Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I defy you not to enjoy this!
I took a gamble when I saw this released in a local HMV - always one for DVD boxsets and willing to try out new shows, I purchased it with only a minimal degree of awareness (I had heard of Defiance but knew very little about it). My gamble paid off, having just finished all 12 episodes of series 1 I can safely say that this is a 'good un!'

Unless I've missed...
Published 11 months ago by thedoctor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New Earth. New Rules.
In the year 2046, it's a new Earth - with new rules. Over thirty years after various alien races arrived on Earth, the landscape is completely altered, terraformed nearly beyond recognition. To the town of Defiance, on what used to be St. Louis, comes the mysterious Nolan (Grant Bowler) and his charge, Irisa (Stephanie Leonidas). As they settle into town - overseen by the...
Published 29 days ago by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I defy you not to enjoy this!, 17 Sep 2013
I took a gamble when I saw this released in a local HMV - always one for DVD boxsets and willing to try out new shows, I purchased it with only a minimal degree of awareness (I had heard of Defiance but knew very little about it). My gamble paid off, having just finished all 12 episodes of series 1 I can safely say that this is a 'good un!'

Unless I've missed it there is very little background history revealed so far (although check out Wikipedia first and it fills in all the blanks for you), thirty years ago an alien collective made up of several races came to Earth believing it to be uninhabited, there was a series of wars - the 'Pale Wars', the planet was terraformed, and now humans and aliens co-exist on a world unlike we know it today.

Grant Bowler plays lawman Joshua Nolan who we follow from the start of the Pilot episode with his adopted daughter Irathient born Larisa as he arrives in the former St Louis - now renamed 'Defiance'.

The show builds gradually over the course of its twelve episodes and characters are perfectly established and defined - Tony Curran is particularly good as Dai Tak Tarr, the local Crime Lord. Grant Bowler is perfectly cast as the hero of the piece and fits the role of lawkeeper to a 'T'.

A second series has been commissioned and I would encourage anyone wanting to delve into a new sci-fi show to give this one a try. And I defy anyone not to enjoy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Defiant, 31 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Defiance - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Defiance is an American post-apocalyptic sci-Fi series set in the Missouri town of Defiance. To make it clear from the outset, Defiance has very few similarities to Firefly, despite at least one negative reviewer's expectations. The show bears far more similarity to Farscape or Alien Nation - hardly surprising considering the heavy involvement of Rockne S. O'Bannon in all three shows. The main strength of Defiance is its exceptionally well thought out setting - Defiance is detailed, its history explored beyond any direct relevance to the story, and there is an interesting picture painted of the world beyond its walls. Even more impressive is the characterisation of Defiance's alien races, each of which possess a distinct culture, history and, thanks to linguist David J. Peterson, full languages that are spoken frequently and fluently. Combined with a generally excellent cast (including standout performances from Tony Curran and Jaime Murray as the ambitious and ruthless local crime family), Defiance creates a thoroughly engrossing and captivating world.

Story-wise the plots are generally above average, though unfortunately for every time the writers truly excel themselves (and there are some extremely good twists and subplots), there's a time that they seem to slump into tired and cringe-worthy sci-fi cliches. The ongoing intrigues and power struggles between the characters are often more entertaining than the main plot of an episode. Also, as might be expected in a relatively low budget SyFy series, Defiance's ambitions often outweigh its technical capacity (especially in the pilot episode, which features some very dodgy CGI effects).

Overall, Defiance is a very promising show with a few rough edges. I gave it 4 stars - if I could have given it 4.5 I would, but the inconsistant writing prevented a 5 star rating. Very much worth watching, and hopefully Season Two will continue the good work!

Summary-

Pros:
Excellent setting and characterisation
Strong cast
Capitvating intrigue and ongoing plots

Cons:
Inconsistant quality of individual episodes
Occasional lapses into cliches
Inadequate special effects budget

P.S. Despite the quality of Defiance as a TV show, do not be tempted to try the video game to further flesh out the Defiance world - it takes the barest bones of the TV show development and lashes it to cliched stories, generic gameplay, terrible voice acting and generally fails in all the areas where the TV show succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable if somewhat unremarkable Sci-Fi fare, 10 July 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Set in the near future, through war with an Alien species that fled it's homes after destruction they came to Earth to find refuge. But as tensions flared, war ensued & the Earth became terraformed with inhospitable Alien life after a tragic accident. Eventually peace was made & now the Alien (Voltan) races try to co exist with Humans in scattered Cities/Town's across Earth. Through one such City, Defiance, once known as St.Louis (USA). We follow the lives of the inhabitants, in particular ex-solider, lawkeeper Joshua Nolan (Grant Bowler) & his adopted Alien, Irathient race, daughter Irisa (Stephanie Leonidas), as they try to get along enforcing order & peace, but it's harder said then done with such a mixture of cultures, past deeds & suspicion between races.

The series opened with impressive pilot episodes which were brilliant IMO, worthy of being a film in their own right. Once it moved into more formulaic episodic stature, things slowed down & it did become a little less shiny in a way. There are the usual cliche stories in here, a Romeo & Juliet love story, murder mystery & the meat & potatoes, the clash of cultures & wonder of these Star Wars/Trek-esque Alien's. Still, they had to resort to putting British hottie Jaime Murray into scantily clad thong outfits & the like, along with a local brothel, that is quite possibly only there to keep a certain target audience on tender hooks (*cough*). Over it's 13 episodes the show has crammed a lot into them, so much so that it will be interesting to see where they will take things next if a second series materializes. But it's Sci-Fi after all, so they can pluck whatever they want out the sky...literally. And with developer Rockne S. O'Bannon onboard, creator of Farscape he is no newcomer to this genre.

Some of the characters are interesting, like the no nonsense lawkeeper Nolan, his unpredictable adopted daughter Irisa, the local wannabe Mayor Datak Taar (Tony Curran), his black widow of a wife Stahma (Jaime Murray) & the sassy doctor Yewll (Trenna Keating). But overall they are a hard bunch to like in most cases & not quite as memorable as some cult classic sci-fi shows such as the short lived but brilliant throughout Firefly , that had plenty of heart, soul & humor. Which Defiance lacks in some departments, being more of a drama. It does echo that show in it's appearance a little, the run down shanty town made up of bits & pieces, and the wild west style badlands. Even it's own trademark gibberish swear words that are obvious to understand are welcomed & nostalgic in their own way. But Defiance is trying something new, rather then travelling to new galaxies or planets, Earth is the frontier where other races have fallen back too.

In conclusion, Defiance is a promising Sci-Fi series that while lacking warmth, is certainly an interesting show that is plugging a Sci-Fi market gap. It's certainly growing on me, lets just hope they haven't burnt out the candle too soon. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New Earth. New Rules., 23 July 2014
This review is from: Defiance - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
In the year 2046, it's a new Earth - with new rules. Over thirty years after various alien races arrived on Earth, the landscape is completely altered, terraformed nearly beyond recognition. To the town of Defiance, on what used to be St. Louis, comes the mysterious Nolan (Grant Bowler) and his charge, Irisa (Stephanie Leonidas). As they settle into town - overseen by the mayor, Amanda Rosewater (Julie Benz) and filled with residents like the powerful Rafe McCawley (Graham Greene), enterprising lounge owner Kenya (Mia Kirshner) and the ambitious, alien Tarrs (Tony Curran and Jaime Murray) - events begin to unfold that threaten the fragile peace this border town has fought for.

Well directed throughout the series, cool costumes and sets, decent acting with good supporting cast. The series has a main storyline but each episode is different and always keeps you guessing and with some good action scenes and decent CGI with interesting characters and plot twists and developing characters.

Overall a good first series, looking foward to season 2. Would recommend this to anyone. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising start!, 9 Jan 2014
By 
T. Birkeland (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Feels like a mix of Babylon 5 and Mad Max with a decent dose of gangster-drama and "who-dunnit" mystery in between. Some charaters are portrayed as good with potentially bad traits, and some as bad with potentially condoning traits. The "heroes" are relatively stable good guys, though, which alltogether makes for a stable viewpoint. Great CGI. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant wait till series 2 comes out!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It is confusing at the start which is helped if you read a summary of the setting on Wikipedia. The first couple of episodes seem a bit slow - but enjoyable- and then it really takes off. To begin with i thought it was a bit like an inferior Firefly but by the end I couldn't wait to see the next episode and hoped they were making a second series because there is a lot of potential. My husband, who is not a great sci- fi fan enjoyed it as well ( I don't think that it was just because there are pretty women in it). Anyone who likes Fringe, Firefly, Startrek and the like give it a try. I bought it because of other people's comments on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable sci fi hocum., 29 Dec 2013
By 
1602_cat (Edinburgh. Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this after reading reviews and although the series is not earth shattering, it's still a good watch. The acting is good and believable along with the premise of the series, i.e. earth after an alien invasion. You could do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well thought-out world and characters, 28 Dec 2013
By 
C. Bathgate "Ruana" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm always happy to see an SF show that respects its viewers' intelligence. Defiance doesn't get hung up explaining the details of its future history or the current situation beyond what's necessary to the story, but there are an abundance of asides and background details to chew on if you like that sort of thing. The characters are well-rounded, with even the less pleasant ones having understandable and often sympathetic motives. The gender balance is satisfactory; while we do get the occasional bit of gratuitous cheesecake, in general the female characters hold their own.

With a reshaped Earth and several different alien races, the creators have set themselves quite a challenge, and largely succeed; the result is enjoyable and thought-provoking. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to Season 2..., 19 Sep 2013
By 
Barry Kirwan (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew nothing about this series but - despite the singing in the opening scene - grew to like the characters and care about them, even (or maybe especially) the bad ones. There isn't too much scifi, but enough, and some good insights into how a pluralistic human/alien society might work (and not work). It ends on a cliff-hanger so I will have to wait for Season 2 to see how they resolve everything...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rockne can do better, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Petter Holt "Petter" (Oslo) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Defiance - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This show is not bad, but Rockne S O'Bannon have made much better shows before. Like Farscape of course.Another thing is that the Blu ray menu gives us choices of symbols, instead of words. Always irritating!There seems to be a lot of series these days picturing the earth destroyed.(Falling skies,Walking dead etc.)I suppose if one show is succesfull in this genre several others are bound to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Defiance - Season 1 [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews