Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

121
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Nowhere Men
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£5.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
I picked up this book on the recommendation of some fellow fans and thought it was a great read.

Well paced, well written and very revealing The Nowhere Men gives a detailed account of what goes on behind the closed doors of the scouting rooms and the interactions the clubs have with them.

What caught me by surprise was the very downbeat tone of much of the book and the bleakness experienced by the scouts both in the places they visit and the disposable nature of their profession. But this serves to make the book more compelling and proves it really is a 'warts and all' expose of what really goes on in football.

No punches are pulled and whilst there is an inherent sympathy for the people within the scouting profession, they are always kept at arms length to really analyse what they do and the differing schools of thought inherent in football.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 10 September 2013
Every football fan will love this book that provides fascinating insight into the world of scouting - from old school methods to new technological demands. Whilst the game may be richer than ever before, the scouts are often working many hours for pittance. Despite being a huge football supporter, football books had gone a bit stale on me. This book reversed the trend and was very hard to put down - brilliantly written, highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 8 August 2013
Amazon currently offer over 15,000 books on football and I am sure that the overwhelming majority are the ghosted memoirs of the latest pampered Premier League brat and originality is hard to come by.

Mike Calvin has been around Fleet Street for many years and has established a reputation for pithy columns that get to the nub of the matter and for his ability to eviscerate cant and hypocrisy.

His previous book "Family", a year in the life of Millwall took us inside the heart and soul of a football club and made us look at the club in a totally new light. The book was rightly acclaimed even if it wasn't totally original as he was following the example set by writers such as Hunter Davies but "The Nowhere Men" is totally different in every way.

Calvin has broken new ground and cast light on a hitherto ignored and unknown segment of the game, the scouts who are responsible for identifying and maintaining the pipeline of young talented players, some as young as the age of six.

He follows a group of scouts and becomes the fly on the wall, recording their conversations, insecurities, fears, whinges and even paranoia as they strive to discover the next potential superstar.

Like most people who spend an inordinate period of their lives working alone on the road and then on their backsides at football matches most scouts are garrulous individuals and their stories are explicit, razor sharp and do not spare the guilty and Calvin is an excellent listener and this book gives them their voice.

There are many footballers who will shrink at the honesty of the withering verdicts of their ability or heart or lack of it and their weaknesses are laid bare by the group of scouts whose job it is to assess em.

Men like the evergreen John Griffin and Mel Johnson are seasoned watchers of the game and able to make detailed assessements of a player's ability and likelihood to make a living from the game within a few moments of watching them.

You learn to watch the player and not the game itself which apparently is why many managers make poor scouts as they lack the singleminded ness required.

What is amazing is the cavalier fashion in which many scouts are treated, disposed of like old socks when a manager loses his job, working for expenses only and likely victims of the next palace revolution.

Calvin gives them their voice and reveals them as the unsung heroes that they are.

We hear fisherman's tales of the ones that got away and for all their camaraderie. and sense of togetherness the scouts are competing against eachother and try to pull the wool over their rivals' eye.

Calvin also lays open the current debate regarding the value of the traditional scout who trusts his eye, experience and judgment when assessing a player and the new breed of performance analysts who follow the Moneyball tradition of using statistics to make their choices.

There is an uneasy relationship between the two and this is a struggle that will continue.

The rich get richer but it is gratifying to read of smaller clubs such as Brentford who are punching way above their weight and are outperforming the bigger boys in the way in which they structure their youth development programme.

The book is 390 pages of pure gold dust, well written, sympathetic and insightful.

It did beg a few questions. Are there any female scouts and if not, why not as women are now contributing so well at all levels of the game?

We learn about the extraordinary range of player performance statistics provided by companies such as Prozone which are used by clubs to learn so much about how their own players perform in matches and training. Can clubs purchase such data about players at competitive clubs to help decide who best to purchase?

As you can see I finished this book bubbling with enthusiasm and having learned so much more about the Nowhere Men.

This is a totally original book that breaks new ground and it is sure to cause a stir within the game as well as provide rich entertainment to those who choose to read it.

I said at the time that Mike Calvin would do well to better "Family" but in this reader's opinion he has totally surpassed it.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 October 2013
To add context I read this book in a week, and if I'm honest, I think that's how it needs to be read.

It's a fascinating insight into the world of scouting, and more importantly, the people who give so much, for so little, and are being marginalised more and more, as football becomes richer and richer and attempts to become more risk adverse.

It's a book that for me started slowly, with good reason. It builds characters which comes to fruition halfway through as you feel as though you know the main characters (I think I can almost visualise Mel and his son Jamie Johnson).

Overall I found the book to boil down to the age old battle, between art and science. The art comes from the traditional scout, who can watch a player time and time again, and their "gut" will tell them if they are top quality (take the story about Rocastle as a perfect example) while the science element comes from the data analysts, the new boys, the "geeks".

It provides a brilliant balance, and while I feel Michael errs towards the traditional scout as his favourite, he essentially gives good arguments for both.

In the end, I know a lot of people who would enjoy reading this book. I don't think it's necessarily one for the "Championship Manager" generation, but rather those who feel they understand the intricacies of football, but after reading this, will probably admit, myself included, they haven't got a clue.

A thoroughly brilliant holiday read and I would easily read another of Michael's books in a heartbeat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2013
A fantastic read - Whether you are on the outside looking into the game or already in the inner the circle, this book is fascinating. An amazing and unique insight to a side of the game that is steeped in folklore. Highly Recommended to anyone interested in the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2013
Finished this today - hot on the heels of David Peace's 'Red or Dead'.

Completely different concepts, writing styles almost polar opposites, yet they are complementary in forensically dissecting the realities behind 90 minutes on a Saturday afternoon.

Calvin's cast-list of nearly-men, journeymen and odd-job men loitering in the Dickensian fringes of the game - contrasted with the Prozone nerds and Opta geeks in their gleaming towers - captures perfectly the contradictions of Premiership-era football.

For all that the sheikhs, oligarchs, statisticians and analysts may appear to have taken over, at the core of the game we love is something recognisably human. As with his previous book 'Family', Calvin builds the connection between you, the reader, and the real people inhabiting this unreal world, to the point where - regardless of affiliation or prejudice - your interest is in their lives rather than the result of the next match.

Faultless writing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 September 2013
"The shiniest gold is found in the murkiest waters" An enthralling and totally absorbing account of life as a football scout. Football books are like chicken takeaway shops, so many, so much choice, so much disappointment. This book is the Michelin starred restaurant amongst them! A feast for serious fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 September 2013
Having being involved in recruitment for a Premier League club I understood this book clearly and it read like I was in a film. I know 95% of these scouts and attended games they were at and shared stories on players and goings on at some clubs. I remember being stood with Andy King and John Griffin at a Wycombe reserve game and his knowledge was extensive on players across all the leagues.

Buy this book. I promise you you will not be disappointed, unless your one of the new breed of scouts who assess players from the comfort of a warm office watching DVDs and online streaming sites.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 August 2015
The best thing that can be said about this book is that it is largely inoffensive. Then again, that's probably the worst thing that could be said about any book on football. It is not provocative or challenging, thought-provoking or startling.The author, essentially, speaks to a variety of scouts, largely in the south of England, and gets their views on what their job involves. Key points are made early on in the book. One is that scouts appear to be very poorly paid - Calvin portrays them as "anoraks" who are addicted to attending numerous low-grade football matches in the hope of spotting a rare talent. In return for such - largely-unrewarded - dedication, they are frequently jettisoned swiftly by the clubs when a new manager takes charge. His other major point is that, in the 21st century, there is a scouting conflict between using technology to assess and buy players and the traditional use of eyes, ears and gut instinct on the part of scouts. I have reached page 159 in the book and that's about all that can be gleaned from it. I won't be reading any more. Calvin simply interviews a series of scouts who huddle at the back of stands and are treated shabbily by host clubs but none of the scouts is distinguishable as a character, largely because the author, a journalist, lacks the ability to describe them as rounded individuals, instead seeing them as providers of endless "quotes", the way a newspaper hack tends to do. In one chapter, he simply stands back, runs his tape recorder and transcribes a three-way conversation between three experienced scouts. That's not writing - that's acting as a stenographer. That symbolises just how there is no real author's voice in this book. How it won The Times' Sports Book of the Year for 2014 is one of the great mysteries of our time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Like other reviewers perhaps keen on new angles in the very much over saturated Football book market I was drawn to this following Mr Calvin's previous book, Family.

Despite my hitherto well rounded knowledge of the beautiful game the subject of scouting is something I have to say has never really prompted much attention or thought. This book certainly does that. With Calvin's insightful and well researched journalistic approach to the subject we get to meet the characters who fulfill such a vital yet often under valued role. Poorly paid, little security, easily dispensed with in the industry of bottom line figures and immediate results.

What Calvin manages to do, as with Family, is write in such a descriptive and compassionate way so as to make the reader feel they are a bystander in the fascinating conversations he is engaged in. Clearly his journalistic approach & background allows him to build relationships and trust in a field seemingly besmirched with dishonesty and a lack of loyalty.

The book explores the top European clubs as well as the grass roots and it was interesting to read of long since retired players travelling the length and breadth of the country in the veign hope of identifying hidden treasure, so to speak. These same individuals whose life remains football and for whom scouting is a means of moving onto bigger and more lucrative roles in the game as well as of course the gratitude and fulfillment of finding the next top star or just a journeyman pro able to carve out a career in the game.

My advice; forget the cliched autobiographies, the easily put together short attentions span books aimed at the nouveau-Sky football fans and purchase this brilliantly researched and well written 'muck and nettles' work by Mr Calvin. He has a writing style that means it is hard not almost feel an emotional attachment to the book at the end. I have a new found respect for the thousands of scouts in the game and an equal amount for Michael Calvin - fine work again Sir!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.