Miss-interpreted messages and situations mean the pair struggles to get a relationship going and almost ruin everything for themselves. Then there's the mysterious guy she keeps seeing around town who looks oddly familiar and the family secret that will really shock you. There are so many fab characters in this book that I could put aside my dislike for Michael: I found him needy and sickly sweet but he fit's his role in the story perfectly and Ruby deserves a gentlemen to look after her- he's just not my type of man.

I enjoyed this book immensely, for all the same reasons I loved At The School Gates. It's fast-paced without missing out any details, packed with fun, full of interesting characters and, as an added bonus, it's stuffed (ahem!) with racy sex scenes. What more could a chic lit fan want!

Reviewed by Francesca Verbeeten on behalf of BestChickLit.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, funny, excellent!, 20 May 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
From the opening page you are giggling.
You are greeted with crude jokes and taxidermy, with a side order of death and sorrow, Brilliant!
(Not in a pure brilliant he's dead kinda way, but in a brilliant that's some opening of a book kinda way.)

The story sees the return of the much loved Ruby Stevens nee Matthews (working it out 2011).
After the love of her life George dies leaving her utterly heart broken, poor ruby goes on a road of mourning and self destruct. After being mugged one day, she is taken care of by a man with big strong hands. Here Ruby's road to recovery, strength and love begins.

This book is so full of fun, love and raw emotion. It has some shocking secrets and twists that will have you wanting to either scream out loud with frustration, laugh out loud, or struggle to keep the lump in your throat away. It's still got the full Nicola May uniqueness, with her quirky take on characters, manic plots and more so her way with words. You can't not love it.

I recommend you read working it out first to be able to take on the full warmth of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great unpredictable feel good read!, 19 May 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
Having recently finished the first of Ruby's adventures, i was keen to read the sequel. Nicola May writes really likeable and real characters, especially the heroine. Was shocked by the start, but made the story even more heartfelt and real. And there was lots of fun and twists and turns along the way! Definitely stands out from the chick lit crowd- read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, unpredictable, loved it!, 13 May 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
I've been a fan of Nicola May since her first novel Working it Out, so I was delighted to see that Ruby Matthews had her very own sequel! Ruby's tale starts with a shock bereavement but don't let that put you off because this is not a wallowing book, it's Ruby on her way to starting again.
A chance encounter with a new man provides a love interest but in true Ruby style it's not an easy journey. A shocking side plot kept me gripped, and a fair amount of sauciness kept me hooked, oo-err missus!!
It's so easy to relate to and identify with the characters, just like putting on a comfy pair of slippers.
YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs a lot of editing, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
I read this book till the end but found it a real struggle. It was nothing like the first book which I found quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Kindle Edition)
I've read lots of nicola may books this was a great story but this was way to explicit and it ruined the read I'm no prude !!! But I won't read any more of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bow Wow Club, 25 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Bow Wow Club (Paperback)
I loved Working It Out and couldn't wait for the sequel. The Bow Wow Club was equally as good if not better. I couldn't put it down. Brilliant again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bow Wow Club
The Bow Wow Club by Nicola May
1.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews