Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well paced psychological horror
The blurb and cover may lead you to expect a regular slasher movie and the title may well throw a curved ball or two your way but it's far more subtle than either.
A waitress is working in a restaurant to send money home to her son who needs an operation, she is harassed and abused by the owners and various customers but she finds friendship with one stranger and...
Published 11 months ago by I. R. Kerr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is okay.
I thought this was an okay film. Lead actress was excellent, support cast good, and some great filming. A tale of abuse and betrayal that has just enough going for it to keep you interested.
Published 3 months ago by Ricoh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well paced psychological horror, 17 Sep 2013
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devoured [DVD] (DVD)
The blurb and cover may lead you to expect a regular slasher movie and the title may well throw a curved ball or two your way but it's far more subtle than either.
A waitress is working in a restaurant to send money home to her son who needs an operation, she is harassed and abused by the owners and various customers but she finds friendship with one stranger and confides in him that she believes the place may be haunted.
It's a deliberately slow moving movie, but picks up speed towards the end as the truth is revealed, the opening scene may give you a clue as to the ending.
It's a well paced story of a descent into madness and not at all what I was expecting from the cover but for once I was not disappointed. There's some pretty good acting performances especially by Marta Milans as the waitress Lourdes.
Just don't expect a terror tour de force.
No extras apart from a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One For the Horror collection - Dont Miss., 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devoured [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Lourdes is a young waitress in a New York restaurant she sends money home for her little brothers operation, sometimes she increases her earnings by apparently servicing some of the customers, the rest of the staff are horrible to her. She thinks the restaurant is haunted sometimes she has conversations with imaginary friends, she's clearly losing her mind. Devoured reminds me of Roman Polanski's Repulsion with a nice sympathetic girl going mad and killing those around her, nearly all the action takes place in the small restaurant and its cooking area. The cinematography is subdued occasionally almost black and white, its a grim and eerie movie and it comes as quite a shock when its revealed how Lourdes really gets her money. With marvellously gruesome shots of meals being prepared (it may put you off food for a while) and the discovery of a stack of corpses at the end it made me wonder if any of the customers got more than they bargained for. Great lead performance from Spanish actress Marta Milans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is okay., 10 May 2014
This review is from: Devoured (Blu-ray)
I thought this was an okay film. Lead actress was excellent, support cast good, and some great filming. A tale of abuse and betrayal that has just enough going for it to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..VERY ORIGINAL AND TWISTED MOVIE..", 3 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devoured [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is just brilliant, a very good story that's twisted in every way, for a small straight to Blu-ray and DVD film I wasn't sure what to expect but im so glad I watched this, its a very gradual building thriller that's starts off slow and gets deeper and darker as it goes on leaving you wondering what its building too, but its worth the wait with a great twist and bloody finale! its good at building the thrills and jumps that most horrors would throw at you, great cast too, the lead actress is great, this is really worth checking out its a gem of a film and is very underrated, an original psychological thriller that should not be missed, unfortunately there are no features which is a shame, the Blu-ray comes in a cool slim line case like the USA cases, region B 87mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devoured [DVD] (DVD)
awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A future classic, 16 July 2013
By 
James Healy "lost in the audio sea" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devoured [DVD] (DVD)
This movie makes your skin crawl and your heart thump in the best traditions of Kubrick and Hitchcock. A slow burner... I couldn't turn away... and I'll never look at food the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Service great film crap, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devoured [DVD] (DVD)
Biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen don't waste your money people that gave this 5 stars need there heads testing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devoured [DVD] (DVD)
Not seen this may get to watch it some day. If it's as scary as the write up says it would be good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devoured [Blu-ray]
Devoured [Blu-ray] by Greg Olliver (Blu-ray - 2013)
10.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews