Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for any gay man who likes a bit of romance!
The most amazing thing about this movie is probably that it was filmed with a budget of 30,000 Australian dollars- Roughly £16,000 if Google converter is correct,(which is slightly more than it costs to buy a Ford Focus) If you look at the credits closely you see that a lot of people multi task, the director seems to use every member of his family and Lucas Linehan (Will)...
Published 7 months ago by ANDREW CROFT

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Earnest attempt however.........
This was obviously made with a lot of passion for telling a gay story. As an Australian I was interested in seeing a home made gay movie but was in the end I was disappointed. The direction was a lttle somewhat uneven and many scenes didn't work and could have been dropped and some of the other characters were less than convincing. i,e. anything to do with the video...
Published 10 months ago by Mr O


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for any gay man who likes a bit of romance!, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
The most amazing thing about this movie is probably that it was filmed with a budget of 30,000 Australian dollars- Roughly £16,000 if Google converter is correct,(which is slightly more than it costs to buy a Ford Focus) If you look at the credits closely you see that a lot of people multi task, the director seems to use every member of his family and Lucas Linehan (Will) put his own money up to get the film through post production towards a release. This sort of spirit shines through the whole movie and although some may feel it is a little slow to get going, please stick with it- it's well worth it! Without a doubt the driving force behind the whole movie was the performance of the two leads- I fell a little bit in love with Will from the moment he visited his clinic bound mother and gave sweets to a young lady who was also a patient in the hospital- and that feeling never let up. The chemistry between him and Mike was so natural that it fealt like I was watching two young gay men in real life. So many films these days seem to have money thrown at them, but absolutely no heart- it was wonderful to see a film where the opposite was true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Earnest attempt however........., 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr O (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
This was obviously made with a lot of passion for telling a gay story. As an Australian I was interested in seeing a home made gay movie but was in the end I was disappointed. The direction was a lttle somewhat uneven and many scenes didn't work and could have been dropped and some of the other characters were less than convincing. i,e. anything to do with the video shop and that ridiculous woman. Made no contribution at all and poorly acted. The theme of star crossed lovers was a bit too contrived to be real. The acting of the leads was OK, particularly Lucas Lineham as Will. Eventually it was a miss and I can understand that I had never heard of the film before. Would have loved to rate it higher but just couldn't
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Romeo and Juliet' with Monsters in Australia., 17 Nov 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
Mike is a lonely boy at his suburban Australian school. He is a regular latecomer and clearly not one of the `in crowd'. Then a new boy turns up and the English teacher pairs them up to do a project on `Romeo and Juliet'. New boy is the shyly handsome William who lives with his alcoholic, bullying father. He suggests doing a video remake based on classic monster tales and they go for `Frankenstein' and the `Wolfman' - which they make themselves up with none too convincing results - brilliant.

As the video develops so does their relationship and soon the burgeoning hormones of adolescence are set to take over and we are all set for another take on the star crossed lovers.

There is no real bedroom action here either but that is not the point of the story as it is a coming of age and coming out tale. I really enjoyed this independent film. It does have flaws and one is that it seemed to take a while to get going, but once it does then it soon finds its' rhythm. Some of the scenes just looked too staged and yes I know they have to be but you can almost hear `and action!'Also some of the acting is a bit am - dram but the two leads in Tristan Barr as Mike and Lucas Linehan as William are both convincing and had proper screen chemistry. Still despite all of the above this was a very good and credit worthy film, it is like an old T.V. that takes its time to warm up, and hence is very much worth the effort of bearing with it. I hope the team don't take too long before they have another film out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll need your tissues!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
A powerful and emotional drama examining the painful realities of young gay love with good performances from the leading characters. A real tear jerker towards the end..not sure about the title tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monster Mistake, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
Spoiler alert! This is a movie that is well filmed and produced but the story lets it down. Writers seem to think that sad endings are the way to go but I'm over it,there are too many of them with "Gay themed movies" and this one is just unnecessary! Being caught and being saved from doing what he did would have the same impact, with a little tweaking of later scenes,this movie, could have been a classic! As it is this is a film which is well worth watching once...but if you are like me you probably won't want to watch it a second time. A great movie ruined by a pathetic ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most..., 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
Hurrah, I hear you cry! A gay-themed film that doesn't rely on naked men and plentiful sex scenes with which to attract an audience. And yes, that does make a very pleasant change. This is, for the most part, a Beautiful Thing-style teen gay romance and, for the most part, is sweet and charming.

But there are problems.

Some of the attitudes of the characters seem out of date. Now, the reason for this is that the film appears to be set a decade or two in the past. After all, the lead character works at a video (VHS) store, rather than a store than stocks DVDs and Blu-Rays. And, at the very beginning of the film, we see him slip a cassette into his Walkman. Sadly, we are not reminded enough throughout the film that this is a period piece. In fact, except for those two elements, there's little to tell us at all - the soundtrack is of classical music, so no reminder there. But we need to be reminded or the whole thing seems dated, and therefore clichéd.

The other problem is with the final fifteen minutes or so of the film. I'm not going to say much about it here as I don't want to give the ending away - and PLEASE don't read the small print beside the 15 classification symbol on the back cover as it does actually tell you the ending! But the final fifteen minutes or so do drag on for far too long. I'm not even sure the final act is right for the film anyway, but even so, it is handled quite badly, I think - and what starts off as a sweet romance ends up as something quite different, which is a shame for the sweet romance was actually rather, well, sweet.

This is worth watching though. The leads are great, the writing is, for the most part, rather good. Bu just switch off before the final act and you'll probably find it more enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars playful film sounds other notes as well, 2 Dec 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
Monster Pies is a fresh, completely engaging film that should please anyone with a heart, especially if they're gay. It has something quite distinctively Australian about the tone (a bit like The Sum Of Us crossed with Gods and Monsters), and the boys are delightful, amazingly natural together, and both beautiful but polar opposites as physical and personality types. I only wish such boys fell in love more often! There is a kind of energy that draws you in from the first moments, where Mike is cycling along listening to Beethoven on his cassette walkman. The colours are very fresh - there is a swimming pool scene (always a plus), and the family histories are given with a minimum sense of cliché, and without the quirkiness of some American indie productions. The school scenes are also brilliant, with a Romeo and Juliet alternative take filmed by the boys dressed up as movie monsters. It leads to a Carrie-like feel at the school prom. The film doesn't go in that direction, but what does happen may seem like a wrong turning to some. The short film that comes with it shows how the director Lee Galea is drawn to these undercurrents, and it does make his talent an original one. There's also a great lesbian band featured, but it is the romance between the boys that stands firmly at the heart of this remarkable feature, which I would be very sorry to have missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gay romance with a sting in the tail, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing some very mixed reviews, I decided to purchase this dvd.
I am glad I did for what I watched was one of the most thought provoking coming of age films I have seen for some time. In the style of Get Real and Beautiful Thing, set in Australia.
Yes we have all seen numerous films boy meets boy, they fall in love, some traumatic event and ends in sadness.
Well, without spoiling the plot too much, yes another similar theme I guess. The big difference is that the ending for me at least, was unexpected.. just enjoy the film for what it is. A simple first love story... Thank you for all involved in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, sad, bitter-sweet, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
The story is lovely, even though the acting is somewhat wooden at times. It is well worth watching, as this film has its own soul-touching charm and the sadness is bitter-sweet with the love completely sincere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Australian coming of age movie Gem, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Pies [DVD] (DVD)
I just was impressed by this Australian movie and by the acting of the leading actors Tristan Barr and Lucas Linehann The chemistry between the two boys was immense, espacially in the bedroom the first night the boys are together and in the swimming pool and afterwards in the bedroom of the motel. The longing for each other through their eyes and in watching each other. No words, just the look of longing, wanting and despair. GREAT! Sharing movies Beautiful Thing and Boys/Jongens as the best coming of age movies there are in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster Pies [DVD]
Monster Pies [DVD] by Lee Galea (DVD - 2013)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews