Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable journey around Roman Britain
This is an excellent book, informative, erudite, and up to the minute in its discussions of the latest discoveries and thinking about Roman Britain. Charlotte Higgins writes very well, evoking the differing Roman sites and landscapes in flowing, often atmospheric, prose. Her use of imagery, and her clear delight, in particular at the flora that can clothe these ancient...
Published 21 months ago by Anthony Parsdon

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, but not (for me) gripping
The author uses her travels around Roman remains in Britain to bring together a historical account of the years the Romans were here (starting in Deal with Julius Caesar's inconclusive invasions) and ending with the last Roman remains (Mildenhall hoard and so on) before the end of Roman Britain in 408AD. As she goes she bring together the stories of scholars who have...
Published 16 months ago by William Jordan


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very fast delivered and in very good conditions. Very good book and very interested. I recommend it to anyone interested in History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars review of under another Sky, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not a book I would recommend very dry. Only found the bit at the end where she recommended places to visit of interest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cannot review at the moment it's a present off father christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book, good delivery time as birthday gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect price, perfect service, perfect product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goods arrived as promised - very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Verbose, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Ryuto (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I found this book very disappointing because it often meandered. For example the chapter on Roman YORK ends on a multipage discourse on the relevance of the Romans on Britain today! Tell me more about York or move on to another chapter heading. Reading through this I was reminded of an undergraduate essay in which the writer believes they have run out of anything useful to say and is basically padding the essay out in the hope of gaining marks but actually just irritates the reader! I'm aware the author writes for the Guardian which is also guilty of this style of florid writing rather than conveying the information the reader really wants, so perhaps I should've been warned.

If you want to know about Roman Britain succinctly , don't buy this book and search for any of the many definitive books out there. If you like reading prose that blurs meaning and direction and is just as much about the author as the subject, and you enjoy that imprecision, then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I expected. A considered book but lacked inspiration to make it great. Pity........ as I felt it offered the reader a possible view of Roman Britain which had not been fully explored before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Parker "Bluegrasser" (Farnborough, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Another Sky: Journeys in Roman Britain (Kindle Edition)
I was enjoying reading this when a message came up saying that there had been an error in downloading and I needed to delete and download "from the cloud" - how do you do this? Leave the Kindle out in the rain? I belong to a generation that did not grow up with computer technology and don't have a 6 year old to hand to tell me how to do it. This is the third time I have had to abandon a book and it is making me wonder whether the time is not coming to go back to paper - pity, because this was starting out to be an enjoyable and interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Another Sky: Journeys in Roman Britain
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews