Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newest hit from Niven
Rather than the protagonist being a completely unbearable bastard who remains that way Straight White Male gives us an completely unbearable bastard who appears to have a softer side. For all the horrible sides of Kennedy Marr he has some sparks of brilliance - his scholarly quotes, his belief in the delightfulness of literature and his too little, too late love for his...
Published 8 months ago by bethanchloe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
Very enjoyable read but not comparable to kill your friends and the second coming (definite 5 star books)
Still one of my favourite writers
Published 28 days ago by ian p harley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newest hit from Niven, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
Rather than the protagonist being a completely unbearable bastard who remains that way Straight White Male gives us an completely unbearable bastard who appears to have a softer side. For all the horrible sides of Kennedy Marr he has some sparks of brilliance - his scholarly quotes, his belief in the delightfulness of literature and his too little, too late love for his little sister are all characteristics which give him a more three-dimensional nature than some of Niven's other characters.

I particularly like Kennedy's relationship with his daughter. Unlike many novels who make young teenagers out to be completely opposing rude and obnoxious when it comes to wayward parents Niven makes Kennedy's daughter believable. He may only turn up to see her once a year and she may be an older teen BUT she is still childishly happy to see him and proud of his less-than-parent-like tabloid escapades.

So yes, Straight White Male didn't delight me like the first time I picked up a Niven novel but I still really enjoyed it. It was hilarious in points, has recognisable characters who exist in everyone's life and has no problem with saying things exactly as they are. It's also very sweary which only ever adds to my enjoyment. If you haven't read Niven before but want to I think Straight White Male could be a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read but not as good as his others., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book and flew through it, as I have done with all the others. It was funny and entertaining as always. However, I felt that it lacked a little something present in Kill Your Friends, Music from Big Pink etc. I'm sure there are people who will disagree but this is my review after all. If you are a fan of Niven, it is a must read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Ian Wright (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
John Niven is becoming one of my favourite writers. This one is a bit of a departure from his previous work (Kill Your Friends, Second Coming) as it is a bit softer - my wife would enjoy this one, whereas she wouldn't enjoy his others. Don't get me wrong, it has grit, but it also has very touching moments.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading his next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book By John Niven, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
Given the exposure that this book has had I doubt that my few words will have a great deal of effect! This is another great expose of the seedy underbelly of popular culture. Previous subject have included music and religion. This time we have literature and movies. I wouldn't rate this as highly as Second Coming or the brilliant The Amateurs but it still warrants 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great work, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
Niven makes his own rules; unpredictable plot, indulgent inner monologue and severe characters with severe defects.
Who thought it were possible to analyse commercialism, highlife, family, death, on writing (topics), sex, drugs, alcohol and the perils of a rockstar life all in a few pages?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
I loved Kill your Friends and I think Straight White Male, although somewhat predicable, is thoroughly entertaining and sharply written. Niven really gets the profiling right too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!1, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
love John Nivens dark humour, and STRAIGHT WHITE MALE was not disappointing.
Read within two days , could'nt put it down.

I highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the ride, 10 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Straight White Male (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book. Wildly entertaining, it features a central protagonist who is bad, and is all too aware of it. A successful novelist, he has sold his soul to Hollywood and made a ton of money. In the process he has left a trail of destruction: broken relationships, drunken violence, and most of all, a tortured soul. I would have liked it to have been a bit longer I was enjoying it so much, especially the clash between his Hollywood lifestyle and some random rural British university and its scene.

The part where he spurns the dingy office given to him by a resentful head of department to claim the biggest room in the building as his office - complete with bar and 50-inch TV, is especially delicious. But it is a story ultimately of redemption, and many men especially will recognise his journey - and enjoy it all the more. If you have enjoyed Niven's other work you will love this - if you haven't read any yet, this is as good an introduction as you will get. As Neil Tennant once said of perfect pop songs, this book will make you intensely happy and sad, all at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read but not comparable to kill your friends and the second coming (definite 5 star books)
Still one of my favourite writers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic. End of., 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight White Male (Kindle Edition)
John Niven's books always have a little shock factor, and this is no different. It's so totally removed from the last one I read of his (Kill Your Friends), yet inimitably Niven. I could not stop reading it, and to agree with Caitlin Moran's review, I laughed and cried. Brilliant book. read it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straight White Male
Straight White Male by John Niven
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews