Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing read with a few nice nasty twists!
This is the first of this authors books I have read but rest assured it won't be the last!

A great read with a chilling yet amusing dark side which had me both laughing out loud in public places (attracting many a strange look!) and cringing in shock as the story unfolds.

Excellent characters brought to life with a very descriptive writing style and...
Published 14 months ago by Padmasambhava

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So much potential.
I really wanted to like this book. The characters were well drawn but the plot find,t really follow through convincingly. Some of the dialogue and narrative was very clunky. This could have benefited from a good editor. I look forward to his next book which, I.m sure will go through a few more drafts and use better research regarding mental illness!
Published 8 months ago by Ms. Siusaidh Nicneill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
An entertaining trawl through two of the seediest professions both whose practitioners should stand up for truth and justice, with a liberal twist of Tourette's humour to lighten the darker moments of a tale that ends with the anti-hero being just that. An excellent story with offbeat human humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read..., 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
Matt Bendoris tells a gritty Glasgow-based tale with great pace and - at times - humour.
Held me so much I read it in two tranches....unusual for me to read a book so intently.
Definitely worth a read...and ideal for holiday time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
I found this tale of a serial killer who uses American self help tapes to improve his craft (hence the title) very amusing. It isn't laugh out loud funny like Christopher Brookmyre often is but the whole plot, the daft characters and the patter all made me smile. The writing style is quite cozy but DCI Crosbie's Tourette's will never allow that description to stick. This is a comfortable read if you don't mind bad language and well worth a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So much potential., 16 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. Siusaidh Nicneill "cruard32" (Inner Hebrides) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
I really wanted to like this book. The characters were well drawn but the plot find,t really follow through convincingly. Some of the dialogue and narrative was very clunky. This could have benefited from a good editor. I look forward to his next book which, I.m sure will go through a few more drafts and use better research regarding mental illness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch debut, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
Bendoris takes his knowledge of the workings of the newspaper industry and grafts it onto a tight, taut tale of infidelity, compulsive eating and serial killing. His killer, Osiris Vance, uses self-help books to galvanise himself into murder. His gallant pair of hacks dealing with internicine squabbles while getting caught up in the murder of jewellery magnate Selinea Seth are well drawn, particularly April Lavender (where does he get these names?). And is Connor Presley the author's own alter ego, I wonder? Add to that a cop called Bing Crosbie (yeah, Bing Crosbie. You couldn't make this up. Well, maybe you could) with Turette's and you've got a handy cast of characters to help propel the plot along. It's told in spare, clean prose - no messing here, as we say in Glasgow - but it almost lost a star because it's too darned short. however, that would have been petty, so it kept its five. It's a heartening debut and bodes well for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 23 Sep 2013
This book is a must read. It's original, full of great characters, the story is gripping and takes the reader on twists and turns that had me on the edge of my seat. A real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New kid on the block, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
Promising start with a highly enjoyable and entertaining debut novel. I'm guessing but it would appear that Mr Bendoris's characters are indeed caricatures of those whom he's either worked alongside or met during the course of his press career. Because of this he gives us a delicious insight into the unsavoury Glasgow underworld all packaged up in a neat little tale. Will look forward to his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, insightful and enjoyable, 10 July 2013
By 
Lindiloo (Ayrshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
I read this fast...it's hard to put it down once you begin, and was deliciously responsible for a few very late nights for me. The killer's identity is carefully woven into the tale, which had me enthralled from the start. There are parts of the book that I found a bit too gruesome, but then again, it IS abour a serial killer so I was well warned.
Loved the gritty character of April Lavender..although I did feel that her fifty something status being referred to as old was a shame, given the vast number of fabulous fifty something women who buy books these days, and who hire bouncy castles for their own parties and live life to the full. A great read though, and well done Mr Bendoris, look forward to the next book already :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Mr Bendoris, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. The pair of journalists are wonderful characters, and I am hoping they return in a sequel. The writer's use of short chapters, keeps the pace going, and the reader turning the page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A right good read!!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killing With Confidence (Kindle Edition)
Excellent first novel and a great window into the world of tabloid journalism. Already looking forward to the return of April Lavender, now one of my favourite fictional characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killing With Confidence
Killing With Confidence by Matt Bendoris
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews