Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars intersting
an interesting look into one womans journey into becoming a nurse followed by a doctor at a time when there weren't many female doctors
Published 2 months ago by Gemma

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Best Medicine;
I was very disappointed with this book. I bought it under the impression that she was a nurse who became a doctor. Well, she did but not a doctor in a hospital, nor a G.P. which she had said she wanted to be or as she put it A Family Doctor. It seemed to me she was actually an 'exam junkie' going from exam to exam, as a perpetual student for years before eventually...
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. Oriel G. Bayliss


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Best Medicine;, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. Oriel G. Bayliss (South Wales - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was very disappointed with this book. I bought it under the impression that she was a nurse who became a doctor. Well, she did but not a doctor in a hospital, nor a G.P. which she had said she wanted to be or as she put it A Family Doctor. It seemed to me she was actually an 'exam junkie' going from exam to exam, as a perpetual student for years before eventually getting a job as a Public Health Officer. A doctor, but one who didn't have any responsibility for patients as a hospital doctor or a G.P. would do. Her experience as a hospital doctor was limited to a brief time in Casualty, and a month as a locum to a G.P. She was honest when she said that she didn't want to practice surgery, and indeed on the one occasion she was called on to operate on a small child to remove her appendix, the operation was cancelled when the child vomited, to her great relief. The writing style is ponderous and old fashioned, and her use of the words 'always' and 'within' I found tedious. No-one ever worked, but gave 'service' and they all gave service 'within the walls of' which is a bizarre way to write in this day and age. So... would I recommend this book? No-not really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book, 10 July 2014
Don't like the author's style at all - seems to have a high opinion of herself and fin the style childlike, short abrupt sentences, little flow - not really my cup of tea and couldn't recommend - wouldn't buy this author again....Squirrel 59 - Thur 10.7.14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reach your goal!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
Good book,, however,did hope it featured more stories rather than training heavily. more,medical exploits.
Nonetheless, brilliant book to read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intersting, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
an interesting look into one womans journey into becoming a nurse followed by a doctor at a time when there weren't many female doctors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a nice read, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
As I trained as a nurse it was an interesting and enjoyable read. A lot of courage and sacrifice to go on and train as a doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, guts and determination, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
This lady has worked so hard to reach her dreams . . . A good, solid, interesting read and a reminder of why we should be kind to junior doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very dedicated lady., 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
Fascinating story of a lady who was prepared tp work and fight for what she was determined to do. And she managed to fit in marriage and a family. Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just could not put this book down a delightful read. The nursing part took me back to my own nursing days in the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading this book for about 3 weeks now, as I only have time to read at breakfast. What an author Georgie is, she takes the reader right in to her world and carries them with her. I almost feel as if I know her personally and have travelled with her through her school days, interviews, exam nerves and mother-hood. A wonderful read to start the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Medicine: The True Story of a Nurse who became a Doctor in the 1950s (Kindle Edition)
A page turner from beginning to end, having been a nurse myself it is definitely a true story, very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews