Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Romance with a Twist
This was an enjoyable story and well worth four stars. I loved the friendship between Josephine and the women working in the brothel and the way she wanted to help them. When she meets Elias, the Duke of Lennox, her world is turned upside down.
There were a few anachronisms. I'm afraid the author used words like teenager, shell-shock and posh (Port Out Starboard...
Published 8 months ago by J White

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A decent read
For me this is a 2 star book, it's very much what you would expect and an enjoyable enough read.

It is however highly predictable and the language used in the book can be jarring at times. Although styled to read as though from the period it is set in, there are times when it breaks away from this and sounds too modern or colloquial.
It is also obvious, as...
Published 18 months ago by Gabriel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 28 Oct. 2013
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
For me this is a 2 star book, it's very much what you would expect and an enjoyable enough read.

It is however highly predictable and the language used in the book can be jarring at times. Although styled to read as though from the period it is set in, there are times when it breaks away from this and sounds too modern or colloquial.
It is also obvious, as one reads, that this was written by an American author, it just doesn't sound authentically English, which when reading a story set in England, with English characters that's an issue.

Also some of the plot lines are too superficially written to make them believable. They are just there to make the story go in a certain direction.
There is also no subtlety about it, some of the personality traits of the characters are spelled out over again, as if the readers are silly and can't work out from their actions/behaviour that this is what the character is like.

However, it's an enjoyable love story with a happy ending. So a decent rainy Sunday afternoon read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
Poor overall. Characters were ok, but stupid story line totally unbelievable. The lovers have a huge fall out over a letter that is supposed to end it between them, then next meeting within one sentence they are back best friends - ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Romance with a Twist, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
This was an enjoyable story and well worth four stars. I loved the friendship between Josephine and the women working in the brothel and the way she wanted to help them. When she meets Elias, the Duke of Lennox, her world is turned upside down.
There were a few anachronisms. I'm afraid the author used words like teenager, shell-shock and posh (Port Out Starboard Home); words that weren't coined until the following century and these did tend to pull me out of the story a little. Also, Miss Francis the duke's intended, would have been addressed as Lady Cecily, since she was the daughter of an earl. I'm surprised these weren't picked up in the editing. However, I would recommend this story to anyone who loves a romance with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A man above reproach, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
I was really disappointed reading this book, the characters had no depth at all, and the story line could have been written in a paragraph.
Sorry for the rubbish feed back. :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good read, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
This was a predictable romance about a Duke and the mysterious Bluestocking. This isn't her real name and the Duke sets out to find her true identity. The story twists and turns until her true identity is revealed.
An easy to read novel.
Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed It, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard of this author so was unsure about the book, but having read a few of the reviews I decided to buy it. I am so glad I did as I loved every minute of it. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys this genre ...they won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A man above reproach, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable book a very good illustration of the difference between the haves and the have nots very well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book because I like period dramas and this book held me all the way through. The characters were great and the way they all intermingled and wove the picture of the story was great. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes book set in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars too slow for me, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
This book when i first started it was really good , but then became so drawn out i struggled to finish it. not for me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just an easy read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Man Above Reproach (Kindle Edition)
It was a nice easy bedtime read, no brain power needed. Not the most memorable of reads, but a nice bit of escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Man Above Reproach
A Man Above Reproach by Evelyn Pryce
£3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews