Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2013
The Quireboys as a live band are unsurpassed. A dingy booze filled venue with Spike bleeding good time rock 'n' roll can't be beat. So why is this record so sterile? Chris Tsangarides' has sucked out the usual Quireboys vibrancy and left us with a taste of what might of been. There's some great songs just itching to burst free from this hermetic production. And the drum sound.... poor is not the word - so lifeless!

So even though I hate the production this gets 4 stars as I love the Quireboys, but the record need to be remastered by someone who will let the songs come alive. Damn Shame!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I would recommend this album to all fans of good Rock 'n' Roll. It is a welcome return to what The Quireboys do best, singing and playing excellent songs that will lift you, pull on the heart strings and make you sing along. Spike's voice is still delivered with that rasp that oozes like honey. For me, this album is as good as their first, which still takes some beating, but this follows nicely.
It has been a long time coming, but it was worth the waiting, for 12 fantastic songs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
4 years since their last excellent album and the Quireboys do it again . Yes you do know what you are going to get ,but when it this good familiarity breeds big smiles.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
I've been a fan for a good 25 years and found this rather pedestrian once I got passed the excellent opening number. Spike's voice does a great job with some rather dull songs and I'm struggling to agree with the rave reviews here. One of the best live bands you will ever see and they are lovely blokes but this one didn't reach me. Nice cover though...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
There's no getting away from it, so I may as well talk about it first. The production on this album is absolutely shocking. The band may wish to describe it as 'modern', but it just sounds like the band are playing in the next room and the bass player forgot to turn up. No amount of mucking about with the EQ can fix it, minor improvement only. Now, this is a shame because the standard of song writing here is pretty good - no surprises obviously, it's still all about the faces circa 1971. And that's really what you want from the Quireboys. The place to hear them is live, their shows are always great. So, next time Spike, forget 'modern' and go for 'classic' production.
UPDATE - On reflection just 3 stars it too harsh - for some reason the download on my iPhone does indeed sound terrible, however the CD has arrived and sounds much better played on a decent system. The real key to enjoying this is to play it REALLY LOUD!!! Sounds great then. Looking forward to seeing them next week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
We have all waited so long for this album and it was well worth waiting for. Why the Quireboys are not more widely known is a total mystery, as their live shows never fail to entertain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
The Quireboys are definitely influenced by The Faces and The Rolling Stones and Spike's vocals add to the Faces ambience. 'Too Much of a Good Thing' uses 'All Right Now' by Free as a launch pad before erupting into an air-punching anthem. 'King of Fools' and 'For Crying Out Aloud' have the Stonesy raunch factor. 'Talk of the Town' and 'Mother Mary' have discernible Mott The Hoople flavours in the organ-guitars configurations. Spike's voice is marinated in Marlboro and could be described as a force of nature when rasping on 'Chain Smoking'. This album is what the Quireboys always did but now they do it better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
The Quireboys are England's best pub rock band. Fun, brash and full of booze.
I have been following these guys since the days of the Marquee gigs where the audience often drank the bar dry! I even saw them one New Years Eve which was the best celebration of a new year I have attended!
Their albums, whilst not quite living up to their live performances, have always been worth purchasing.
I bought 'Beautiful Curse' and played it but just didn't bond with it! It took me a few plays to realise...there is no bass drum!! And the bass guitar is very very light in the mix! This is shocking. For a band and a quality producer to pass an album off like this is just wrong! It's either broken or unfinished!
I really wanted to like this album. The songs are good but sound far too lightweight due to lack of bottom end.
My main question is, has anyone seen The Quireboys' bass drum? It's gone AWOL!
Such a shame because the songs are well crafted and have a shelve life!
But save your pennies and go and see them live instead!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Awesome record folks ......hell yeah !!!!!!
Buy it and rock n roll all nite long with drink n a wink n a smile hahahahahahahahah
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
reminded me why i got into the quireboys in the first place a work of art a master piece brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.