Customer Reviews


496 Reviews
5 star:
 (278)
4 star:
 (142)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Achievement
To contextualise: I am a big Austen fan and I teach "Pride and Prejudice" every year so I can be hard to please! For example, "Death Comes to Pemberley" was better on the TV in my opinion. What makes "Longbourn" a success is that it doesn't try to reimagine Elizabeth and Mr Darcy's courtship. In fact, the latter barely features which many will...
Published 7 months ago by sharona27

versus
69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reworking of the classic from the servants' point of view
'There could be no wearing of clothes without laundering, just as surely as there could be no going without clothes, not in Hertfordshire anyway, and not in September.'

I liked the premise the opening sentence makes clear - seeing the events of Pride and Prejeudice from the point of view of the servants and gaining insight into the lives of the ordinary classes...
Published 15 months ago by Purpleheart


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Achievement, 21 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Longbourn (Kindle Edition)
To contextualise: I am a big Austen fan and I teach "Pride and Prejudice" every year so I can be hard to please! For example, "Death Comes to Pemberley" was better on the TV in my opinion. What makes "Longbourn" a success is that it doesn't try to reimagine Elizabeth and Mr Darcy's courtship. In fact, the latter barely features which many will hate, but why the novel works. Baker also avoids massacring Austen's original characters - PD James's reworking of Colonel Fitzwilliam anyone? For diehard Lizzie Bennet and Mr Darcy fans - this is not for you. Naturally, both characters are remote. There will be some fans appalled by one or two plot twists involving Mrs Hill which are a bit more risqué. An enjoyable novel which tackles the criticism levelled at Austen: no awareness of the lower / servant classes, little awareness of the Napoleonic war and slavery / money from plantations. If you want more than 'P&P: The Redux' this is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reworking of the classic from the servants' point of view, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Longbourn (Kindle Edition)
'There could be no wearing of clothes without laundering, just as surely as there could be no going without clothes, not in Hertfordshire anyway, and not in September.'

I liked the premise the opening sentence makes clear - seeing the events of Pride and Prejeudice from the point of view of the servants and gaining insight into the lives of the ordinary classes that Austen barely mentions. The novel opens well but is somewhat formulaic. It's as if Baker decided to make a list of what Jane Austen leaves out: war, politics, sex with overworked servants and then wrote a novel to address those. Clearly Austen didn't write state of the nation novels but her dialogue was great, her characters always believable, and her wit sparkling. Despite the current fashion of considering P&P to be chick lit, it is a sharply observed novel on one strata of society. It is pitch perfect. This novel strained my credulity - can you imagine Mr Collins having a chat about his choice of Bennet girl with a maid? For me, it added few new insights into Jane Austen's novel despite key references to slavery and fortunes made from sugar. Those are important issues, as were the difficulties of dismissed servants and I would have felt that more if Jo Baker had been able to simply concentrate on her own characters. I suppose that is the key point. A book like Wide Sargasso Sea (Penguin Modern Classics) casts new light back on our reading of Jane Eyre (Wordsworth Classics) and particularly its view of women and the exploitation of the colonies. I don't think this novel pulled that off - perhaps because it tried to pack too much in.

The strongest section is the first - a well imagined account of laundry day from the point of view of Sarah, the maid and main protagonist. 'If Elizabeth had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she'd most likely be a sight more careful with them,' is a good example of where we gain a different view of Elizabeth Bennet's trampling over muddy fields to her sister. The drudgery that supports the lives of the Bennets is well described, as is the contrast with the much larger house of the Bingleys.

I think an important question is whether the novel could stand on its own without the link to the original. In my view it doesn't, despite some enjoyable passages. The ending of Longbourn departs entirely from Pride and Prejudice and is the weakest part of the novel. I suppose I should learn my lesson from this, and Death Comes to Pemberley, and leave this sub genre of Austen prequels, sequels and re-imaginings alone.

Having said that, I seem to be in the minority of the reviewers here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 105 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richly Imagined, Engaging and Entertaining, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Longbourn (Hardcover)
Jane Austen is a favourite author of mine and, as such, I have always avoided reading any sequels, prequels or retellings of her novels, as I feel they would only disappoint - however Jo Baker's 'Longbourn' is something rather different and I must admit that I was pulled into this book from the very first pages. 'Longbourn' focuses on the lives of the servants who work for the Bennet family (from 'Pride and Prejudice') and the story is told almost entirely from the servants' perspective, so there is a lot of gritty 'downstairs' life and very little of the more genteel 'upstairs' variety.

In the servants' quarters we meet our main heroine, the housemaid Sarah, an attractive and determined young woman, similar in age to the older Bennet girls, but obviously leading a very different life. Then there is the cook/housekeeper, Mrs Hill (who has a painful secret she has had to keep hidden for years), her husband, Mr Hill, the butler (a man with secrets of his own) and lastly, twelve-year-old Polly, the kitchen maid. Into their busy, but quiet and uneventful lives arrives a new footman, James Smith, a dark, attractive man with a rather mysterious past, who finds himself falling for Sarah. However, Sarah, although initially attracted to James, feels a little rebuffed by his reluctance to discuss his past life, and consequently she finds herself becoming rather interested in the very good-looking Mulatto manservant, Ptolemy, who works for the Bingleys at Netherfield Park. But what is it that James is trying to hide from Sarah and should Sarah really be considering Ptolemy in a romantic light? (No spoilers, we learn most of this early on in the novel and there is a lot more for prospective readers to discover and enjoy).

This is a very atmospheric and wonderfully described story where the reader follows the servants in their day-to-day work, so we experience Sarah's back-breaking work with the family laundry ("If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah thought, she would be more careful not to tramp through muddy fields"); we feel the pain of Sarah's chapped and chilblained fingers; we clean and blacklead the grates; we beat the Turkish carpets and sprinkle tea leaves to gather the dust; we even have to empty the evil-smelling chamber pots that the genteel folk upstairs leave for Sarah to dispose of. And, as the author cleverly weaves threads from the original 'Pride and Prejudice' into her story, we also experience certain aspects of Bennet family life and are able to eavesdrop on family conversations, which makes for very entertaining reading.

In addition, Jo Baker is not just adept at describing indoor life - her descriptions of the Hertfordshire countryside were a pleasure to read, and her brief, but powerful depiction of a certain soldier's wartime experiences revealed during the course of the book was an interesting and involving aspect of the story. This, therefore, is a novel which works on different levels: as an exploration of injustice, inequality and poverty, but also as a romantic story of love and loyalty; it's not Jane Austen, of course, but it's not meant to be, and despite my initial misgivings I am pleased to say that I was entertained by this novel and read the entire book in one enjoyable sitting. Attractively presented and with each chapter headed with an extract from the original novel, Jo Baker's 'Longbourn' is a richly imagined story that makes for an engaging weekend, bedtime or anytime read, and one for which the film rights have already been acquired.

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunningly good book, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longbourn (Kindle Edition)
This is the other side of Pride and Prejudice - seen from the point of view of the servants and domestic staff, who have their own lives and loves, but who are constantly vulnerable to those 'above' them. For them, life is 'a trial by endurance, which everybody, eventually fails'.

This book succeeds in every facet. It is full of historical detail, whether of the drudgery of daily life or the horrors of an early nineteenth century war. The great and well known story of Austen's book is always relevant, but deftly kept in the background of this tale. Sarah and Smith, the lead characters are beautifully drawn, the former innocent but knowing and the latter more worldly but anchored in decency. There is immense confidence in the writing, which is not afraid to take its time to tell the story, yet rarely drags. An outstanding achievement - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Below stairs at Pemberley, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Ms. P. J. O'CONNOR "Pen" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longbourn (Paperback)
This is a wonderful story of the servants of Pemberley in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. IT is a romantic story as is P and P, with a socio-political stance, showing how the lower classes loved and lived. Hard work. Nicely plotted, intelligently written, but not hard work to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assured, absorbing, and completely respectful of Austen's original, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Longbourn (Hardcover)
Confession; I love Pride and Prejudice (not quite as much as Persuasion, but...) It's the book I've read and reread more than any other. So I must admit to more than a slice of apprehension on first reading Longbourn, in which Jo Baker tiptoes below stairs to reflect the servants' story. I need not have worried. Baker takes the original and respectfully, assuredly serves up a new tale full of hope, betrayal, anxiety, war and (yes) while the Bennet family play out their own histories upstairs. This is very much a fresh and completely satisfying entire novel all its own, with Baker's own voice. We have a new, richly drawn heroine and hero, not without their own flaws. There's no flinching from the grimier and grittier side of life in servitude, but there are so many light moments of hopefulness and blossoming romance that keep the reader turning the pages. One for Austen fans, yes, absolutely - but read it for itself, I really urge you. Longbourn deserves that and so much more. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly moving, 7 Dec 2014
By 
Ms P. E. Vernon "Verns" (Weston-Super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Longbourn (Paperback)
What a lovely, lovely book this is! Buy it, borrow it – steal it if you must – but please read it.

Longbourn is a ‘reimagining’ of Pride and Prejudice from the point of view of the servants. As such, I suppose it belongs to that particular sub-genre of sequels, prequels or re-writings of famous novels. I’m never quite sure whether these are homages by modern authors of books they admire, or whether the authors and/or publishers are just cashing in on the originals’ popularity. Possibly a bit of both? I have pretty much loathed the only two other books in this genre I have read - Death Comes to Pemberley by PD James got thrown at the wall, and Val McDermid's version of Northanger Abbey went in the recycling box, because I didn't think it fair to inflict it on the charity shop. So I came to Longbourn with some trepidation. I needn't have worried.

The book is told mainly from the point of view of Sarah, the housemaid at the Bennets’ home at Longbourn, a character who doesn’t even appear in P&P, although we can infer that there would have been a housemaid to assist Mrs Hill, the housekeeper. Indeed, P&P is written so much from the point of view of Elizabeth and Darcy’s romance that the servants are entirely peripheral. Elizabeth famously trudges over muddy fields throughout P&P, but nobody has ever wondered how the mud was removed from her dress and boots – until Jo Baker asked herself that question.

And it was a good question to ask. P&P was published in 1813, although the book is set slightly earlier during the Napoleonic Wars at the turn of the 19th century. It was a turbulent time, when successive enclosure acts had forced people off common land where they had historically grazed their livestock and gave it to the wealthy landowners who claimed ownership. Enclosure caused immense rural poverty and drove people to the industrial towns looking for work, or into the army to feed the increasing need to fight Napoleon in Spain and Portugal.

So, against this historical background, Jo Baker has woven a story that, for the most part, exists contemporaneously with the events in P&P, although there is some back story in the middle of the book, and it carries on from where P&P ends with Elizabeth happily ensconced at Pemberley.

This view of events works superbly well. Mrs Bennet might bemoan the prospect of Mr Collins inheriting Longbourn, but how much more must the servants have dreaded it? They could be turned off by a new owner. So the servants fall over themselves to make Mr Collins’ stay at Longbourn a pleasant one. Jo Baker paints Mr Collins as a much more sympathetic character than Jane Austen allows. Indeed, we see all the characters in a different light – Mr Bennet locked away in his study is distant and cold; foolish Mrs Bennet might not have depended so much on her daughters’ future marriages if she’d been happier in her own; even the five Bennet girls have more complex (and less likeable) characters in Jo Baker’s story than Jane Austen gave them.

But it is the central story of Sarah that is the beating heart of the book. I won’t give too much away because I found it all incredibly moving. The writing is evocative of both time and place; the characterisation is superb and the pace of the story-telling just perfect. I loved it, and it was a book I was very sorry to have finished – always a good sign.

Finally, I have since read some reviews online and there are quite a few very critical ones. I can understand why – Jo Baker does take a liberty with Jane Austen’s cast of characters and her writing style is not only modern, but has a modern take on matters that would never have occurred to Jane Austen. It might not be a book to appeal to diehard Janeites, but it is an entertaining and immensely readable book for the rest of us. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all about point of view, 3 Dec 2014
This review is from: Longbourn (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. I loved the idea of bringing out the bit players, the invisible, the ignored, without whose grinding labor, the story of Elizabeth Bennet and her sisters hypothetically couldn't take place. Servants are the bones of a house, holding it up, keeping the inhabitants clothed, fed and happy. Baker zeros in on their exhausting and thankless life, making for a realistic and engaging read. I loved each of these characters from the Hills, to little Polly, and did guess the mystery early on, but I didn't care. She nailed the thankless and unremitting job of a servant destined to live their life at the thoughtless whims of their employers. Her book is filled with the sights and smells of the early 19 century and makes one feel as though Pride and Prejudice has just gotten a three dimensional makeover. It seems that the Bennet's are not alone in their quest for being happy, their servants have similar expectations. She captures the angst of the servant class, as well as their hopes and dreams. Sarah, though loved by her employers, wishes for a more meaningful life,"...somewhere you could just be, and not always be obliged to do."

What Jane Austen did for life in the Regency era, by poking fun and questioning the mores of society, Jo Baker does the same for the serving class. They have a serious code of ethics, and see the hypocrisies of life with the same attention to detail as Elizabeth Bennet. While the characters did feel different from Austin's beloved novel, Baker is writing from a totally realistic and entertaining point of view. Sarah realizes, "To live so entirely at the mercy of other people's whim and fancies was, she thought, no way to live at all." Perhaps the two points of view are not so different afterall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The invisibility of servitude, 21 July 2014
By 
Susan Glazier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longbourn (Kindle Edition)
Longbourn sets Jane Austin's "Pride and Prejudice" in it's socio-political and historical context. It is a very finely crafted story written as a parallel but interlocking account to P&P. It is a story set in the same location, the same household and the same time-period (with some very relevant preceding events also included) but it's ingeniously centred around the Longbourn servants. It is set in the years immediately after the enclosure of common land when a vast number of people were driven from their homes and land and deprived of their means to subsist, consequently having to seek out work as wage slaves for landowners or early industrialists. The action also takes place during the time of the Napoleonic wars, and in the time of the slave-trade on which the fortunes of landowners were primarily based. I know the P&P story inside out and so very much appreciated this "alternative history" of P&P which includes the harsh realities of life for those below stairs, those not rich. The Bennet family, who own Longbourn, do display a certain fondness for their small retinue of servants, but nevertheless, to a large extent, they treat them as objects and do not recognise their full humanness. Here is a quote about the central figure, Sarah's, reaction to being in servitude: "To live at the mercy of other people's whims and fancies was, she thought, no way to live at all". Life below stairs unfolds as one full of drudgery, dirt, long hours, exhaustion, lack of security and fear of eventual penury. It is striking how mostly the servants are invisible to their master and mistress, their friends and relatives, and how often the servants' strenuous efforts are very much taken for granted. There are many examples of servants' invisibility in the book, but this one particularly stood out for me, showing as it does how individuals are moulded by it - Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley are passing Sarah on horseback: "They clipped past the orchard, in profile and oblivious to the housemaids: Sarah felt herself fade. She could see the leaves and branches through her hand; the sun shone straight through her skin". Although the gross inequalities and injustices in the story are set in the past, Jo Baker's strong political messages are still applicable today, in a world of "haves" and "have nots", where a huge amount of people still live lives of servitude, deprivation and hardship in a hidden world not visible to the more privileged in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The downstairs to Austen's upstairs, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longbourn (Kindle Edition)
A brilliant novel, showing us the cogs in the marriage making machine that is the Bennet household. After all, who fetches all those endless trays of teas and delivers the interminable letters? This novel only really works, of course, if you didn't realise that Pride & Prejudice was satire, and not meant to be taken seriously as the great romance it is today.

You become quickly bound to these people who have hopes and dreams of their own, but are powerless to do anything about it while they remain in service. Jo Baker has crafted an excellent setting where the world seems constrained to the outer fence of Longbourn, despite the characters' desire to travel beyond this boundary. It also manages to entertain while completely removing the shine from P&P. If you didn't like Mrs Bennet before, you certainly won't after reading this. She even managed to make me take a dislike to Lizzie and Jane.

I didn't enjoy the ending - I'm not sure why, but it just didn't seem to click with me. Other than that, it is a perfectly practical, realistic counterbalance to the fantasy of P&P and most definitely worth the read. The author's obsession with "that time of the month" did wear on me slightly, but I imagine it is something that would have been a concern of women at the time and that modern women would like to know more about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Longbourn
Longbourn by Jo Baker
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews